We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Comfortable”
Review of Gordon Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union Pier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gordon Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Union Pier B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a clean, comfortable room with a good bed, good bathroom, fresh paint and carpeting. The restaurant does take over the lower floor at dinnertime, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I don't see what the complaints are about. We have stayed at the sibling, Lakeside Inn, and our experience here was better. Friendly staff, good coffee in the morning. It's an old resort-town inn. If you want the Best Western, go out to the highway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankOphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Gordon Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 55 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been going to Gordon Beach Inn for several years and have seen the inn go down hill over the years. The lovely common area with fireplace and cozy seating has been taken over by Timothy's restaurant, which leaves only your room to sit and enjoy an evening drink or read. They did provide coffee in the morning, around 10am with sweet rolls were from Costco, not exactly what you think of when imagining a quaint Michigan Inn. Shaker style furnishings and vintage bathrooms are fine, but the lack of a common area makes you feel like a kid banished to your room for being bratty. On a strange note, the Gordon Beach Association requires you to carry a flag when using the beach, so they know you 'belong' and aren't sneaking into their private beach. Give me a Break!

Room Tip: Eat at Timothy's skip the Inn
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12bigfish34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

All in all things were nice, clean, and room was big enough. Bathroom had new towels, sink and tub clean. It's not a 5 star hotel and it doesn't claim to be one. Bed was very comfortable, firm with new linens. We would stay here again and recently stayed at there sister property Lakeside Inn, that also was a perfectly preserved blast from the past resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catchhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Like its sister Inn, The Lakeside Inn, just down the road less than a couple of miles in Lakeside, MI, this place has sadly lost its charm. I can refer you to 50john1234 who best sums it up. The rate for the rooms/suites??(hardly) is out of touch with reality, but they get the rates from uninformed guests who have been mesmerized with the "historic" element and undeserved hype. Not to be misunderstood, the Lakeside Inn is barely..barely better. Inadequate A/C, smallish bathrooms, uncomfortable beds, chipped paint, NO tv now in at least a few suites( ..and those that still exist have 12-15 inch screens at best), plus, plus. Unique, quaint, and charming about 15 years ago, now these inns could be best described as run down and are lingering using their historic landmark protection as an excuse to do nothing to improve the properties. The owner(s) need to drop several thousands of dollars into both places and regroup. Until extensive upgrades are made, we'll stay away. Timothy's Restaurant in the GBI is the only reason to visit either inn. Still, very good...not excellent, but very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azwurth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Very over priced ,it's a dump we had the best room with a private deck filthy dirty ,paint chipped , over looking garbage .room was run down ,dirty,smelled terrible,6 in TV from 1980, terrible mattress,shower barely worked and they called this a suite , when we checked out didnt even ask if we enjoyed our stay don't waste your money with place wish I read reviews earlier .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50john1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a find this area is and especially this inn. It offers a very quaint setting, comfortable rooms and great dining - the close proximity to the Lake Michigan beach is a plus! You won't be disappointed with time spent here!!!

Room Tip: Choose one with a deck out back!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Gordon Inn is ideal for those seeking a convenient location and proximity to a very good restaurant. The staff are friendly. My room was sub-par, however, with a tiny bathroom and a thick coating of dust under the bed. The bed itself was comfortable but was oddly sloped and saggy. Strangest of all, the management opted to rent the lobby (adjacent to the guestrooms) to a birthday party, complete with a blues band playing so loudly I could hear every note they were playing right through the walls of my room. At some hotels and inns, $150 barely buys you a bed and a flat screen TV. At The Gordon Beach Inn it buys you live jazz while you're IN bed!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union Pier
3.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
3.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Union Pier
Inn at Union Pier
#2 of 4 in Union Pier
233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordon Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon Beach Inn

Address: 16220 Lakeshore Rd, Union Pier, MI 49129-9329
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Union Pier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Union Pier
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Gordon Beach Hotel Union Pier
Gordon Beach Inn Union Pier, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing