We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little better than average”
Review of Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A little better than average”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I don't normally stay in this expensive of a hotel, but I know there are some pricier ones in the area. The room was average, very clean, and had decent internet and cable.

I don't understand why hotels that cost half as much as this can offer really good complimentary breakfast, but these "old school" establishments are above that.

I don't really have any other complaints, but for the price, i am not raving.

Room Tip: I am told the first floor rooms are the oldest, and the most run down. Go to the higher floors for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWizard54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Somerset Inn. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding your comment about breakfast, please know that other hotels that offer a free breakfast are doing so with a product that is considerably different than ours. We’re sure that you can appreciate that the Somerset Inn is a full service hotel; and the breakfast in our restaurant is “made-to-order,” with fresh ingredients, by our award winning chef. Although it’s not free, it is scrumptious and affordable. Having said that, we hope that you did enjoy our free in-room coffee, free WIFI and free chocolate chip cookies. We also hope that you enjoyed our friendly and welcoming staff. Thank you again for choosing the Somerset Inn. Your business and satisfaction are important to us. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    79
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
34
31
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed for a weekend with my teenage daughter. The Somerset Inn was the venue for a dance convention and sold out with dance families. Initially, my impression of the hotel was that it was mediocre. The front desk staff at check-in was pleasant. My impression of the guest rooms was that it was probably at one time a very nice hotel but now looks very old but comfortable. The rate charged per night is high. There is no continental breakfast or even coffee for purchase unless you go to their restaurant - a sit down restaurant and then pay $4 for a cup of coffee -- their menu is very pricey, no microwave or fridge available in the room, I didn't even have a liner in the ice bucket! Our bathroom door would not close. When we arrived there were two half rolls of toilet paper left over from the guests before us.

On our first full day housekeeping did come to our room while we were out. The only thing they did was to take the dirty towels off the bathroom floor. They did not replace with clean towels! They did not give us toilet paper -- and remember we only had 2 half rolls to begin with and now we were down to very little! I had to call the front desk to ask for clean towels and t.p. Housekeeping did not vacuum or clean or give new soaps & shampoos. NOTHING!

I called the front desk to request a late checkout and in a very curt tone I was told they had already given out all late checkouts and weren't giving any more. She was not apologetic she was actually very rude about it.

There was a snow storm followed by freezing rain and the parking lot was never cleared of snow. The sidewalks had a narrow path shoveled but no plow ever cleared the snow from the parking lot. So by checkout it was a slush bucket. And there was a lot of snow!

Yes, the mall is walking distance from the hotel. This is nice mall - it's huge. Restaurants inside the mall are expensive as is the restaurant inside the hotel.

When I asked the front desk if they had a printout of local restaurant listings they handed me a paper that listed all the local pizza places with a phone number. I guess this was okay but not helpful if pizza isn't your first choice. There was no phone book in the room. And be warned, just because you are ordering in from a hotel, this does NOT mean the pizza place knows you need cutlery (even when salad is on the order)! You have to specifically ask for cutlery according to Jets Pizza!

If you have options and can choose your own lodging, the Somerset Inn should be low on your list. You will pay a lot and get a little.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here I would suggest requesting a room on the top floors and hope you aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALotForALittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Somerset Inn during your recent visit to Troy. We apologize that you didn't seem to enjoy your stay -- we strive to make all of our guests comfortable. We would have loved to opportunity to switch your room-- perhaps into one of our deluxe rooms with a Keurig coffee maker and a refrigerator. Next time please feel free to inquire about different room types with our front desk staff. For the record all of our guest rooms have coffee makers so there was no need to purchase coffee in our restaurant. Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback; we will address your concerns. Kind regards, the Somerset Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The Hotel is located close to the Somerset Shopping Center. Overall the rooms are rather old or ill maintaned. I found the room rather noisy (toilets flushing from other rooms can be heard and the heater. The lights are white (neon) so not much relaxing. Toilets need maintenance. I must say that the beds are comfortable.
The reception is rather poor. Breakfast: no buffet available but you need to make your command to a waiter. Price in the average.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We’re pleased that you enjoyed our location and that you found our beds to be comfortable. Our beds, bedding linens, TV’s and Internet have recently been updated. Further, our restaurant is well known in the area and our made to order breakfasts are highly revered by the local business community. We don’t offer a buffet breakfast in our restaurant, because we prefer to provide personal service to our restaurant guests. Thank you for your business-- we sincerely hope to see you again during your next visit to Troy. Kind regards, The Somerset Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stay here about once a year for NAIAS and really enjoy our stays. You are always greeted warmly and service is great. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. It's adjacent to a very upscale mall with good restaurants and more restaurants are a short drive. My only complaint is they do the expensive hotel breakfast thing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank z0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us over the years. We recognize that there are many hotel options in which to choose, so your decision to stay with us is genuinely valued by our staff. Also, thank you for taking your time to write such a kind review -- your efforts are most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Centrally located between Detroit and Auburn Hills in Troy and just minutes from the Somerset Collection, this is a great location for business travelers. There are many fine-dining restaurants in the immediate area and at the hotel itself. Nice rooms that are clean, but not fancy. Staff is friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
We couldn't agree more! Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again, soon!
Kind regards, The Somerset Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I like to stay at Marriott hotels for the points and I need to work in Troy frequently. The Marriott on Big Beaver was booked last week so I used this hotel as an alternative. The exterior looks out dated and it seemed half occupied but the room was nice and breakfast was good as well. This will be a good alternative for when the Marriott is booked.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mauriciogiankana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Somerset Inn. We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed our updated rooms, food and friendly staff. Hopefully you also valued our FREE Internet, homemade chocolate chip cookies and our location next to the renowned Somerset Collection shopping mall. Did you know that along with our award winning restaurant Crumpets, there are also 21+ signature restaurants within walking distance of our hotel? Most customers consider this feature a major bonus for our hotel guests. Sometimes competing with other hotels that offer customer loyalty points can be a challenge. However, with the economy still unstable, we’ve been hearing from our corporate customers that they appreciate our affordable room rates… and further, they’d rather save their company the $$ associated with the hidden fees of "hotel loyalty points." Indeed the loyalty points are a bonus, but they are a bonus at the expense of the company/organization. Next time, we hope that you will consider the Somerset Inn as your first choice. The multitude of bonuses at our hotel is free. We appreciate your business – thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa, USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The room we had included a king bed, sofa, desk and more and was well decorated. Everything was modern and in excellent condition. Excellent location right next to fabulous three story mall. Restaurant had good food at reasonable prices. Convention center attached to hotel with great staff.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Buddo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again, soon! Happy Holidays, The Somerset Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
1.5 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Property: Somerset Inn
Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing