We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put your walking shoes on to reach the main mall & food court”
Review of Somerset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Somerset Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for a conference, which was a great deal for $90 + taxes per night. However the only place to eat is at Crumpets, which I had a delicious meal, but it's pricey for the average conference -goer & there is no where else to eat within walking distance from the hotel, except the food court at the mall across the street.
I had thought from the website that the hotel was connected by a skywalk to the Somerset Collection Mall, which it is not. Had to cross 2 quiet side streets, 2 grassy hilly berms, a couple of stairs, a small pkg lot to reach the side entrance to Neimann-Marcus, then go thru N-M until you reach a hallway of high-end stores (Gucci, etc.), then go to up escalator, walk some more til you see the "Skywalk" sign, then walk or ride on 3 different airport type treadways to reach the more
affordable stores. Oh yeah, take another escalator up to reach the food court from this area! Give yourself at least 15 min to reach the food ct from the hotel if you're hoofing it! Good exercise if you have the energy, the weather is nice, or if you aren't physically challenged.
Great conference rooms and food for bkst, lunch, & snacks!!

Room Tip: Exercise rm & Business center is on 2nd floor. Good printer, but very slow & outdated monito...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraEscanaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 211 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel was in fact a hotel merely, only considerable thing is the nearby summerset collection mall otherwise no shopping around. All ameneties were average, surprisingly no fridge in the room !!! the small gift shop inside the hotel offered a $ 1 water in $ 4 ( Amazingy disappointing) .The parking was ok but it took me half an hour to find from where I can get a baggage trolley.

Room Tip: My advice is to avoid this hotel unless u r on a busines one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolkamal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in the Somerset, I had been staying in some more expensive hotels with less service and the rooms no better than at the Somerset. I asked my company to change me over and am so glad I did. I will carry on using them when I am in town on business. Good service, nice clean rooms and a great bed! Also a great breakfast choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The attitude and service was impeccable. Queen bed doubles cost $30-$40 a night more than regular doubles and because they did not have a regular double for one of the 3 nights that we reserved, they forced us to pay for the upgrade to the queen rooms for all 3 nights. This seemed unusual to me.
The restaurant had excellent food, though expensive. Parking was free and plentiful. Location is within blocks of several excellent restaurants, and a huge shopping mall.
The bathroom counter was very small; the lighting was very dim; the keurig coffee maker was a nice touch, although there was no socket where it is located in the closet and it was a bit annoying to have to carry the heavy, clumsy thing EACH day to the desk because the housekeepers always put it back in the closet. Would be more practical to give it a permanent location by a socket.
The second floor hallway had a lowered ceiling that I'm not sure would work for backetball players...I suspect that the front desk people are trained to estimate appropriate height.
This hotel appeared to be a renovation of an older hotel, though it is in a fairly new area of town.
Pillows were terrible...small, lumpy foam. I should have asked for different ones the first night.
Air conditioning worked well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Throughout the wedding reception planning process and final contract negoiations, event planner was confident they could deliver all food and beverage selections we made. However, on wedding day this did not happen. Consistancy of entree recipies between all chefs is apparently not a priority for Somerset Inn. This was evident with one of the entree's we selected. What we taste tested is not what we were served that day. Serving a low cost liquor selection instead of the premium package we contracted for was another questionable delivery. Seems to be a pattern of showing you one thing and delivering another??? In meeting with managment including the General Manager to discuss the poor execution, the response was they did a quality job of delivering what we contracted for. General Manager was very arrogant, implied that I was wasting his time, with NOT EVEN and APPOLGY. With this type of management attitude and execution, I would not recommend anyone using this facility for any major event.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Joe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Joe V., On behalf of the Somerset Inn, please accept our apologies for any issues that you may have experienced during your daughter’s recent wedding. Our staff took extraordinary care to ensure that the day was special for your daughter (the Bride), the Groom, and the wedding guests. You will note from the below review that the attendees at your wedding enjoyed the food, bar (the bar labels that you ordered included Absolut, Chivas, Jack Daniels, etc.) and service immensely! The comments from your wedding group have been overwhelmingly positive. We also have several comment cards and direct feedback from your guests on how well they enjoyed the food, the beverage, the Ballroom, outdoor garden patio, overnight rooms and the Wedding as a whole. It was by all accounts a huge success. Our General Manager and our Party Planner were both on-site the evening of your wedding; not only because it was important to us, but also because our GM is a very hands on Manager-- he takes great pride in our hotel, our product, the success of our events and the happiness of our client guests. If there was truly an issue of any significance that evening, why didn’t you discuss it with him at the time? He was available to you ALL evening? Further, our banquet staff and front desk staff was thrilled that evening when you (yourself) mentioned to them that the wedding was wonderful. If you recall, you thanked many of our staff members for the extraordinary job that they did. You mentioned your true happiness with the success of the wedding. At that moment, you were very happy! Imagine our surprise when we heard that you had some major concerns a week following the wedding. There were no signals from you that evening that raised any red flags. Nothing! In time, we hope that you will realize that your daughter’s wedding was a lovely affair and hopefully the wedding attendees will continue to communicate to you their admiration with the event, just as they have to us. Thank you for your business. We have enjoyed working with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I attended a wedding reception at the hotel and was very disappointed with the interior lobby areas. The chairs bottom out the carpet is worn and frayed. Being that this property is adjacent to an up scale mall and upscale neighborhoods I expected better. We had cocktails in the courtyard, the plants are dying and steel sections that are exposed are rusted. I drive by this building daily and I expected the interior to be much more, but like thay say, you can't tell a book by it's cover. I will say that the food at the reception and the service was very good. This property has so much potential to be better, it's a shame the owners don't see it, or maybe they just don't want to see it.

Room Tip: Didn't see rooms, hope they are better that common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PattiLmitch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear PattiL.Mitch, Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the food at the reception and noted that the service was very good. The wedding to which you refer was by all accounts a very successful event. We have taken your other comments into consideration. As you can imagine, when there is an outdoor affair, the event becomes subject to uncontrollable weather conditions which may include wind, rain, extreme heat, humidity, etc… All of which can impede the health and well-being of the floral, arbors and plants, very quickly. That appears to be what happened on that particular day. On another note, I’m happy to report that our maintenance staff is busy correcting the uncontrollable weather related issues regarding our exposed steel areas of the outdoor garden patio. Your other comments are being addressed by our maintenance staff as well. Thank you again for bringing those to our attention. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A very positive experience. Great location, accross from an upscale mall and near I-75.
From the front desk to the housekeeping and dining room staff, everyone was pleasant and helpful. Our room was very nice and spotless. We found the bedding to be comfortable and nicely appointed.

We left part of our iPhone charger in the room and they made every attempt to locate it.

We would definitely stay here on any return trips to Michigan.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range: $120 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing