We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay at this clean hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Detroit Troy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Troy
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay at this clean hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott for work for 5 days. The staff is so friendly and the rooms are very clean and comfortable.
I thought the food served in the bistro was reasonably priced and the staff was friendly there too.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy F, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Troy, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
JoAnn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Troy Courtyard. I appreciate your feedback on the cleanliness and will pass the compliment on to the housekeeping staff. Our goal is to make you feel that the Troy Courtyard is your home away from home. I hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Wendy Fresorger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    47
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
25
12
4
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

My son and I stayed here and loved the people and the the property. Yes, it's a little older but it just doesn't matter. The price was excellent. Our room overlooked a stunning and well-maintained garden. The Courtyard is super close to the stunning Somerset Mall, a wonderful Whole Foods and a new Carrabas is close to opening (I was in the area again a few weeks ago). Easy on the pocketbook and spotlesss. Nice people, nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie9264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy F, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Troy, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
I appreciate the positive feedback you provided regarding your stay at the Troy Courtyard. You are correct that the hotel was built in 1986, however recent renovations of both the lobby and the guest rooms have kept us current! It sounds like you had a great time exploring Troy and all that the area has to offer. I think the shopping is fantastic and we certainly get a lot of shoppers staying with us as well as business travelers. I hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Wendy Fresorger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stay here quite often due to the proximity of the hotel to our offices in Troy. Nothing special. The take-out restaurant has decent breakfast sandwiches, but I would prefer more of an actual meal. Rooms are fine for leaving your bags and going to bed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Soonerfan171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy F, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Troy, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
It's great to hear that you stay at the Troy Courtyard often for business.

I appreciate your feedback following the completion of our Bistro and guest room renovation in February of 2013. We are always looking for opportunities to improve and better enable us to meet the needs of our guests.

I just wanted to point out that the Bistro restaurant does offer full breakfast options should you choose. Our cook will make you a plated breakfast of eggs, your choice of meats, potatoes and toast fresh for you from the kitchen. If you prefer, one of our most popular items it the French toast!

If there is anything that we can do to make your future stay's more comfortable, please contact me directly at the hotel at 248-528-2800.

Sincerely,
Wendy Fresorger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, OH
Level Contributor
184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Older courtyard with usual lobby updates to make it appear fresh. Rooms in dire need of updates. This is one of the only hotels I've ever visited that does not provide coffee in the lobby for free. Large work area in lobby. Close enough to Troy and the highway. Probably won't stay here next trip out.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cromito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy F, General Manager at Courtyard Detroit Troy, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for the feedback that you provided on the Troy Courtyard. You are correct in that the hotel was built in 1986. We did indeed finish a complete renovation in February 2013 that addressed the entire hotel. We updated the lobby to the new Courtyard concept with the Bistro offering fresh for you food both morning and night. We've enabled our guests to work or relax in the lobby while enjoying a cocktail or a cup of Starbucks coffee!

The guest room renovation included all of the furnishings - carpeting, wall vinyl, furniture and added the brand new Courtyard bed. During the renovation I added single cup brew coffee makers in the guest room with disposable cups to enable you to quickly brew a cup of coffee in the comfort of your room. We've received an excellent response from the majority of our guests, however if you have specific suggestions that could improve our guests experience I would be happy to discuss them with you. I can be reached at the hotel at 248-528-2800.

I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Wendy Fresorger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Despite recent renovation, aspects of the hotel still seemed very dated (hallways, exterior...). One of the poorer Courtyards i've stayed at. Very slow to clean my room - after 4 pm one day - and a mediocre job was done at that. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Unfortunately, I had a very bad experience. First, at check-in, I was given directions to my room completely opposite of where I needed to go, and the reception manager did not think it was necessary to apologize - he thought it was very funny! Then the side of the hotel I was on is next to a restaurant/pub/bar - there was extremely loud music well into the night. I could not get adequate sleep. Would not recommend the hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you would like to get some rest, please avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelsalot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed at this hotel through the Labour Day long weekend. I wasn't expecting much as the rate I got for a standard room (2 beds) was under a $100 with tax. I knew the hotel had been recently renovated but, still at the rate I got I wasn't expecting much. I was completely wrong! This hotel is a great value and it exceeded all my expectations. The lobby is sleek and welcoming and the rooms are spacious and very clean (including the carpet). It was also very quite as it is set back from the road and it is far enough from away from the interstate. The other thing I really liked is that the mattress and pillows were very comfy. This hotel has put a lot of thought into their efforts of renovating the hotel and it shows. I highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Detroit or are staying in the area for business. It is close to the I-75 and close to the main Detroit shopping mall. You can't go wrong at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room don't have fridges so you may want to bring a cooler if you are travelling to the area by c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank powelltbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.9 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit North - Troy
1.9 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Troy

Property: Courtyard Detroit Troy
Address: 1525 East Maple Road, Troy, MI 48083
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Detroit Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Troy Hotel Troy
Courtyard Troy
Troy Marriott
Troy Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing