We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Greatest Place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Greatest Place ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

Want a place to feel like home away from home. The drury makes you feel comfortable. Smiling staff. Evening reception is wonderful. What more could you ask for!!

Room Tip: If you travel with your pet, ask for a room close to an exit. The staff are more than willing to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geniacarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    159
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
234
125
21
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We spent four days at the Troy Michigan Drury Suites in a two bedroom suite with four of our preteen and teenage grandchildren. (Yes, for six people it would have been easier with 2 baths instead of one). It was clean and convenient. There was a shuttle bus that took us to the Shopping Centres when the males in our group had the car at a Detroit Tigers game. There is always something to drink (soft drinks) in the reception area. Breakfast was fine for a breakfast and the free drinks were great on nights that we weren't driving to an event.
We could hear persons in the halls.
It's proximity to I-75 gave us freedom to explore the Detroit area. Help were pleasant. We were there in mid-August 2011.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MississaugaTEACHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

The amenities were great but I found this place to be noisy. I stayed there form 12/11 - 12/16 (Sunday - Thursday) so I have 5 good data points.

1st. I could hear the guy above me when he used the restroom. That's just gross. Just sick man.

2nd. I could hear folks in the hallway talking. This was bothersome at 10:30 pm!!

3rd. I could hear folks in the room above we walking and talking. It didn't seem like they were having a party. Just talking.

I consulted with another guy in my group he mentioned that he was also bothered by the noise. I won't be staying at Drury again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tej2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

We have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed the hotel and staff.

The Rooms are as nice if not better then most 4 star hotels, but unlike 4 star hotels which charge you for every thing the Drury inn gives you free Wifi, breakfast, 5:30 Kickbacks Drinks (Draft Beer & well drinks) and snacks with free popcorn and fountains drinks from 2pm-10pm, plus free local and long distance calls.. The fact that you can get all these extras and a 2 room suite for around $100 is amazing.

Lots of shopping near by which works out nice as I stay back with the kids and enjoy the pool while the wives go shopping.

Room Tip: if you stay on Weekends the price is lower. We recommend a suite that way the kids have thier own TV...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on a vacation trip, stopping at Troy to see the Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village in Dearborn. We also took a day trip up to Bronner's Christmas Wonderland in Frankenmuth, MI (a little over an hour's drive). All three of these attractions are recommended! We have been in love with the Drury Inn since we stayed in the one in Charlotte about ten years ago. However, my recent experiences at Staybridge Suites may just be nudging Drury out a bit.

This location of Drury Inn was a bit out of the way, on a street with mostly businesses. There is a friendly TGIFriday (the meal was excellent) attached to the hotel, but everything else is in some driving distance, including shopping and a variety of restaurants. If you go left, you approach the freeway exit and it is very busy. This also looks as if it was another hotel or motel at one time. The part of the hotel where the Friday's is has windows that opened. We were in the "L" where the windows did not. You enter right at the registration desk, and the eating area is directly in front of you. The indoor pool and the small exercise room are just down the hall near the elevators and near the back door to the hotel. Bring a robe if you stay here during the winter and use the pool! There's also a little "canteen" where you can buy frozen dinners, popcorn, chips, juice, etc.

We stayed in a one-room suite. You enter into a homey living room with a TV over a console that holds a bar fridge and a microwave. Opposite is a sofa flanked by two tables with reading lamps. A recliner is to one side of the sofa, and a desk is against the wall with a lamp. Our dog and our bird stayed here. Next is a short hall that leads to the bedroom, with the bathroom and closet. The bedroom was huge, with another television which we didn't use, a bench, a chair and a little reading table where we set up our cell phones to charge.

The place was scrupulously clean, the bed firm and comfortable, the pillows excellent, the shower good. However...the more pressing problem was the noisy air conditioner. I'm going through "the change" and am used to sleeping with three fans, so we had the A/C on, even in October. It was very loud. Also, there is an air circulator between the bedroom and the living room so the living room is supplied with air. This was also very noisy and thumped when it turned on. I am a light sleeper and this woke me up every time. This would not bother most winter travelers, but I'm sure it can be annoying in the summer.

We also had another problem with the little hard-surfaced floor that is on the little passageway between the rooms and in the bathroom. Because of the air circulator, of course the space above this little passage is hollow, it being just an air shaft. Apparently the person upstairs from us was a woman on a business trip. Every morning at seven she rose and got dressed, and then tap-tap-tap-tap-tapped her way on high heels back and forth over that hard bathroom floor for an hour before the noise quit! It echoed through this hollow air shaft and was even louder than it would have been if we were upstairs in this lady's room! This woke my husband up, too!

The breakfasts are okay. This is where the Staybridge Suites )where we stayed on our vacation the past two years) really shone. The only meat for breakfast was sausage patties. The Staybridge people alternate this with bacon. We wish the Drury Inn would do the same. The Drury Inn makes a big pot of real oatmeal, which is good; it has more fiber and vitamins than the packet type, which Staybridge had. HOWEVER, the oatmeal was made in a metal container, your typical institutional cooking pot. Even with brown sugar sprinkled on it, you could not kill the taste of the metal in the oatmeal. There were four kinds of cereal, only one kind not sugared. More variety might be nice, especially for diabetics (husband is one). For fruit, the Drury had only bananas and Red Delicious apples. The Staybridge had a fruit bar with cantaloupe, oranges, honeydew, grapes, etc. plus apples--some were Granny Smiths, which I prefer--and bananas. Wish Drury could do the same.

Drury has a little meal type snack at the end of the day. Unfortunately it relied heavily on chili and other spiced foods I could not eat. The soup every night was broccoli cheddar. Ugh. How about alternating it with chicken noodle or vegetable? They did have baked potatoes every other night, which was okay.

In short, I would highly recommend this place for the cleanliness, bed, shower, comfort. Hope you get a quieter A/C--and no woman in high heels upstairs from you!

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the front of the hotel. The rear faces an access road. However, it wasn't noisier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShadowLass38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for your comments and for the positive feedback you provided on the cleanliness of our hotel! Our housekeeping team works hard to provide a clean environment to ensure each and every guest experiences a memorable stay.

I am sorry to hear you had a concern with the AC unit in your room. We will definitely look into this matter to ensure this does not reoccur.

Regarding our location, please note less than 1.5 miles from the Drury hotel, you can find the upscale Somerset Collection with beautiful architecture, moving skywalks, and several world-class stores. Within this same distance, you can also find great restaurants, such as Morton’s The Steakhouse, The Capital Grille, P.F. Chang’s, Maggiano’s Little Italy, Benihana and many more.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to being at your service the next time you visit the Troy area!

Sincerely,

Joe Del Serrone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I've stayed at this property MANY times, even staying for one entire month a few years ago. We've always been quite pleased, with the amenities, service, attentiveness, and bonus goodies like their complimentary breakfast, 530pm 'Kick-Back' drinks and food, free internet, popcorn, coffee and soft drinks offered through-out the day and so much more. This all adds up to ONE great value. Their breakfast is not just continental with cold cereals and danish/donuts-but a complete hot breakfast. Their 530pm Kick-Back offers not only complimentary alcoholic beverages, but also hot dogs, chili, chicken strips, macaroni & cheese, baked potatoes, nacho's and salad plus much more. One can easily make this their dinner since so much is offered and it's all-you-can-eat in a buffet setting. Their indoor pool and jacuzzi offers year-round fun. I had the pleasure of staying in just about every room type during my many stays. Their jacuzzi suite is just wonderful- I stayed in one that was nearly as large as my own apartment. The large deluxe bedrooms, a separate living room with flat-screen tv's, sofa, reclining chair- and the bathroom...wow, what can I say...it's MASSIVE! Very nice appointments- marble, tile floor, a nice size jacuzzi, a separate stall shower with all the bells and whistles..Also, they are connected to a TGIF Fridays restaurant so if you want to get something to eat, you don't even have to go outside!....I really can't say enough about this place. It's located just a couple miles from where we live so we often times have enjoyed it as a weekend get away! BRAVO to Drury Inn's for always providing me and my family with the best value around, wonderful decor and style and very friendly service! They truly make you feel welcome and part of their family...I can't wait to go back! THANKS AGAIN!

Room Tip: I've had the opportunity to stay in many room types- but, me personally, I ALWAYS enjoy their ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vudubabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We (a group of five ladies on a shopping trip) stayed at this location and could not have been more pleased! We rented the 2 room suite and found it to be spacious, very clean and very comfortable and quiet. All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly, courteous and professional. The food /beverages in the afternoon were especially nice and the breakfast was great, offering a nice selection of food and beverages. We will definitely stay here again if in the area. My only recommendation would be to offer pay per view in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy

Property: Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Address: 575 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-5221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Troy
#3 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy is 20 miles north of Detroit off I-75: a convenient hotel close to the Canadian border and Lake St. Clair. Upscale shopping at Somerset Collection is two miles away. Guests enjoy Drury's clean and comfortable rooms, waking up to a free hot breakfast and relaxing with free evening beverages at our 5:30 Kickback(R). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Troy Hotel Troy
Drury Inn And Suites Troy
Drury Inn Troy
Drury Inn Hotel Troy
Drury Troy
Troy Drury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing