We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul Greely's Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Troy, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paul Greely's Review”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Hotel has great amenities, breakfast included, pool, free paper, and helpful staff. While mentioning staff it would be wrong not to acknowledge the excellent service provided to my wife and I by Walter Neal Jr., a keen and outstading young man with a cheery disposition even while on a double shift.

Room Tip: Rooms are great in size and cleanliness but the hallway carpets need updating or a good shampooing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinntroy, General Manager at Quality Inn Detroit - Troy, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks for the review Paul. I was going to share this with Walter, but he beat me to it. You made his day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    65
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
49
37
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This place saved my bacon!! I was traveling with my granddaughter in Michigan, it had clean, fresh linens, clean bathroom, carpet, the works. Great hot breakfast for getting up early and on the run.

I had reserved a room at the Econo Lodge on Stevenson Hwy. and when I got in the room it stunk soooo bad I packed up my granddaughter and asked for a refund (after 6 days they haven't refunded me yet :( ). I googled rooms in the area and they had such horrible reviews I despaired finding a room that night! I called my sister in CA who told me to go to the Quality Inn in Troy. Thank God , it was a life saver.

Room Tip: Stay here, it is a bargain for the price, I cannot stressed how clean it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinntroy, General Manager at Quality Inn Detroit - Troy, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hi Janet, THANK YOU for the kind words. I'm happy to hear we were able to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I left my cell phone charger on may 2012, after 1 called they sent it back to my house for FREE !! but the cleaning service little bit annoyed because they kept open and close the door loudly at 7 am until 8 am (actually until I complaint to them). the room was clean and mediocre breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lins507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I have written a review of this hotel in the past but need to ammend it based on our stay Monday, Apr. 30, 2012. In regards to the breakfast, the small plates and cereal bowls were stacked and nearly every one of them had crumbs on them. How odd. Makes one wonder how they got there. There was the usual make your own waffle iron but no plates to put the finished waffle on. The host seemed to not care about the breakfast.
I also woke up in the morning with two bites on my leg.
On the plus side, when we checked in we found our room next to the elevator and the freeway was just outside and noisy. We immediatly knew this was not going to work for us so requested another quieter room and the gentleman at the desk was happy to accomodate us.

Room Tip: get breakfast elsewhere on a weekday
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinntroy, General Manager at Quality Inn Detroit - Troy, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
I am sorry to hear your breakfast experience was not exceptional. Please accept my apology. We value guest feedback like yours and I will be looking into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I always stay there was I'm down that way for business. Beds are great, service is great, food is great! Will always continue to stay there and recommend others to stay there as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nashadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinntroy, General Manager at Quality Inn Detroit - Troy, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Well, I am sorry about the issues you encountered, AND thank you for your kind words about the rest of your stay. We look forward to having you back and hope your next review will be *****! : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,233 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I really loved this place when I stayed here in September (see my review dated October 7, 2011). I was back here again about a month afterward and still thought it was outstanding. However, my most recent visit in January had caused my to lower my rating one notch.

It is still a very good place to stay and I would recommend it, but there were a couple of issues this last trip that caused me to down-grade my rating one notch. The negatives were:

1. The first room I was assigned had a problem with the fire dector beeping intermittently. Although the hotel immediately assigned me a new room two doors down, I was not that impressed was the individual at the front desk. In the past, the front desk staff have been outstanding, personable and just great to deal with. This guy was professional, but seemed bored about the whole issue. The fire dector continued to beep until I went to sleep; you could here in from the halls and even slightly from my new room.

2. Although the bathroom was exceptionally clean, the carpet in my room needed a better vacumming; it was obvious that no one had cleaned the rug under the desk area in a while. UGH.

On the other hand, I still really like this place, particularly due to:

1. Great price for area; I always upgrade to the jacuzzi room. which is great.

2. Beds are comfortable; room layout is good if you want to do some work, e.g., good desk with adequate lighting.

3. PCs in the business center alcove are great to catch up on email etc., if you are not bringing a laptop with you.

4. Excellent deal in the bar area -- from 6 to 7:30 pm for Choice Members (no cost to join) there is a free bar for beer, wine and soda, and a free bar foods buffet. The food is great, and the woman and man who work the bar are exceptional. Great time.

I will continue to use this Quality Inn for my home base when in the Detroit area, but this last trip just wasn't as good as in the past.

Room Tip: Upgrade for the jacuzzi -- it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CynthiafromOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We previously wrote a negative review for this property (on October 31, 2011). We had purchased a Groupon deal for a one-night stay in a jacuzzi room with two breakfasts and two drinks and two desserts from the lounge included. We had called to make our reservation, and unbeknownst to us, the woman who handled our reservation over the phone incorrectly entered our reservation date. When we arrived to check in on a Friday night, they told us that our reservation was supposed to be for the previous Monday and that we were a no-show. Because of this, our Groupon was revoked, we lost our money, and they wouldn't give us a room without us paying the full price. We left extremely disappointed.

The following week, the manager of the hotel (who wasn't present at the time of our arrival) called and apologized repeatedly for the mistake. He offered us a night in a jacuzzi room at no charge and $25 to go out to dinner to make up for things, and we accepted.

The manager hadn't mentioned that they would also honor our original Groupon deal at no cost to us, but when we arrived the attendant presented us with both the $25 as promised and a set of tickets to redeem for breakfast and the two drinks and desserts. We were very pleasantly surprised.

The room itself was large and very clean, *including* the jacuzzi (sometimes you never know what you're going to get)... we were quite happy with it. At the Wheel House Lounge, we met Randy the bartender, who was friendly and a hoot to talk to. Breakfast also exceeded our expectations, and there was a nice older gentleman who refilled our coffee and made it feel more like a restaurant setting even though it was just a breakfast buffet.

We are pleased to replace our previous negative review with this positive one after the Quality Inn made the extra effort to win back our business.

Room Tip: Not the most scenic location. Best if you just plan to sleep there and explore the town, as it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mostin8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinntroy, General Manager at Quality Inn Detroit - Troy, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
I remember reaching out to this guest because I had to do something about the fact his anniversary was disrupted due to our hotel. What a pleasure to deal with and I completely appreciate a guest who understands that things happen from time to time. Thank you! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Detroit - Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Detroit - Troy

Property: Quality Inn Detroit - Troy
Address: 2537 Rochester Ct, I-75 & Rochester Road, Troy, MI 48083-1875 (Formerly Holiday Inn Detroit - Troy)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Detroit - Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Troy just off Interstate 75, the Quality Inn® hotel right off I-75 at exit 67. This Troy, MI hotel is central to Detroit's Big Three automakers (General Motors, Ford, and Chrysler) and many top-tier corporations. Additional attractions close to this Troy hotel include the Palace of Auburn Hills sports and entertainment complex and the Detroit Zoo. Oakland Mall and Somerset Collection are nearby and feature dozens of retailers, specialty stores and more. Try the hotel's on-site restaurant, The Wall Street, for a delicious meal in a relaxing atmosphere during your stay. As a guest of this hotel in Troy, MI, you can enjoy features like:*Free wireless high-speed Internet access*Manager's reception with food and drinks *Free weekday newspaper *Seasonal outdoor pool *Exercise room. Corporate travelers staying at this Troy hotel can take advantage of additional conveniences including a business center, computer with Internet access, and copy and fax service. There are four spacious banquet and meeting rooms located on the premises. Coffee makers with free coffee, refrigerators, hair dryers, desks, irons and ironing boards are standard features in all guest rooms. Ask about rooms that offer additional features like microwaves, hot tubs and sofa sleepers. This is a pet-friendly hotel; fees apply. For added convenience, laundry facilities are located on the premises. The Quality Inn hotel is a great place to stay if you are looking for personalized service and countless features at affordable rates in Troy, MI. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, we have numerous amenities that will make you feel at home. Book a room with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Detroit - Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy Hotel Troy
Holiday Inn Troy
Troy Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing