We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hold your breath”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hold your breath”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My family of four definitely did not enjoy our stay. We are Hilton Honors members and trust in the Hilton chain.

We arrived at the hotel a couple hours before check in. We were completely exhausted and grateful there was a room available for an early check in.

The room had a musty smell. We were so exhausted I decided to let it go, unpack and grab a nap before we headed back out. We were going to be in the area and really were only looking for somewhere to grab some sleep between events so we weren't going to be in the room much. At least not awake.

As I unpacked, I dusted off and cleaned hair out of the dresser drawers. This disgusted me but everyone was exhausted and settling in so I let it go.

When we returned to our room at the end of the night I realized the smell was definitely still there. We all gathered to watch tv before bed, only to have the tv go off. We we went to sleep but set our alarms so we could be sure to grab the complimentary breakfast. Uhh it was not worth it. The made to order omelet was "okay" but the french toast, pancakes and hash browns were cold and not good!

When we returned to the room I discovered how dusty the main air vent was! There was a thick layer of dust covering it and air conditioning was blowing out of this vent all night long. I was disgusted. I found dust and hair in several other parts of the room! The bed skirt was stained. We did use the pool and noticed the air vents were filthy there as well.

While checking out, I showed pictures of the dusty vent and other disgusting stuff to the front desk clerk. She apologized, gave us a discount and promised to show the pics I took to housekeeping so they would be addressed. I have to wonder if we were given a crappy room because we arrived early or if this is the standard.

I couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Lelanne,

We thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip. Reading your comments, it appears that we fell short of your expectations and for that, we sincerely apologize. We are accustomed to receiving very positive feedback from our guests and are disheartened that you did not experience the level of excellence you deserve. Please be assured that your concerns will be shared with our management team so that corrective measures are taken where feasible.

We do hope that you can give us another opportunity to regain your confidence in our hotel if your travels bring you to our area again.

Sincerely,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    247
    95
    57
    20
See reviews for
314
149
26
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family stayed at Embassy for the Canada Day long weekend.
The check in was quick and friendly, room was good, I got a little bit disapointed with their breakfast, specially on Sunday, it was crowed and they didn't have fresh fruits only pineapple and peaches from a can ( sweetened). After sometime they brought some apples and bananas. On Monday breakfast was better with some fresh fruit,, I am wondering if they made the changes as the hotel was not as busy as the day before, for sure it was not an Embassy hotel standart.
Front desk was helpful but lacked of knowledge, It would be good to have a printed list of close attractions to provide guideline to the front desk in case the person is new on the position, what was clear that happened to us.
Manager's special, same thing. No veggies on saturday (hotel was busy), veggies on sunday

Rooms were cleaned, pool and gym room very good.

Overall experience good and enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colamq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Colamq,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. We value our Canadian visitors' business and appreciate many loyal, repeat clients from Canada whom come down frequently for shopping and to spend a weekend away from home. While we do change up breakfast and evening reception offerings daily and are different from weekends to weekdays, most feedback is very positive of all of the variety of selections that we choose to serve complimentary to our guests on all days; to which most of the items that we decide to serve on those days are often driven by prior guests' suggestions and feedback.

Thanks again for the great review, and for your valued business and for your continued loyalty, and we hope to service your future lodging needs again soon.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our family stayed here and we were pleased with the service and amenities. Our room was very clean and well-kept. The only thing we didn't like was the mattress on the hide-a-bed couch. We would stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Susan C,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! I appreciated your compliments of your room being "clean and well-kept", thank you. Although it seems that your overall stay was very pleasing I do apologize for the uncomfortable mattress that you experienced on the sofa sleeper bed.

Thanks again for the Excellent review and for your valued business, and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent hotel. I recommend it to all my friends at work. The breakfast is always great and the snacks at the evening reception are nice. Rooms are always clean and you have space to spread out. I'm picky about the cleanliness of the bathroom and shower, but I have never had an issue at this hotel. I stay here often and it is worth the extra 5 minutes drive from where I work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! I am happy to read that you have stayed with us multiple times now and each time has been satisfying and met your expectations for both cleanliness and guest accommodations. Thank you for sharing this feedback as maintaining guest loyalty is one the most important keys for us to stay successful.

Thanks again for the Excellent review again and for your valued business and loyalty.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stay at this Embassy for the Weekend while attending a family member's wedding in Warren, MI. The rooms were nice and comfortable for all 4 of us. This location was perfect, not far from a Mall (even though we didn't get a chance to visit). The reception hour was nice and appreciated especially after a long travel day. The morning breakfast was divine. I am very picky when it comes to hotel stays and I make sure to check out the reviews on TripAdvisor before booking rooms any where. I give this hotel/location 4 stars and I would stay here again if I am ever in Detroit, MI again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer12go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear explorer12go,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. From your explanation of the purpose of your travels to our area, it seems that our hotel guest accommodations, complimentary Evening Reception and Breakfast services were all enjoyed by you and your fellow travelers. I am glad (and relieved) that our hotel and Team Members' service met your expectations from what you formed from your research on tripadvisor prior to choosing our hotel for that special weekend.

Thanks again for the great review and for your valued business, and we hope that we will be your first choice for lodging again in the future.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were attending a family gathering, and our stay at this hotel was a gift from a relative – what a gift it was! I don’t even know where to start praising this place, so I’ll start with the beginning. Check-in was super-friendly, we were issued passes for free drinks at the Manager’s Reception; then we were greeted by a personalized welcome letter in the spacious, meticulously clean rooms, featuring a sitting room, wet-bar area, bedroom with crisp, fresh linens and a very modern bathroom with fluffy towels and high-end, organic toiletries. The wet-bar area consisted of a fridge, a little kitchen cabinet, a coffeemaker with good coffee and a separate sink. Now there is something cool about not having to disturb your “significant other” in the bathroom just to get water for the coffee… Breakfast was fabulous, with awesome coffee and a great selection of food. Unfortunately we did not have enough time to use any of the facilities, like the pool or fitness center. My recommendation if you’re looking for something other than just a place to crash: spend the extra money, as it is well worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renate1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Renate1111,

Thank you for the Excellent review of your recent stay with us! I really appreciated your detailed descriptions of so many pleasing items and features that you enjoyed inside your suite, thank you. While all those amenities and guest accommodations that you described perfectly are appreciated, your description of how the first impression of your arrival with the "check-in was super friendly", that is exactly the way we want to greet and welcome our guests at check-in, thank you for mentioning this.

Thanks again for the Excellent review and for your valued business. We hope to see you back soon for another wonderful stay with our Team.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
148 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and this hotel was very convenient to the places we were visiting on this trip. Breakfast was included, and had way more selections than I had expected! Even many hot dishes and made to order omelettes were included. We were also pleasantly surprised when they told us that we got 3 drinks per person, per night, at the bar during their happy hour! Front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating. Only criticism is that I had called ahead of time to ask if they had magnifying make-up mirrors in the bathrooms, and was told they did not, but that they did have them in housekeeping, and all I had to do was ask for one when we checked in and they would bring it right up. When we checked in, I was told they did NOT have them and never have had them. So I had to go out driving and search to buy one. Other than that, all was great.
Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherryshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear sherryshoes,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to read how our guest accommodations were satisfying and surprisingly more than what you expected it seems. Thank you mentioning how our breakfast had good variety and that the omelets made to order was another offering that was more than expected.

Thanks again for the great review, and for your valued business and we hope to service your future lodging needs.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
2.4 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Address: 850 Tower Dr, Troy, MI 48098-2845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Troy
#4 Family Hotel in Troy
#4 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Detroit-Troy/Auburn Hills is located in the Michigan suburb of Troy, just a short interstate drive from Downtown Detroit, however, our Troy hotel is located just minutes from attractions such as The Palace of Auburn Hills, Walter P. Chrysler Museum, Somerset Collection Shopping Mall, and Great Lake Crossing Mall. As with all Embassy Suites hotels, we offer complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, evening Manager's Reception, and spacious two-room suites. Enjoy the other amenities of our hotel including high speed wireless internet access (for a nominal fee), on-site fitness center, business center, and indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Troy
Troy Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing