We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre Embassy Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Mediocre Embassy Suites”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Universally, we have found Embassy Suites to be above average and we expected the same for this hotel. This was the most tired and delapated Embassy we have ever stayed. The sheets and towels were very old and should have been replaced. We were on the top floor and there were holes in the ceiling from rain etc that had not been repaired or patched up. The carpets were dirty enough that I would not take off my socks in the room. The convertible couch was horrid. The lobby was fine. this hotel needs a remodel badly!

Room Tip: We had numerous family staying in different rooms and they were all unsatisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    230
    92
    55
    18
See reviews for
301
137
23
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
690 reviews
315 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Check in was fast and efficient. Rooms are clean and quiet. Well appointed. this is a good choice if in the area.

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear BillF,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review of your stay with us back in December. I just noticed that you are a 'Top Contributor' which definitely speaks to your level of experience with traveling extensively and would easily be considered as our best resource for feedback, positive or negative. So, I was very happy to read of your positive experiences and compliments of some of our amenities, thank you again, and for your valued business and loyalty to our Hilton Brands of Hotels.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding, I loved the room layouts and the space for my family of 4. The breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear toni1019,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I appreciated reading of your compliments of our suite size and layout, and how it accommodated well for your size family. Embassy Suites Brand prides themselves on being the best product and service for business travelers and also being the First choice for families traveling too; not many other full service hotels can represent both as well as we can. Thanks again for your positive review and valued business.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TALLAHASSEE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Stayed there several years when it was under management. It is just great now (not bad before). The rates are very good, food is excellent (breakfast buffet among the very best I've experienced), maintenance excellent and the staff most attentive. We a a minor issue with the bar. Their martinis were way overpriced for the size of the drinks. Try something else. But that was the only issue we had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear tallybob,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your recent stay at our hotel! I was impressed to read of how you recall how our property looked before the management changeover back in 2007 and how you recognize the excellent improvements now, thank you. This also speaks to how long you have been a loyal patron of our hotel when you are visiting our area! I will share your review with our Team as they will really appreciate hearing of your rating our breakfast as being one of the best you experienced. Thanks again for your review, continued loyalty, and valued business.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

We only had to stay here one night but could have stayed much longer. They provide a free cocktail hour in the bar area in the evening and a deluxe breakfast in the morning, complete with omelet bar.
The king bed was comfortable and there were lots of pillows. Microwave, mini fridge and wet bar.
I feel like I could have lived in this room and that made me want to have a longer visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicariouslythrulisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear vicariouslythrulisa,

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at our hotel. I was very happy to read of all of your positive experiences, from the comfortable king bed to the complimentary cocktails and deluxe breakfast services with omelet bar. Such positive feedback like yours really help our Team to stay motivated and engaged to consistently provide our best possible amenities and services to all our guests. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to servicing your lodging needs again soon.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYRTLE BEACH
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Recently stayed for two nights. The Embassy brand provides an evening reception for a couple of hours ( which we missed) and a cooked breakfast, The hotel had a urn of Hot Chocolate in the lobby creating a welcoming feel. Our room was bright and clean and lots of room to spread out. On the Friday night a junior hockey team stayed but the room still was quiet. Staff are very friendly in the lobby and at breakfast. There is a well designed bar which I saw but did not partake in. (Don't worry - I had wine upstairs!) Given the location this would be good hotel for those that want to shop and those that don't - a good place to wait it out!

Room Tip: The hotel is an open attrium so all rooms would be ok --- I would ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrugglingGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear StrugglingGolfer,

Thank you for your complimenting review of your experience at our hotel. All of our Team Members truly enjoy meeting and servicing Canadian travelers; as we are conveniently located on I-75 express way, we are a "perfect" fit for location to nearby shopping centers and for its numerous full service amenities within the property. I will share your review with all of our Team as they will appreciate hearing all of your positive feedback from your recent stay with us. Thanks again for your review and valued business, we hope to service your lodging needs again soon.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moody, Alabama
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for a bussiness trip. The hotel staff was very friendly. We stayed on the 2nd floor near the Manager's Reception area which I was worried would be loud but it wasn't. The room was very big and nice. The bed was really comfortable. The breakfast was amazing!! We really enjoyed staying at this hotel and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGuys2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTroy, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear TheGuys2006,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I was happy to read of your positive feedback and especially your compliments of our breakfast services, thank you! Almost every hotel has breakfast offerings of some sort in these times, so it is very important for our Team to provide the best selections and services consistently and to every guest. Thanks for your review and valued business, and we hope to service your lodging needs again soon.

Best regards,

Eric Welch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
2.4 mi away
Detroit Marriott Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Address: 850 Tower Drive, Troy, MI 48098
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Troy
#4 Business Hotel in Troy
#4 Family Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Detroit-Troy/Auburn Hills is located in the Michigan suburb of Troy, just a short interstate drive from Downtown Detroit, however, our Troy hotel is located just minutes from attractions such as The Palace of Auburn Hills, Walter P. Chrysler Museum, Somerset Collection Shopping Mall, and Great Lake Crossing Mall. As with all Embassy Suites hotels, we offer complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, evening Manager's Reception, and spacious two-room suites. Enjoy the other amenities of our hotel including high speed wireless internet access (for a nominal fee), on-site fitness center, business center, and indoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Troy
Troy Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing