We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Troy
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife's company held their Christmas party at this Marriott and we decided to stay the night. The front desk was very polite and helpful. The waitstaff in the ballroom where her party was were very quick and polite, same with the bartenders. The room itself was clean and bright. The bathroom was clean also. We had a King bed which was very comfortable and it had real pillows! Nice size pillows instead of the 4 tiny ones you get in some other motels with King size bed. No problem falling asleep. The next morning the valet service was very quick at bringing our car up. This Marriott seemed very first class to me and priced very reasonable. I would recomend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: I don't really have a tip for anyone as this was our first time there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motownguyRosevilleMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review; we appreciate all of your wonderful compliments. We're also happy to hear that the event was a success for your wife's firm! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 476 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Clean...pretty...nice staff...We've been here 3 times. The food is great and they have gluten free items. The beds are comfortable. I would highly recommend it. The pool is great. Resort like...relaxing lobby area

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Ehmama, thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate your repeat business and look forward to seeing you again soon. We're always improving our menu offerings and we'll be sure to pass your compliments to Chef Jase. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were very please with this hotel . Front desk staff was efficient, kind and helpful. Room was clean and nice. Breakfast was phenomenal. You are close to many restaurants. We were here to celebrate our daughter's 13th birthday and she loved the hotel too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalieilovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Natalie, thank you! We love hearing when guests such as yourself have such a positive experience. We thank you for the compliments and hope that you will return again soon. Happy belated birthday to your daughter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent a weekend at this hotel and we can't say enough about the hotel and the amazing staff. From checking in with Ray to riding the shuttle with Ali we couldn't have asked for more. Everyone is so friendly and go out of there way to help. Our room was fine and the breakfast was quite nice as well. The shuttle will take you complementary any where with. 5 miles. In the evening they took us to restaurants and during the day to shopping centres, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masonkeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello and thank you so much for your kind words! We have passed your compliments on to our general manager, Ali, and of course Ray at the front desk. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I read several negative reviews before staying here but I'm pretty low maintenance so I disregarded them. The staff were good. No issues there. The room was ok, no real issue there. I read complaints about the elevator noise but thought that was people being nitpicky. Our room was near the outside of the building so as far from the elevator as possible, but it still kept us up all night.

I knew there was a ton of chlorine in the pool because you can smell it throughout the building. My kids both got out of the pool after 30 minutes with mild chemical rash on their faces and everyone felt woozy. That's how much chlorine there was. Everyone's skin flaky and dry afterward.

The $5 coffee in the lobby and wanted $13 to check email was insulting. And being asked if I wanted to charge the housekeeper's tip to my room charge when checking out is ignorant and unprofessional.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hello Andrew and thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for any possible problems that you experienced while visiting. As for our pool, hotel engineers check chlorine levels constantly to assure accuracy and consistency. Our reports show no issues or even reported complaints regarding chlorine levels during your stay. Perhaps we were not aware of your complaint. Also, the $5 coffee, $13 for "email" and the housekeeping gratuity comments are all atypical for our property. Our general manager would very much like to speak with you personally about these items and help clarify and rectify where possible. Should you wish to speak with her, please email thetroymarriot@marriott.com. We are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and hope that we will hear from you soon so that we may make your situation right. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Following my good opinion about Marriott chains, I've chosen this hotel for business and I was almost satisfied. The position is strategical for the Detroit area, noto so far from everyone in the american automotive industry and from also very big malls and attractions. The rooms are good about space and equipment the only issue is a not modern use of the fitted carpets everywhere, not so easy to cleanup and really old fashion. The brake fast is great as usual, the fitness area almost well equipped, the pool si...a children one, small and not so deep! Unique bothering thing is a incredible smell of kerosene at the parking entrance, really disgusting at every hour. And last, but not least, the wi-fi rate is really expensive!!!

Room Tip: Ask for high floors rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Urraco64, thank you so very much for staying with us and for writing your thorough review. We appreciate the four stars! You mentioned the "fashion" within our guest rooms. Please note that our guest rooms will be undergoing a complete renovation in 2014 and we are confident that you will love the new design! In addition, we wanted to sincerely apologize for what you noted as a scent of "kerosene" at the garage entrance. We assume that you are referring to the carpet glue used in the installation of our new garage stairwell carpeting. The smell was present while the contractors were working and has since subsided. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this created. Thank you once again for staying and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Buon viaggio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have never stayed in a hotel with so much elevator noise! Our first room was several rooms away from the elevator bank on the 14th floor and the noise kept me awake. The next day we moved to the 10th floor and all the way to the end of the hall. While it was not as bad, the noise still required ear plugs to sleep. Housekeeping in the hotel was extremely slow, and still not completed when we returned to our room at 3PM (having left the hotel at 9AM!). In the outside parking lot, my car was completely trashed from rotten berries falling off a tree. The hotel should have blocked those spots off. The guest rooms were on the small side and inconsistently furnished. A couch was missing from the first room and towels were inadequate for two persons. Next time I'm in Troy I will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask about elevator noise when you check in. We were told the lower floors might be better. Avoid t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Silkboy, on behalf of our entire team at Detroit Marriott Troy, we sincerely apologize for all of the problems you experienced while visiting. We are so very sorry for any possible noise disturbance, the housekeeping issues, and obviously the irritation involved with your vehicle. Our general manager would very much like to speak with you about your stay and hopefully make this right with you. Should you be interested in speaking with her, please email thetroymarriott@marriott.com. We work diligently at our property to assure a positive experience for each and every one of our guests and I apologize that we fell short in your case. Thank you for staying with us an we hope you will visit again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Somerset Inn
Somerset Inn
#10 of 17 in Troy
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Troy

Address: 200 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range: $132 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Troy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the upscale, contemporary design of a Troy, Michigan hotel in affluent Oakland County near downtown Detroit, The Somerset Collection, Chrysler, GM Tech Center and TACOM, as well as The Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Pistons. This hotel boasts comfortable accommodations featuring an array of pleasing amenities such as 37" flat screen TVs and spacious baths with marble details. Travelers will appreciate the many thoughtful touches at this 350-room hotel, including wireless high-speed Internet access, well-appointed work-stations and deluxe bedding, as well as on-site restaurant, 200 west. The reinvented hotel lobby features plush seating, state of-the-art technology and creative food and beverage concepts in a stylish setting—all designed to meet the needs of today’s travelers. As a certified Michigan Green Lodging Facility, you can count on the Detroit Marriott Troy hotel to provide you with a comfortable and eco-friendly stay each and every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Detroit Marriott Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Troy Hotel Troy
Marriott Troy
Troy Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing