We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Detroit Marriott Troy
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$149
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
CandlewoodSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy(Troy)(Great Value!)
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy(Troy)(Great Value!)
$56
$51
Red Roof
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Troy(Troy)(Great Value!)
$139
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
162
202
85
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
202
85
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungesomerset mallfull servicenice hotelbed was very comfortablethe somerset collectionpool areabig beaverhockey tournamentbusiness triproom ratebreakfast buffeteasy accessfront desk staffupon checkup to datecoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 482 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night because we had a wedding in the area. Since we were with a group and booked under the wedding block I figured many of the other guests that were also staying here would have a room close to ours. I was wrong. We were on the 17th floor, others on the 6th, 7th,14th, etc. It wasn't a problem, but i was a little suprised since normally when staying with a group the hotel puts those guests together or at least close.
The room was nice, clean and did not have any unpleasant smells. The shower was nice and he bed was very comfortable. We were not far from the elevators, but got some of the mechanical whinning but did not really bother us.
Overall, we'd stay here again and felt very comfortable and all staff was extremely helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hello and thank you for writing. We appreciate all of your compliments and wanted to try and explain the situation with your room block. You are correct that we make every attempt to keep guests within a block together. That being said, we also work equally hard to accommodate early check-ins and this weekend in particular, we had a large amount of guests unexpectedly arriving early. When that happens, we sometimes work diligently to get guests into rooms, rather than making guests wait just to accommodate a particular location in the hotel. This scenario played a large role in the situation last weekend and we hope this helps offer some explanation. Thanks again for visiting an we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed her many times over the past 6 years related to business travel. Each time they treat me like family. The hotel rooms are comfortable the beds allow you to sleep like a baby and the staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome and your needs met.
It is convenient to the freeway and has a wonderful mall with many restaurant options close by.

Room Tip: Park in the garage, never have to clean off snow or ice
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Kathy! Thank you very much for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing to return and stay with us on so many visits. Also we wanted to offer some exciting news which is that our guest rooms will be undergoing a complete renovation beginning in January! We'll look forward to your next visit and thank you once again for always choosing Detroit Marriott Troy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a comfortable place to stay on business. The rooms are a little tired but very clean and well maintained. As mentioned in another review, the air conditioning units are somewhat noisy and make the air in the rooms quite dry. Temperature permitting, it's probably best to switch them off at night. The reception staff are very helpful and welcoming and made checking in and out very straightforward. Once the rooms are updated this hotel should warrant a higher score.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello Ian and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your suggestion about a higher rating after room renovation. We're unsure if you're aware, but we will in fact be renovating all guest rooms in 2014. Hopefully you will return then and experience the new design. Thanks again for taking your time to write. We always appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I haven't stayed at this hotel for years and was expecting the same 20 year old Marriott décor. Coming through the garage entrance certainly felt old Marriott but once in the lobby, what a change! The lobby and restaurant areas are modern, open and very attractive. Quite a change.

I met colleagues at the bar and also ate there. The staff were first rate and the food simple, very well prepared and presented. They have a decent wine list that is good value for money.

When heading to the room, you head back into mostly old Marriott décor. There have been some room updates but it is what it is; old, well maintained and basic. The bed and linens are however, excellent.

This hotel is well located for business and I will definitely stay here when next visiting the area. They just need to finish their updates to get an excellent rating.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a bit of a view. All rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, General Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Ian, thank you for visiting and for writing your review! We appreciate all of your kind words on everything from our service to our wonderful linens. We also wanted to offer you some exciting news which is that we will be undergoing an entire guest room renovation in 2014. We hope that you will return again and experience our new design. Thanks again for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a very friendly, expensive hotel, you must pay for wifi, and the breakfast is purely amazing, watch e chef prepare your custom omelette, then have your choice of an all you can eat buffet on the side for no extra charge!

Room Tip: High floors have a nice view.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airplaneman0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, General Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Hi there and thank you for visiting and taking the time to post a review. We're thrilled that you were so happy with your breakfast at 200 west; your critique has been passed along to our Executive Chef. Thanks again and we home you will come down and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews