We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Troy
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here just 1 night for a wedding. For a Marriot it was okay...our air conditioning didn't work much (appeared as if the hotel over rides the room settings) and the rooms tended to let in much noise from the halls. Overall the decor and coziness was up to par with the chain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmparker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

jmparker, thank you very much for writing your review. We sincerely apologize in advance for the situation with your air conditioning and we'd very much like to speak with you further. If you have the time, please email our General Manager directly at thetroymarriott@marriott.com with details of your stay. She is eager to learn more about your problem as well as the noise situation. Once again on behalf of our entire team, we apologize and hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide a better experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 470 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a single night stay in Troy and choose this property. It was OK; nothing special. The Shula's restaurant in the hotel was permanently closed which was disappointing, as was the fact that this wasn't disclosed on their web site. Nice front desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJCjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Hello JJCjr and thank you not only for visiting, but also for writing. We sincerely apologize that you were surprised by the change in our dining options. Shula's Steak House actually closed in December 2010 and 200 west opened the following month in January 2011. It looks as though you were our guest this summer, long after the switch. While we can confirm that information was updated on our official Marriott website at the time of the change, it is likely that other online business directories which are beyond our control perhaps did not update their own information. 200 west is open daily for breakfast and the 200 west lounge (lobby bar area) is open for lunch, dinner, and late night dining also daily. We hope this information is helpful and we apologize for any misinformation you may have received. Thank you again and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The location is good, the staff are friendly and I got a pretty good deal. Rooms clean but the hallways needed a little work. Rooms on the smaller side and an older property so not the fanciest place. I would stay here again but it isn't the best Marriott I have been in.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesmorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Hello James and thank you for staying with us this summer. We apologize that you were disappointed in our rooms, however we are excited to announce that we will be undergoing a complete renovation of our guest rooms beginning January 2014. We hope that you will return and experience the new design. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Rooms were small but clean. Felt cramped with 3 adults in the room and very little drawer space for clothes for a long weekend. Parking garage was convenient but fills up quickly if there are events booked in the ballroom. Location was great, close to interstates, shopping and dining. Outdoor patio outside of pool was a nice surprise and fitness room was well equipped.

Room Tip: Pool and fitness area are on 2nd floor. Avoid this floor if you prefer a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patravelmom93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback on our rooms and the parking area. We apologize if you experienced any trouble at all in finding a spot in the garage. Also, we are actually in process of discussing renovation of the patio area you mentioned. Hopefully the next time you visit, that area will be even more enjoyable. Thanks again for your review and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I spent a night at this Marriott while in town to see the Pete Best show. The hotel was very nice and gave the impression that it was a top center city hotel in a big city. There was a lot of activity with a couple of wedding parties going on. The room was a good size and beds were very comfortable. They had plenty of parking and the hotel is situated on a main road with easy access to the major highways. The buffet breakfast was very good too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trip117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Trip117, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all of your kind words and feedback. We hope that you enjoyed the show and if you haven't done so already, please be sure to check out the clip on Vimeo of Please Mr. Postman from the 2013 Freedom Hill event. Enjoy! Hopefully we'll see you again in the future and thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel was very comfortable and well-maintained. The staff was very friendly as well. The building is a little older, but my stay was very pleasant and I did not encounter any problems. I would easily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunniK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hell SunniK and thank you for writing. We're excited to let you know that our guest rooms will be undergoing a complete renovation beginning in January. We're confident that you'll enjoy the new design. Thank you again for staying and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It hits all the marks, esp. for a somewhat older property. Spacious room, good bed, great work space. Don't have status so internet a touch high at $12.95 but worked well. Location is perfect with a great walking/jogging path behind the hotel and more restaurants within a few blocks than many hotel I've stayed at. Did not try the hotel food but overall they are doing a great job. I'd come back. (You'll do fine without a car ... within 3-4 blocks are Champs a sports bar, Granite City brew pub, and a restaurant I did not recognize.) Within 10 blocks include too many to mention.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor or you'll look at top of the ballroom or parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ordglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott Troy, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for not only staying, but for your great compliments. We appreciate all of the feedback. Please know that complimentary wifi is available for our platinum rewards members should that be on your horizon. Plenty of other perks are also included! Thanks again and we hope that you'll return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Troy
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Troy

Address: 200 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range: $131 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Troy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the upscale, contemporary design of a Troy, Michigan hotel in affluent Oakland County near downtown Detroit, The Somerset Collection, Chrysler, GM Tech Center and TACOM, as well as The Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Pistons. This hotel boasts comfortable accommodations featuring an array of pleasing amenities such as 37" flat screen TVs and spacious baths with marble details. Travelers will appreciate the many thoughtful touches at this 350-room hotel, including wireless high-speed Internet access, well-appointed work-stations and deluxe bedding, as well as on-site restaurant, 200 west. The reinvented hotel lobby features plush seating, state of-the-art technology and creative food and beverage concepts in a stylish setting—all designed to meet the needs of today’s travelers. As a certified Michigan Green Lodging Facility, you can count on the Detroit Marriott Troy hotel to provide you with a comfortable and eco-friendly stay each and every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Troy Hotel Troy
Marriott Troy
Troy Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing