We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (502)
Filter reviews
502 results
Traveler rating
175
205
89
15
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
205
89
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe concierge loungelobby barsomerset mallnice hotelfull servicebed was very comfortablethe somerset collectionbig beaver roadhockey tournamentbusiness tripeasy accessfront desk stafffitness centerfree internetupon checkup to datecoffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
401 - 406 of 502 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We travel from Toronto to Detroit to do some shopping at Somerset Mall and make it a weekend gateway by staying overnight at the Detroit, Troy Marriott. They recently renovated the lobby and it is modern and beautiful with a lounge area and a restaurant. We usually book the Somerset Package $134 with complimentary breakfast and a $25.00 gift card to the mall...how can you go wrong? Compared to the boring free breakfasts at other hotels this is one is excellent. They have hot and cold food and the restaurant is spacious and cozy. There is an custom omelette station, a hot section (scrambled eggs, sausages, mini cheese crepes, mini potatoes, french toast) and an excellent section of fresh fruit, cereals and oatmeal. I may be missing other things but thought should mention some of the food served. Free covered parking steps away from the elevators. The rooms are standard with a flats screen televsion and comfortable beds. Overall, it is an excellent value and it is minutes away to the mall. We have stayed at this hotel about 5 times and will continue to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Hotel was clean and modern. Had big lobby bar area and several banquet rooms. Room was a bit smaller than expected, but nice. Bed was very comfortable. Great location to stay when on a shopping trip to Somerset Collection. Satisfied with stay and recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DUPS14x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Had a great experience at this Troy Marriott. Rooms are clean. Front desk very friendly. Free parking in the garage that is attached to the hotel. Quiet. Good work out room. Good rates. The only thing I had an issue with was the wi-fi internet was not free. Most places I stay it's free so I was surprised. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinceo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have stayed at this property twice and both times for the sole purpose of shopping at the Somerset Collection; an awesome mall filled with all the fine stores and restaurants.
Excellent rooms, clean, comfortable beds, breakfast in the morning not to special, in fact not worth it if you are not getting it for free which was in our case. $139/ngt including free buffet breakfast for 2 and a $25 gift card for the Somerset collection; free parking; all in all not a bad deal. Not too much choice in the area when it comes to hotels so this is the best in the area. Newly renovated lobby adds a nice touch. When in Troy eat ate Oceans Prime; make reservations well in advance; also eat at PF Changs.

Room Tip: Be a Marriott Member as it always helps to be loyal to a chain.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I am actually here now! The rooms are very nice & metro chic. I have a big flat screen tv, coffee maker, king bed, sofa. The hotel is being updated & construction is going in during the day. Young staff. In the heart if shopping, dining & business. They have a restaurant here as well I have not yet tried the food but it smells good. Rooms have hair dryer, shampoo etc.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbourinaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews