We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and quiet hotel near great shopping!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Troy
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet hotel near great shopping!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My family and I enjoyed a two night stay at this hotel. The room was very clean and quiet. The hotel is ideally situated close to a high end shopping mall, outlet mall and many restaurants. The breakfast at the hotel is above average with made to order omelets. My daughter and wife enjoyed the fitness facility and pool. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Online reservation. CAA/AAA
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdnands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    192
    80
    14
    16
See reviews for
112
70
15
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Our family was here for a dance-convention the weekend of January 28-30, 2011. I must say, the hotel is clean, crispy white sheets are on beds, everything is like you would expect from a typical Marriott Hotel. I really disliked the noise though. It was one of those rooms, that when the door is closed, you can still here people even just walking in the hall-way, yet alone running and screaming children... So you might have problems falling asleep because of the activity in the halls. On the bright side, the front-desk staff was extra nice and helpful, the floors, the bathroom and the furniture were impeccably clean.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I'm a Marriott platinum rewards member and stayed here for two nights while in Detroit for business. I usually stay at the Courtyard in Warren when I come to town, but thought I would give the Troy Marriott a try. Check in went very smoothly. The lobby is curretnly undergoing renovation. There is a nice parking garage behind the hotel which was convenient, especially considering that Detroit got hit by a snow storm during my stay - nothing worse than digging your rental car out of snow while on travel. The room was fine - basically your standard king-sized hotel room. The rooms were clean, but they are ready for some remodeling. The concierge lounge was very nice and had a nice spread for both dinner and breakfast. The hotel restaurant was pretty good as well. Overall no issues. I would probably stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyNavyCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed here for a night after a wedding and were very happy. The lobby-area is very nice and the restaurant has a decent buffet brunch (not too fancy or huge). We were upgraded to a suite, which was extremely spacious. The regular rooms looked to be a little on the smaller side. Loved the Bath and Body Works toiletries!

If you're going to be in the area and they are offering a good rate, I'd recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canders1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

As a Silver Elite Marriott member I stay in quite a few Marriotts. In my opinion this is one of the best. It's a bit older, but the rooms are comfortable. The lobby is roomy, even with multiple meetings or weddings. The lobby bar is excellent with very attentive wait staff. The Shula's restaurant that had been there is now gone and we didn't try the new one, prefering to eat in the lobby bar. (But the food comes from teh same kitchen and and was excellent. The calamari is especially good.)
On the desk in the room was a bottle of water prominently marked $5.00. Under the TV by the ice bucket a much smaller bottle lurked. Perhaps we were naive, but we enjoyed that one, only to be billed $3.50. Certainly not a deal breaker, but an irritant.
I will certainly continue to stay there, but remember that everything has a price, whether it is marker or not.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshman42256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I stayed here as part of a wedding party. We were promised an early check-in because of the rehearsal time, but apparently that message did not get communicated - so the beds weren't made. Fortunately they still let us check in, and the staff were very sweet and apologetic about the sheets. The rooms were clean, well stocked and very quiet. There was a boys hockey tournament nearby while we were there, and we never heard a peep from inside the rooms all night.

Parking is free and easily accessible. There is also a shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 5-min trip, and I would definitely recommend the Somerset Collection, a high-class mall just down the road.

The only thing odd about the room was that I never found the in-room safe - even though there was a sign about locking up valuables.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBlue_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed Sweetest day...We had the king room with comedy club/breakfast package....AMAZING price...hotel was clean and beautiful! The staff was incredibly helpful and FRIENDLY! Comedy club was a blast! Breakfast was buffet style with meats, eggs to order, fruit, french toast...etc....very nice and included the option to have room service bring breakfast to your room!! Check out time was noon, which was equally awesome! I would TOTALLY recommend this hotel for a stay-cation...Troy offers alot of lovely restraurants and shopping! This hotel is worth it, and the price is unbeatable for what you get :) The casinos are less than 30 min away..beds are comfy, huge flat screen tv, beautiful view...need I say more?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kogden48192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Troy

Property: Detroit Marriott Troy
Address: 200 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Troy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the upscale, contemporary design of a Troy, Michigan hotel in affluent Oakland County near downtown Detroit, The Somerset Collection, Chrysler, GM Tech Center and TACOM, as well as The Palace of Auburn Hills, home of the Pistons. This hotel boasts comfortable accommodations featuring an array of pleasing amenities such as 37" flat screen TVs and spacious baths with marble details. Travelers will appreciate the many thoughtful touches at this 350-room hotel, including wireless high-speed Internet access, well-appointed work-stations and deluxe bedding, as well as on-site restaurant, 200 west. The reinvented hotel lobby features plush seating, state of-the-art technology and creative food and beverage concepts in a stylish setting—all designed to meet the needs of today’s travelers. As a certified Michigan Green Lodging Facility, you can count on the Detroit Marriott Troy hotel to provide you with a comfortable and eco-friendly stay each and every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Detroit Marriott Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Troy Hotel Troy
Marriott Troy
Troy Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing