We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food with variety”

Ashoka Indian Quisine
Ranked #76 of 276 Restaurants in Troy
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
154 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent food with variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's located in the corner of a strip mall. It serves foods the other Indian places don't such as a special cuisine for Ramadan. The food is good but not great. Sitting and looking through the doors I could see the same dried powder curry mixes I use at home so don't pretend this is close to home made because it is not. Service is usually good although at Lunch everyone always seems to be rushed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chosen 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    7
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tavernier, Florida
Level Contributor
188 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“exploring authentic Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We spotted the small Indian resturant in Troy at a nondescripted strip mall. What a surprise to find this little gem. We were greeted by a friendly staff. Our drink order was taken immediately and warm naan with condiments was brought to the table.
The food was outstanding and wonderfully presented. We noticed the large portions on nearby tables and deceided to share.
We ordered the complete meal it came with potato curry, lentils, dahl, yoghurt dip and we had keema muthar with jasmine rice. This was one of the most authentic Indian restuarants we have been to and very good. My husband could not finish the meal the portions were so generous. Service and beer/wine were fine. We loved it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WinnieTavernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
“Worst Indian Restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The plates were dirty with food stuck on the bottom. The table cloth also had streaks of curry on the side I was sitting so I was grossed out even before I started eating. We went for the buffet and they serve nan and tandoori chicken at the table. The tandoori was two dry half burned pieces of chicken with the minimal muscle mass. After pulling out the bare minimum meat on the chicken legs when asked for another helping of nan and chicken they completely ignored our request until we asked a second time (there were only three other people apart from us so they were not super busy). The food itself was barely to the standards of an average Indian restaurant. Please go somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nik143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner and Date”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had Masala Dossa, Ittly and Chichen Tandori with Mango Lassi. It was quit culture and different cuisine experience. We were at first kind of holding back to taste the food, but thank god we did try and we loved it. We looking back to go again soon. Food taste was very different and we still loved it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“To for the food. Don't expect much else.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I had chicken tikka and my wife had butter chicken and both were very good. As was the Naan.

Service was slow and not attentive at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoBeyondToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashoka Indian Quisine also viewed

 

Been to Ashoka Indian Quisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing