We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Recipes

Recipes
Ranked #8 of 276 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place opens early and is always full.There is a big menu, prices are ok. The portions are far too big so be ware when ordering. Staff very friendly and responsive. Would recommend for a nice Sunday breakfast

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Archimedesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    45
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I love this place for brunch!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have been coming here for a year or so now and I have loved every visit! The spinach and sprouts omelet is amazing! I usually have to wait 10 minutes or so for a table but what do you expect Sunday late mornings?!? The staff is friendly and prompt with service. Love love love coming here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KtripMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yummiest Breakfasts in Town”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Recipes is a small restaurant near Troy's downtown area. It is best known for its breakfasts, which feature a huge range of omelets, pancakes (including granola pancakes), scrambled eggs with all sorts of special mix-ins including smoked salmon, and beautiful fluffly eggs benedict. A young guest sitting near me was served his pancakes that were shaped like Mickey Mouse, to his evident delight. The day I was there they also featured blackberry biscuits with a fruit sauce. The prices are very reasonable and the portions are very generous...lunches are o.k. there, but go for the breakfasts, you won't regret it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbrigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great spot for brunch”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

The food and ambiance in this cozy restaurant is excellent. Try the biscuits with blackberry sauce. Everything is good here.

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
195 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Unique Breakfast Selection”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We live right around the block from this place but weren't brave enough to try it because it looks a little shabby from the outside. We finally gathered up the courage this past weekend and I'm glad we did! The menu is a breakfast lover's dream - they have 3 pages of the menu dedicated solely to breakfast, not including the specials! There were so many unique offerings, along with the traditional favorites. The atmosphere and service are really no different than any typical diner, but the food was great. A little on the pricey side but a good value because the portions were huge - we each only ate half of our meal. Will definitely be going back here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Recipes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing