We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chili!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shield's Pizza

Shield's Pizza
Ranked #94 of 276 Restaurants in Troy
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Franklin, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chili!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Shields may be known for great pizza but I think their chili is outstanding!!! Pair it with a side salad and you have a perfect little lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    22
    4
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
“I got robbed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was my first and only time I will ever order from Shields. This was a take out order so I had already driven off when we looked into the box. I ordered a large with 3 toppings. There was too much crust and then the sauce and scanty pieces of cheese dried out. And so the only taste was in the center. I lost $20.00. This single pizza ate my entire $20.00. Nope, first time and I'm done. I don't need to get robbed again. BEWARE! I can go to another chain and bring home 4 boxes for the same price loaded with more cheese.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MIchigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pizza is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great family restaurant. Great pizza! Nice facility good service. Perfect for the locals or hotel visitors for a take out. Download coupons and get for 22.99 a large pizza 6 breadsticks and a very very large salad so your choice. I recommend the antipasto. Lot so veggies lots of meat and cheese! Very clean. Good banquet room too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyTroyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shield's Pizza, Troy, Michigan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The pizza is fine--a bit more tomato-y than most--but what's worth noting is their other food, which is also consistently good. I often have a turkey reuben or tuna melt or burger, with onion rings or Greek salad, and it's always good. I'd rate it "excellent," but the service is only OK, and the atmosphere is a little dark. But it's still a pleasant place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BANJO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good pizza, big dining room, family friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

While out of town, we stopped at Shield's for a family pizza night. We didn't arrive until about 9:15pm, so the dining room was really thinned out, which was nice. Our server was very friendly and interacted with our younger kids, but was "missing in action" a little more than we'd prefer. The pizza was good, but to us just basically average. I hate to say that, because it makes it sound as though we didn't like it. It is really unfair to try and "rate" pizza because there are so many different tastes. It just wasn't the best we've had. The dining room was spacious, though, and definitely an environment you can take kids. They had a decent size bar area and had some type of triva game going on. There was a flat screen in the corner of the dining room for sports as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shield's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Shield's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing