We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but expensive”

Granite City Food & Brewery
Reserve with OpenTable
Granite City Food & Brewery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 276 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Grand Openiing was this past Tuesday. Very nice place and up-scale from most breweries in the area.
Michigan
Level Contributor
227 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food was good, but not above average. There were 4 of us and we all had something different. For a brew pub the prices were above average. Atmosphere and service very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetraveling99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    159
    66
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
739 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
“Average food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We arrived to this restaurant with no reservation, and had to wait about 15 minutes. While we waited staff from the restaurant came with samples of the BBQ Chicken and Tomato Basil Flatbreads which we thought was very nice touch. I ordered the Chicken Marsala which was quite bland. My wife ordered the Simply grilled Salmon which was fairly good. My son ordered the Mac & Cheese which was only O.K. while my daughter ordered the Grilled Chicken Sandwich which was quite dry. The mains were somewhat overpriced considering their small size. We ordered 2 draft beers to accompany our meal, which were a bargain at $3.00 each.
The service was a bit poor. We had to ask for bread. When the basket was finished, we asked for more; they said it will be coming but it never arrived.
Although there was nothing wrong with the meal, it was average with nothing particularly outstanding about it. We will probably not go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great new palce”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I decided to check it out on a Saturday. We have an 8 month old little girl and they accommodated us with a high chair.

Our waitress Kelly was helpful and attentive. Even the other waitress in her section was extremely nice since she helped pick up our daughters water mug off the floor and even went and washed it off for us.

Our waitress told us about happy hour which was ending in about 7 minutes after we got there. We quickly ordered drinks which was awesome. Plus we got a $5 flat bread which was VERY tasty! She also brought samples of beers which were yummy tasting!

I had teh chicken tortellini and my husband had the pull pork sandwich. Both were good.

It was very loud, so it was good for us with a baby. Fun atmosphere and worth going back to again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank regggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Terrible seating arrangements/inexperienced wait staff”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My family visited on a Wednesday at 6:30. We were seated at a table near the kitchen entrance. The way they have the table crammed together, we were not able to slip between the tables to get to our seats without the other diners pushing their chairs completely up to the table. And that left us with our chests up to our table; very uncomfortable. Had we been large people, we would not have been able to sit at a table. There was no room for the waitress and we had to pass everything down the table. The noise level was deafening; you couldn't really hear anybody across from you without shouting. Not at all what I was expecting. Our waitress did not know what beers were on tap and had to stop another waitress to ask. Twice, a group of wait staff came to our table arms loaded with dinners that they mistakenly thought were ours and had to go back to the kitchen with the food. When we tried to order the chocolate fondue on the children's menu, the waitress told us that, although it's printed on the menu, they don't have it. We did not have to wait an unusual length of time to get our food and it was average in flavor. We will not be going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Cool new place on Big Beaver. Large menu and interesting beer selection. Ale-cheese soup was really good. One of the managers saw us waiting for the bartender's attention and he pointed us out to her.....thought that was great.

Helpful?
Thank MTravelerI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Granite City Food & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing