We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Troy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here at the Homewood Suites Troy and enjoyed every minute of my stay. The great service started when I arrived earlier then I anticipated at the hotel (when I made my reservation I thought that I would be flying in late that day but actually flew in the previous day and thought that I would be checking in late but it turned out I arrived earlier) right around noon, there were rooms available and I was able to check in upon arrival.

I noticed right off the bat that the hotel was well kept and that the staff took pride in keeping the property clean. As a matter of fact, they had just started deep cleaning the suites the day I arrived (Sunday, Sep 30th) which was nice to see.

I had a single king bed suite and as usual it was quite roomy as I like the work area and my bed room separated from each other since it feels like I am in a apartment rather then a room. Enjoyed the free wireless internet and connecting was never an issue.

The hotel is located next to a small airport (no issue with noise from the small planes flying in and out), right in the middle of a business complex and next to a shopping center with a Walmart.

After checking in, I made a quick journey over to the Walmart to get some snacks and water (love the frig in the suite) to take back to the room. Located near many restaurants and with-in a 5 mile drive you can find pretty much every restaurant that you might desire. Oh, almost forgot, when you check in, the front desk agent will give you a list of the local restaurants, which helps one plan out their lunch and dinner.

Good selection of breakfast items and for the managers reception, which is held M-Th. I stayed here for 5 days and never experienced the same egg item twice. Breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall, I had nothing but great interactions with the staff at the hotel and they always seemed to be in a good mood, and friendly and willing to share their knowledge of the local area. As a matter of fact, when I requested info about a soul food restaurant, the front desk agent and engineer on duty were more then happy to refer a great soul food restaurant to me. Sorry, I forgot their names but the front desk agent on duty used to live in New Mexico so she will know whom I am talking about. :)

I highly recommend this property to both the solo/business traveler and the family but only if you value a great price, a roomy suite and pretty much everything complimentary for you. You can't go wrong and you will your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbanksiii64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

My issues with this hotel have nothing to do with the actual room, which was very clean and spacious. The staff was friendly, overall, and the lobby area is also nice. The problems is the lack of soundproofing between rooms (at least where I stayed). When I was in the room, I could hear the entire conversation next door without even trying, and I wasn't pressing my ear against the wall. Maybe it was just my room, but this was such an issue that I almost switched rooms. At least those people were quiet at night: if they were talking or had the TV on, I probably would not have been able to sleep. Beware...

Room Tip: Beware of paper thin walls!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 42492Escamillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodSuitesTroy, General Manager at Homewood Suites Detroit Troy, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting the thin walls and squeaky floor issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our hotel. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great hotel. Great value for the price. If you book early, it's cheaper than most hotels in the area; you get a suite with a king bed and a small kitchen and living room area. Can't ask for more for that price. It's very clean and comfortable. It comes with a free breakfast that's pretty decent. Actually this is probably the best hotel I've ever been to that's less than $100/night. Great customer service. Nice, polite and friendly staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 838krisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I checked in to the homewood suites after leaving a horrible hotel 2minutes away from here. It was more than a relief to encounter the friendly and helpful front desk staff and to walk into a spacious and clean room. I stayed overnight as I prepared for the Detroit Zoo 10k and it was a wonderful experience and for the amenities and space it is a great value, I urge anyone to pick the homewood suites for their next stay in Tropy, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The king suite was spacious and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluenaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I've stayed at this Homewood Suites in Troy, Michigan many times over the past few years. Reasonably priced (in my opinion), has always been quite (except for the cleaning staff in the morning), accomodating staff, clean property, convenient location and a lot to do in the area. Of course, I will plan to stay again.

Room Tip: I've never had a problem in any of the rooms. I usually ask for top floor, away from elevators a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We are staying here for a week. I have only good things to say about this hotel. The staff is trained to help out, the breakfast was good, and there is free internet. We were happy with the rooms, as well.

The manager, Melissa, was very accommodating, and is to be highly commended for everything she does. Melissa and her staff made us truly feel at home. When visiting relatives in Southeast Michigan, this is the place we will stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family stayed here for two nights. We had a great time. The front desk was very nice and even provided me with free laundry soap since my son got car sick and his clothes needed to be washed unexpectedly. They greeted us each time we came and left.

The breakfast was great and they seemed to have some different options each morning.

The pool was nice and room was clean. The fitness area was pretty large compared to a few other hotels we've stayed in.

The only complaint I had was that a direct tv person wanted to come in and fix something (not sure what since the tv worked fine) but I told him to come back later and put up the 'privacy please' sign on our door. I don't think that anyone besides the maid needed to come in our room. Since we only stayed 2 nights I thought that sort of maintenance could be done after we left.

We had a great say and would recommed this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
1.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Troy MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Detroit Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Detroit Troy

Address: 1495 Equity Dr, Troy, MI 48084-7112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Troy
#2 Family Hotel in Troy
Price Range: $114 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Detroit Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suites are equipped with full sized refrigerators, microwaves, dishwashers and stove top ranges. These suites are perfect for both short-term and long-term travelers with high speed internet access, high-definition televisions with a wide selection of programming choices, two phone-lines and voice mail. Our highlight features include: • complimentary high speed internet access• complimentary Suite Start (R)hot breakfast daily• complimentary Evening Social(R) meal Monday- Thursday• indoor heated swimming pool and on-site fitness center • business center with high-speed terminals, scanning and copying• fully equipped kitchens • High definition televisions with full HD Cable programming • 24 hour suite shop • 24 hour desk staff• on-site guest laundry • valet service • upscale décor in a secure interior corridor hotel setting• grocery shopping service • complimentary USA Today• Hilton's 100% Suite Assurance guarantee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Detroit Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Detroit Troy Hotel Troy
Homewood Suites Troy
Homewood Troy
Troy Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing