We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Complaint” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Met Troy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Met Troy
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Complaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Horrible customer service. They coun't find my reservation since it was a third party reservation (hotels.com) they said if they were not able to find my reservation they could still give me the room but they would charge me a key fee. There was no refridgeator in the room. When I asked if that was normal I was told they are renovating and it would be $10 to have someone bring it down. The hotel is very misleading from the website it looks like a nice semi upscale hotel. It is not it is old and dirty. The bathroom was so small that you had to shimmy around to close the door. The carpet looks like it has never been replaced. The tv didn't work at first we had only 3 channels and then we had more. The volume would continually lower on its own. The pool was freezing! The sauna was no even warm! This place is outdated and run down. I would not recommend this place at all!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theherrerafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    30
    46
    35
    107
See reviews for
67
56
23
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel exceeded what I was expecting from it in that the rooms are generally pretty cozy and the whole hotel has this comfortable and quiet ambiance. The clerks at the front desk are really friendly and knowledgeable of the area as well. My only hunches are that this hotel does not have a porter service to take your bags up to your room for you and contrary to what I was told, they do not have a complimentary area shuttle within 5 miles of the hotel anymore :(

Room Tip: The bigger the better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basanth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This past May was our second year to have the Met hotel host our annual political collectibles show., It was our 46th annual show. So we have lots of experience with hotels and shows.
After our 2012 show we knew we had found a great new gem to host us. Our 2013 experience was even better. General manager Mike Witoszynski and his friendly staff bent over backwards to take great care of us. I can't help but wonder where the people with the negative comments were staying. Sounds like a totally different place based on out two year experience.

My dealers come from many different states and they are spreading the word on how great this show is at the Met.
.
All they lack is a nice hotel restaurant and Mike is working hard to make that a reality.

We love the Met and look forward to a long run of yearly shows at this fine hotel.

.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the lobby. For meals there are many nice restaurants within two miles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed at The Met Hotel for only one night. When arriving to the hotel after traveling all day. We were assigned to a room that was in shambles and not clean. There were no linens on the bed, trash was on the floor and the restroom was filthy. After returning to the front desk we were assigned to another room in the same condition. After the front desk searched for a vacant and clean room for several mins we then were assigned to a "check-in ready" room. The front desk manager apologized for the inconvenience but did not seem at all concerned about offering us any compensation for the trouble. Even when asked she said "I can only be apologetic" and that there is nothing she could do. The Assistant General Manager Oz Sheikh refused to speak with us. Sending someone out to say he was on the phone and would call us; which never happened. When we called the front desk we were again not allowed to speak with Oz but advised he would call the room; which never happened. It is a shame he feels it is acceptable to ignore guest.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaturner09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Troy hotels

Troy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel property is beautiful and when we arrived we felt like we were staying in a five-star hotel. But, then we got in the room and were disappointed. The room is large but needs to be updated....



  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mr. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Chose this hotel because it was near family. The desk and breakfast staff were enthusiastic and welcoming. The gym was clean and has modern equipment. The lobby was large and inviting. The grounds are beautiful and the sculptures are impressive. Tons of parking. A few minutes from the Somerset Mall.Our room was large. Bed was large and comfortable. Now, for the downside:
Rooms are cooled by an in-room A/C that lacks a thermostat, leaving the room either cold or hot and humid. Furnishings appear to be 20+ years old, left over from the hotel's days as a Hilton. There were three hangers in the room when we arrived for a 5 day stay. Staff were happy to bring more when we asked.There was no hanger bar in the closet (but there is one in the cabinet). TV is a small, tube TV with few channels. No radio. Two towels, except on day 2, when there were none. No in-room coffee. Breakfast is an assortment of cold breads, apples, oranges, juice and dry cereal. Coffee was OK ... or terrible, depending on which day we tried it. No eggs, meat or breakfast sandwiches. We brought breakfast to our room on day 1. Housekeeping didn't pick up the dishes on day 2 or day 3, so we removed them ourselves.
The hotel was virtually empty. There is no bar and no restaurant. It's obvious that the MET is run to attract meetings.
A place to sleep. Not a place to entertain or relax.

Room Tip: Insist on a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSSNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great location. Staff was friendly and helped us find a nice restaurant after a very long drive. However, on the second night we found bed bugs!! I typically inspect our mattress before sleeping but we got in so late and I was pretty exhausted. The bed bugs were engorged with lots of blood. Meaning, they'd been there a while. The night time receptionist moved us quickly - to a nice room. However, when I spoke to the front desk manager she was very unresponsive and replied; "we have exterminators." Well, they should try calling them!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daisy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Troy hotels
2.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Troy
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn Detroit - Troy
3.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Troy
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Met Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Met Troy

Property: The Met Troy
Address: 5500 Crooks Road, Troy, MI 48098
Location: United States > Michigan > Troy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Met Troy 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MET Hotel is conveniently located in Detroit's affluent Northwestern suburbs near upscale shopping, dining & entertainment venues, as well as a number of corporate headquarters. We offer 23,000 square feet of conference space, making The MET one of the largest conference hotels in the area. With 180 spacious guestrooms, we can perfectly accomodate groups large or small. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Met Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Met Troy Hotel Troy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing