We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bayshore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayshore Resort
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights mid-week. Got a great rate. The beds were horrible; very hard, but the hotel was quiet. Not many guests. Note that there is not a refrigerator or microwave in the rooms. View of the bay was great but it rained the whole time. Overall, just ok.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    131
    52
    23
    14
See reviews for
98
147
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Howell, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Bayshore resort . Great location. It is very clean and the staff is friendly. We stayed in the winter time and we went skiing. We will definitely plan another trip in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ang453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us this winter. It really has been the perfect winter for lots of skiing so I am glad that you were able to enjoy both our hotel and skiing in the area. Please visit us in the summer as well to experience the beach and sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Traverse City many times, but this was the first time staying at the Bayshore. My initial reaction was that it was not nearly as nice as I had expected or hoped. This is definitely a three star hotel, no more, no less. We did get an unbelievably low rate in February, so no complaints there. The room was large (I think we had a handicapped room), but the appointments were very dated and worn. The bathroom towels may have been the thinest, hardest, scratchiest towels I've ever had the displeasure of using in a hotel. Same for the sheets, bed, and pillows. If the Bayshore updated these items, might be a four star place. Pool is nice, but generally going to be packed with screaming kids on the weekends. We were there in February, so couldn't enjoy the beach, but it seems like it would be very nice. The Bayshore is also close to downtown, so you could walk it in nice weather. Not in February though. Staff was mostly friendly, except for the young lady who checked us in. She had a bit of an attitude and actually made us feel a little bad for getting such a good rate. I used the exercise room, and it was pretty nice. On Thursday night, it was quiet in the evening and night. On Friday, it was packed with kids running up and down the halls, slamming room doors, and jumping on the beds. Hockey tournament I think. The breakfast is pretty typical. Not good by any stretch of the imagination, but good sustenance for kids and families. They had a machine that made pancakes, so I had to give that a try. Cool machine, but the pancakes were thin and a little chewy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard City, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We come each year for Christmas with the family. The hotel is clean and the staff help out anyway they can. Breakfast was great and a large variety to choose from. Only issue is the pool and the amount of chlorine used. My kids break out anytime they swim there. Otherwise location, service and room comfort are great and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BakerBill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was pleasant. We were there for a hockey tournament and had a good rate under $100. However, I heard that the hotel is around $200 in the peak season and would never pay that much. The pool is large and well maintained. Again, staff was great and free breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLSHSlpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

First glance of hotel the design seemed out-of-date, but the inside was very clean and they make constant improvements. We did not swim, but pool very large and inviting. They have put in all new showers with great water pressure which we loved. Also enjoyed having a sink outside the bathroom. This is a great time saver with ladies.
Staff very friendly--always greeted you coming in or out. Fireplace in lobby cozy.
Breakfast had lots of choices and they use full size coffee cups (nice micro cups like some places).
Had great off season rates. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Because we were traveling off season, chose not to get a room with a view. Did not regret that as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. I have to say that in autumn you cannot live this lake area as if it was full summer. But tree colours are amazing, so we drove from town to town, stopping one night in every place, just to relax and sleep. This hotel is perfect for this purpose. Clean, confortable, with kind staff... just relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.2 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#14 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.9 mi away
Parkshore Resort
Parkshore Resort
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Property: Bayshore Resort
Address: 833 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2703
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing