We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great, friendly and helpful place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayshore Resort
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Howard City, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, friendly and helpful place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We come each year for Christmas with the family. The hotel is clean and the staff help out anyway they can. Breakfast was great and a large variety to choose from. Only issue is the pool and the amount of chlorine used. My kids break out anytime they swim there. Otherwise location, service and room comfort are great and will be back again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BakerBill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    102
    50
    21
    14
See reviews for
81
113
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was pleasant. We were there for a hockey tournament and had a good rate under $100. However, I heard that the hotel is around $200 in the peak season and would never pay that much. The pool is large and well maintained. Again, staff was great and free breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLSHSlpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

First glance of hotel the design seemed out-of-date, but the inside was very clean and they make constant improvements. We did not swim, but pool very large and inviting. They have put in all new showers with great water pressure which we loved. Also enjoyed having a sink outside the bathroom. This is a great time saver with ladies.
Staff very friendly--always greeted you coming in or out. Fireplace in lobby cozy.
Breakfast had lots of choices and they use full size coffee cups (nice micro cups like some places).
Had great off season rates. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Because we were traveling off season, chose not to get a room with a view. Did not regret that as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. I have to say that in autumn you cannot live this lake area as if it was full summer. But tree colours are amazing, so we drove from town to town, stopping one night in every place, just to relax and sleep. This hotel is perfect for this purpose. Clean, confortable, with kind staff... just relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
357 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bayshore Resort one evening in early October and then again one evening three weeks later. On both occasions we were in the same ground level non-lake-view room and were very pleased with both stays. I am somewhat surprised by a few of the negative reviews, but must point out that our stay was in October, not during the summer months and that our stay was simply to be close to Traverse City Cherry Capital Airport for a flight to Great Britain and back. Obviously we did not require a lake-view room, and the room rate was quite reasonable, both because of the time of the year and the non-view location of the room. Staff was cordial, although my one disappointment was that I was clearly told over the phone that a complimentary airport shuttle started at 7:00 a.m. (our departure flight was at 8:00), but when we checked in two weeks later were told that the shuttle started at 8:00 a.m. The airport shuttle picked us up at the airport at 10:45 p.m.on our return flight, and the van driver was polite, helpful, and drove safely. We found the breakfast room attractive, with a large selection of both hot and cold items. Our room was spacious and bedding was comfortable.

As for the "Victorian" decor of the hotel, I note with amusement some negative comments by other TripAdvisor reviewers. My guess is that the view of this Victorian decor is a generational one. My wife and I are an older couple, and we found the decor quite charming. Also the landscaping of the grounds is as nice or nicer than other bayfront hotels. As others have noted, the Bayshore Resort is significantly closer to downtown Traverse City than most of its competitors.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I just visited this hotel for the first time. The location is wonderful with bay views and within walking distance to downtown. The room, however, had no comfortable chair for sitting. The standard room also has no refrigerator or microwave. This is a good spot for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogbon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
182 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The property itself is just north of the downtown strip right on Grand Traverse Bay. Very nice location. The property itself is nice overall. Some upgrades are being done. My room itself was somewhat dated but nice and clean. I wish that I would have had a water front room versus a room that you had to hang your head out the window to see the bay. Family friendly resort. Nice pool and beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.7 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Property: Bayshore Resort
Address: 833 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2703
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing