We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Facitility - Service Needs Work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayshore Resort
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Michgian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Facitility - Service Needs Work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Melissa (Sales) - John (Maintenance) Awesome people to work with, they are accommodating and helpful. Front Desk Manager needs to find a new job, rude, not accommodating in any way, anything asked of her was "No" She does not favor sporting groups. Facility is clean, the views are incredible. The breakfast needs some upgrades and was very average. Pool closes to early for sporting groups. Rooms need refrigerators & microwaves.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiceygingergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    102
    50
    21
    14
See reviews for
81
113
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, but the front desk day manager ruins anything good I could say about this hotel. She refused to accommodate any request and was rude to everyone who spoke to her. We had a block of over 20 rooms and she had an encounter with all of us at different times. She refused to give us 8 plastic spoons to use to feed our children. She was nice enough to charge us $2 to buy some. The customer service here is nonexistent. There are plenty of hotels in the area, so do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Apcheers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We made a last minute reservation from an email sent to me by Bayshore with a special offer for the weekend. The resort has a nice pool and hot tub, the room have recently been redecorated, new carpet, new tv's. The whole resort was very clean. Breakfast was nice, along with the traditional offers of cereal, coffee, rolls, fruit, yogurt, they also had made to order sausage, waffles, egg and cheese. Our favorite was the Macadamia Nut coffee. I would have given the resort an excellent rating, but we felt the mattress could have been more comfortable, a little too firm. The lower lever has a walkout to the beach which would be nice in the summer. Staff was friendly and helpful for reccomending restaurants in the area. Check out the framed National Cherry Festival posters from past years hanging downstairs.

Room Tip: We booked a standard queen room, we did not have a view of the beach. There was no coffeemaker, fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fivestar98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel and the staff were outstanding! Desk staff was great. Needed a new light bulb and it was changed within five minutes. Room was large and pristine. Lots of common area, very spacious and well-lit. 24-hour coffee. Breakfast some of best we've had. Great HBO and other channels. Well-maintained large exercise room and pool area. Great place and great value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Unbelievably rude staff, from the front desk to breakfast room. Hate hockey families? Well the five teams that just stayed at your hotel just dropped $5,000 at least. Show a little respect for that fact.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great place to stay especially the jacuzzi suites! On Traverse Bay, close to downtown.
Awesome indoor pool and spa. Quiet and clean.
Nice spread for breakfast. I would stay here again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for few nights when we attended the Macaroni and Cheese Bake Off put on by the Old Mission Peninsula wineries. We had three rooms and stayed two nights. Each of the rooms were on a different floor. The rooms were all nicely decorated - this hotel has an "old fashioned" flavor. The room on the1st floor had an issue with the heat. When we mentioned it to the front desk they sent a maintenance person immediately. It was fixed with in 30 minutes! The second floor room had a balcony with a light. Unfortunately, the light was on all night and my son overslept because he had to draw the black out drapes to block out the balcony light. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious and clean. We found the beds a little hard. The pool looked great - unfortunately we forgot to bring our suits. The hotel was hosting many families of young hockey players there for a tournament but the rooms were very quiet.
The breakfast was okay. The usual fare - waffles, sausage, breads, yogurt, cereal, sweets. I would have liked to have hard boiled eggs available as an alternative to the usual powdered scrambled ones. The fruit was fresh and plentiful and the coffee was good. I felt the prices were a little high - given the time of year - and the hotel did not seem full. However, we did enjoy our stay and would go back again and would recommend this property.

Room Tip: We had "no view" rooms and they were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.7 mi away
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Property: Bayshore Resort
Address: 833 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2703
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing