We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunset/Great Service”
Review of Bayshore Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayshore Resort
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed her for four nights /five days August 20-25 for my 50th birthday. The rooms were extremely clean and the check process was quick and friendly. We had a room with a balcony that looked out at the bay and the view was fabulous and private. We wanted a full lake view so we opted for the two queen beds as opposed to the king suite with limited view. Those rooms are on the ends and side of the building and do not have a full view. When we arrived there were dead bugs on the balcony, what is expected on the water. We called for housekeeping to sweep and within 10 minutes it was taken care of. The decor was Victorian, so if you aren't into traditional decor and that drives your hotel choice, then this isn't the place for you. Everything was pretty new: carpet, walls, bathroom, etc. I don't understand the comments from some saying that this hotel is dirty and outdated. You can get housekeeping services daily or just change towels as needed. The staff is friendly and not intrusive. The beach is wonderful and there is a long walking area with sand that the other bay may not have. This hotel is fairly close to downtown. We walked into town and biked and it was great. The location is great for sightseeing and walking. Everyone was so friendly and the breakfast was wonderful! I don't understand the complaints in previous reviews about the breakfast. The fruit, eggs, sausage, coffee were all fresh. Many cereals to choose from, as well as bread products. Coffee is available 24 hours in the lobby. Real creme too! No powder. We did take our 4 cup coffee pot for our room, and put on the large vanity in the bath. There is also a sink vanity outside the bath which was great with two of us getting ready. My only complaint is the size of the breakfast room, which seems to be a common theme. The one morning we went down later than usual, there was nowhere to sit. We found a spot with another couple and enjoyed a nice breakfast conversation. The women who was in charge of the breakfast was great; filling empty pans quickly. There is no restaurant, which we knew when we booked and it was not a problem for us. So much better than the Holiday Inn. The room view was fantastic. Refrigerators are available for rent, but we just did the ice chest thing and it was fine. If you don't have kids and don't want the morning noise, stay on a floor other than the first. The families tended to stay there. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: If you don't have a family, pick a room up on floors 2-4. Also, the full lake view rooms, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tuxey-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic time here.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our housekeeping department. We think that they do a great job of keeping the entire property clean at all times. They are very responsive when it comes to helping guests with items such as yours, clearing those pesky beach gnats off of your balcony! Our breakfast room staff is also constantly working hard to keep everything stocked throughout the morning breakfast rush.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 611 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

The hotel reminded me of the movie 'Somewhere in Time'. Sooo dated an in need of an overhaul. No coffee maker in the room. The breakfast was like a cattle call. Poor quality, styrofoam everything. And the icing on the cake: rude front desk staff. I requested an itemized statemeent and was told "That's not how we do things here." Definetly not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magical430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

our room was called a partial view and it was partial if you went out on the balcony and hung over the side to see it dont spend your money on a partial view.. if you wanted a fridge in your rom you had to pay extra. ridiculous the breakfast was horrible. would not go back again

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayw1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Ask for the beachfront walkout rooms especially if you have kids, it's worth it! Yes, decor is a bit stuffy and dated but it's not terrible and it IS Up North ;) (*Bayshore mgt--think about tile in the rooms to keep them cleaner and also a boardwalk along the fronts of the rooms would cut down on sand in the rooms...) Water was crystal clear, calm and shallow. LOVELY place.

Only disappointment was the breakfast room...it's free, and I know why. The room was charmless and always overcrowded and you waited 10 mins. in a line to get the food. The fruit offering was decent but there's paper plates and stryofoam to dine on and the warm food was just okay (except the eggs, which were literally inedible...tiny curds that tasted gritty and not egg-like in the least--ew!) Go out to breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for the beach walkouts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bunchkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We've stayed here for two years in a row and really enjoy this hotel. The location is walkable to downtown Traverse City, although it's not a short walk. We have had a bay view room on both visits and love it. The beach is small but nice and the hotel provides towels, which is a nice benefit. There is also an indoor swimming pool, which the kids have enjoyed. The hotel serves a free breakfast every morning. The food is average, but the dining room is ridiculously small - we usually end up bringing our food out to one of the tables by the beach.

Room Tip: We prefer the bay view rooms on one of the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding in late June, and we were impressed with the service, the location, and the quality of the hotel.
The Bayshore is right on Lake Michigan, with a view of both the Mission and Leelanau peninsulas. There's a beach accessible from the bottom floor of the hotel, with jet ski and boat rentals available. The free breakfast is great - if it's nice out, make sure you take your plate outside and sit on the beach.
Our room had a partial view, which means if you went out on the balcony you could see a little bit of the lake. Still, no problems with the room. It was clean, spacious, and the wireless worked just fine. The parking lot in front was never full. Just be aware that the traffic on Rte 31 is quite busy - we heard a rear-end collision one morning while we were packing our car.
Downtown is maybe 10 minutes away, although depending on the weather you may want to drive.

Room Tip: The lake views are more expensive, of course. We had a partial view, and other rooms overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XCaliphornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We are glad that you were able to stay with us while attending a wedding in the area.

Thank you for the kind words about the spacious and clean rooms.
We have recently upgraded our wireless internet system and now have stronger signals throughout the property. We are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of this and stay connected all weekend without any issues.

We hope that if you are ever visiting again you will choose to stay with us at Bayshore Resort.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was thrilled with this place! Not sure where all the negative reviews came from. The decor was not "shabby" at all, but in excellent condition and very clean. I was expecting worn carpet, etc. from reviews I read. The decor represents a "port" atmosphere with cherry wood, etc. Only negative I saw was wall paper in bathroom. IIt was a relief to be in a "rich" enviornent rather than a super contemporary place. The beach and view from the room was outstanding!! The breakfast was excellent. There were at least 7 kinds of fresh fruit and other excellent choices. Pool area was beautiful! Only negative, A refrigerator in the room would have been nice. It is a bit pricey, but we felt it was worth the cost. We definitely would go back next time.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the full lake view, and felt it was well worth the money. Sun is never in your fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middleton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor!

We are glad that you had such a nice time here. You are correct when saying our carpeting is brand new, mattresses are new, etc. It is unfortunate that some people see the Victorian decor as "shabby" when in reality it is just a different style than the more common Contemporary style, like you stated in your review. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness and upkeep of our decor, carpeting, etc., and it is so nice when people take the time to notice!

We are glad you were also able to experience our nice breakfast and pool area.
We hope that you do come back again next year, or even sooner!

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.3 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,438 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Address: 833 E Front St, Traverse City, MI 49686-2703
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#14 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $88 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayshore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing