We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who woulda thunk?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I want to start these comments with an observation about checkout here. When given my final billing, a card inviting guests to comment about their stay on facebook and TripAdvisor was stapled to the invoice. That gave me the impression the hotel is confident that the accomodations and service they provide guests is top notch.

Our two night stay here falls solidly in the "like very much" category.

We were upgraded to the Sportsmans Suite, 119, without my request. Thoughtful of them to do this. The room was clean. Impeccably so. And spacious. Using the in suite Jacuzzi was fun.

A note about the soundproffing of the rooms: the morning of our departure, a tour bus idled for about 20 minutes not 30 feet outside our room window. We could not hear the drone of the engine!

Very nice public lobby area with breakfast nook. The complimentary breakfast offerings were the most extensive of any hotel we have yet experienced. Guests also have use of a free desktop computer located in the sitting area of the lobby.

This was a great stay, and will be our first choice accomodation when we revisit Traverse City.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimmyk64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

We are very proud of our hotel and are glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your very nice comments and I look forward to welcoming you to Traverse CIty on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 488 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

This is a great place to stay if you not looking to spend a whole lot of money. The rooms are clean, the staff is very friendly, and the pool and hottub are in great condition. The beds should be replaced as they are not comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HenryBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The hotel was good, but the location was terrible. Hwy 31 had a 45 mph speed limit but everybody was going at least 60. This made it impossible to turn left out of the property. You even risked your life by turning right and going down a block to turn around. The police seem to be non-existant for any kind of traffic enforcement. There were regular drag races going on up and down this street at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awiley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

This place knows hospitality. Great service and great rooms. Staff is professional and knows what they are doing

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelingfunguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

This was the perfect place for a weekend getaway: It was clean, quiet,
in our price range, and had a wonderful breakfast. We agree with
everything in cshbell's review.

We were able to get a jacuzzi suite for under $75 --- which is a
great deal even in the off-season. The room was clean, comfortable,
and plenty big enough. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was
wonderful: They had real biscuits and real gravy (not the gross watery
stuff that some hotels serve). The WiFi worked well. We will
definitely look here first the next time we want to get away for the
weekend.

We note only two areas of improvement: Even though it was "in-room"
(as opposed to "in-bath"), the jacuzzi was not really big enough for
two people. Also, the TV did not have the correct inputs for our
portable DVD player. Neither of these are serious concerns. I don't
know why anybody would pay $150+ to stay at the resort or casino when
there is a place like this in town also.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvlaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stay at the AmericInn in Traverse City during a 2-day trip through Traverse City and the Leelenau Peninsula. We chose this location almost entirely for price -- we stayed during the week (Wednesday and Thursday) in June for $75/night for a King room with in-room spa, which is fairly inexpensive by TC standards.

The room seemed very clean (one questionable spot on the carpet) and the bed, shower, and bathroom were extremely clean. The housekeepers wrote a short greeting note each day to let you know they'd serviced the room. The bed is relatively comfortable; a pretty standard hotel/motel king bed. The in-room hot tub was very comfortable and worked well.

The hotel offers a free continental breakfast, which included waffles, cold cereal, biscuits, fruit, coffee, juice, hard-boiled eggs, toast, etc. The hours for breakfast were very reasonable (6:00a to 10:00a). The staff at the hotel were very friendly as well.

The location was great, in our opinion. The AmericInn is right next to a minigolf amusement park (Pirate's Cove) and a Dairy Queen, which meant that there were some fun things to do in walking distance.

Lastly, the hotel offers free high-speed WiFi, and unlike many hotel free WiFi offerings, this one is *actually* high speed.

We were pleased with our stay and would recommend this property to others.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cshbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We've been to this particular hotel on Numerous occasions(9-10 times) and never had a bad experience. The employees are very friendly and helpful, the prices are very good for TC during the tourist season. The rooms are always clean and don't stink of smoke. The beds are comfy.... I sleep in when I'm here!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boathead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City

Address: 1614 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3742 (Formerly AmericInn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $55 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, MI. We know there's no place like home, but with our updated furnishings, room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on GrandStay to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style Grand Start breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Traverse City
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing