We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AmericInn Traverse City
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a nice clean hotel. The beds and pillows were good. Access to the beach was close and being next door to the Pirate's Cove was great for the teenagers in our party. We needed two rooms with a special request and the staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter4cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the AmericInn. I'm glad that we were able to accommodate your special request and make your stay enjoyable. I will agree it is wonderful to have Pirates Cove next door as it is a fun place for the kids (and adults) to have some recreation fun while in town. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I hope that we will be able to exceed your expectations again in the very near future. Until then....Happy Traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    141
    47
    12
    13
See reviews for
146
206
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

If you do decide to stay make sure you request not to stay with the view of the garbage neighbors. No sheers on curtains so you have to look directly at it or close the heavy curtains and feel like you are in a tomb. The hotel rooms are nicely updated but the common areas especially the pool are tired. For the money I think you can do better.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Patty, I’m very sorry for your concern regarding our neighbors. Please know that we share your concern and as I spoke to you about – we are working on resolving the neighbors trash issues however it is a process as its not our property. In fact, yesterday the township officials came to the hotel to look at their property in regards to our complaints. We have worked hard to get this resolved and we took your concerns seriously. Trust me, this is not something we have taken lightly as we take pride in our property and it is frustrating having to deal with their mess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is clean, clean, clean which is always important to my wife. If you are looking for a tremendous view or a beach front location go somewhere else and pay a LOT more. However, if you just want a nice room to sleep in while you explore the area, this is the place.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will stay again if we get back up to this area. I'm already looking at the Americinn in Oscoda, Mi based on our pleasant stay at this Americinn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed the stay and looking at other hotels in the chain based on your experience here. I’m so happy that you were able to be introduced to our brand. I hope that we are able to welcome you time and time again on your visits not only in Traverse City but around the country! Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just enjoy your stay! You are in good hands!
The atmosphere is very welcoming and so are the people who greet you. They genuinely care about you and your stay with them. A very nice breakfast in the morning with wonderful coffee!! The experience here adds happiness to your trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Del U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your comment “you are in good hands” That truly means so much to our staff knowing that you would give that recommendation. We feel very fortunate to be a part of our guests vacation memories and are so happy that we were able to give you that level of service. We do truly care about each of our guests and we strive to make each stay wonderful! Thank you again for your comments and I appreciate the time you took to let everyone know about your experience at the AmericInn Traverse City. Hope to see you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and up to date. The beds were very comfortable and there was no hallway noise to keep the little ones awake. We loved the breakfast (our kids especially)! We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I’m so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful. The hotel was renovated a year ago and we have received so many comments as to how people are enjoying it. Thank you for noticing and telling everyone about the hotel! I can’t wait to be able to welcome you back to create more memories at the AmericInn and in Traverse City. Thank you again for your comments of the AmericInn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was just OK. It was clean. The staff was friendly. We booked a suite as our adult son was with us. The pull out couch was horrible. It was lumpy and he could feel every spring in the mattress. The air conditioner didn't work in his area. In fact, the thermostat on the wall was broken. Our bed was good. We slept comfortably.

Room Tip: Don't make anyone sleep on the pull out sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasCruiseDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I am very sorry that you didn’t have an experience like others. I will agree that sleeper sofa’s are not the ideal bedding (compared to a bed). During our renovation last year, we spent much time trying to find a sleeper sofa with the best mattress and while we have upgraded ones, they are not like a bed and its true an adult will not be as comfortable as they would on a normal bed. I am truly sorry. As for the thermostat – all our heating and cooling is controlled via the unit and not a wall thermostat. Our staff is here 24 hours a day and we would have been happy to assist you in working the air conditioner if necessary. I wish we would have been able to help as I feel bad that your stay was not what you expected. I hope that the next time you are in the area you will come back to the AmericInn and we can show you our hospitality! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

every thing was perfect , clean, neat, organized. I would like to go again.
It is far from the noise at the same time it is close to beaches and few minutes from downtown.it is very close to park that have zip line, robs, mini golf, raising cars and more

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and even more so that you would like to come again to the AmericInn. I’m so happy we were able to exceed your expectations and have you wanting to return! I hope to be able to welcome you back very soon to the AmericInn! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Property: AmericInn Traverse City
Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Traverse City, Michigan. We know there's no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings (renovated spring of 2013), room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The AmericInn Traverse City hotel is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. Welcome to the End of the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing