We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't see what everyone else saw in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't see what everyone else saw in this hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was just OK. It was clean. The staff was friendly. We booked a suite as our adult son was with us. The pull out couch was horrible. It was lumpy and he could feel every spring in the mattress. The air conditioner didn't work in his area. In fact, the thermostat on the wall was broken. Our bed was good. We slept comfortably.

Room Tip: Don't make anyone sleep on the pull out sofa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasCruiseDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. I am very sorry that you didn’t have an experience like others. I will agree that sleeper sofa’s are not the ideal bedding (compared to a bed). During our renovation last year, we spent much time trying to find a sleeper sofa with the best mattress and while we have upgraded ones, they are not like a bed and its true an adult will not be as comfortable as they would on a normal bed. I am truly sorry. As for the thermostat – all our heating and cooling is controlled via the unit and not a wall thermostat. Our staff is here 24 hours a day and we would have been happy to assist you in working the air conditioner if necessary. I wish we would have been able to help as I feel bad that your stay was not what you expected. I hope that the next time you are in the area you will come back to the AmericInn and we can show you our hospitality! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    147
    48
    12
    13
See reviews for
153
210
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2014

every thing was perfect , clean, neat, organized. I would like to go again.
It is far from the noise at the same time it is close to beaches and few minutes from downtown.it is very close to park that have zip line, robs, mini golf, raising cars and more

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and even more so that you would like to come again to the AmericInn. I’m so happy we were able to exceed your expectations and have you wanting to return! I hope to be able to welcome you back very soon to the AmericInn! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. It is clean and comfortable. Their selection for breakfast was nice too - not just bagels. The hotel is in a good location, making it is easy to get to around Traverse City. I did NOT experience any issues during my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for the kind words about your stay at the AmericInn. I’m glad that you found the hotel so enjoyable and that you were happy with the AmericInn Perk Breakfast. We are so happy that you were able to enjoy it and hope that we can welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean room! Great location, close to activities. Next door to Pirates cove if you are staying with children. Very pleased. Great breakfast including waffles, freshly made! We were pleasantly pleased with our location. The staff was knowledgable, welcoming and friendly. Beds were very comfortable, plenty of linens offered in the bathroom.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lunchlandqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. I am so happy that we were able to “surprise” you with our service and accommodations. Sounds like a great vacation and you were able to enjoy Pirates Cove Adventure Park too! Thank you for your kind words and I hope that you will be able to make it back to Traverse City very soon and hope that we will be able to exceed your expectations again and again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We recently stayed two nights at this property on a vacation trip. We were super satisfied with the room and the service at this hotel. From the friendly and helpful reception staff to the super clean and comfortable room, we were more than pleased. We were provided plentiful towels, a delicious breakfast, and you cannot beat the warm chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon! If you are traveling with children, there is a water/amusement park next door and

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank 124JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I am so happy that you chose the AmericInn for your recent trip to Traverse City and am glad that you were happy with the service and the room. We truly enjoy helping out guests with their vacation memories and I’m so happy that you were able to experience this with our staff. I’m glad you were able to enjoy our accommodations and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I hope to see you back very soon and can welcome you back to the AmericInn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

checked three other comparable hotels in immediate vicinity and Americinn was the best value. The building, parking, front desk, rooms, breakfast area, pool/spa all clean and staff friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the Cherry Festival and your accommodations at the hotel. We know you have a lot of choices in regards to your accommodations while in Traverse City and i'm so happy that you chose AmericInn! I hope to be able to welcome you back very soon on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Friendly staff, great service, great rooms. Had a wonderful feeling of being like home. Enough diversity in their breakfast menu for more than several days. Great location! Close to airport, dining venues, and festival activities. I will definitely look into staying at other Americinn accommodations at cities where I need a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the AmericInn. I am so happy that you enjoyed our hospitality while staying at our hotel. Even more so that you will look for AmericInn’s when you travel more in the future! What a nice compliment! Thank you! I hope that we will be able to greet you again on your next visit to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,066 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City

Property: GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Address: 1614 N US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly AmericInn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, MI. We know there's no place like home, but with our updated furnishings, room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on GrandStay to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style Grand Start breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Traverse City
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing