We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Traverse City
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Orland Park, IL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this property because of the TripAdvisor reviews and found this location to be just as good if not better than the other guests had related their visit to be. The entire staff is excellent and knowledgeable about the area, they are always helpful and friendly and trying to do anything they can for their guests. They made us feel like members of their family staying there. The breakfast is great to enjoy in the morning and there is always coffee and tea available in the lobby. The rooms are spotless and quiet. The TART bike trail is located just a few yards behind the parking lot to take you to the downtown area, Grand Traverse Bay and the Leelanau bike trail but bicycles are not allowed in the rooms but there is a bike rack available to lock the bikes outdoors. The State beach is also close by and the scenery is terrific. Some suites have fireplaces, but they are electric. The prices were very reasonable for the area in the fall during the week. Fast and strong wifi sevice. I would definitely return here next year for another enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILBoomerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am so happy that you chose us for our reviews. We are very fortunate to have such great reviews. Our staff works hard with each and every guest to make their stay memorable and enjoyable. Our amenities set us apart and location is wonderful! We know there are a lot of choices in accommodations while in Traverse City and we are proud that you have chosen us! Thank you and I look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    130
    44
    12
    13
See reviews for
141
192
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
marbear989
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had the 2 room suite. You walk into a room with desk, couch and tv. Next is the bathroom area - very nice size. The bedroom had a king size bed and tv. Everything was very clean. Bed & pillows very comfy. Breakfast was included. All this for $99 = bargain!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marbear989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and your review of the AmericInn! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities a bargain. We are proud of the hotel and especially since the renovation this past spring, the hotel is even better! Thank you so much again and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

As usual, Nick and his staff provided excellent service. Everything was as it always is, clean and inviting, except better due to recent upgrades. I look forward to returning every year and would return more often if I could. It is so nice to see many of the same staff during every visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the AmericInn Traverse City and taking the time to review out hotel. Also, thank you for returning year after year! We appreciate you choosing the AmericInn for your lodging needs when here. We look forward to seeing you and your group next fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We very much enjoyed our one night stay at Americinn. The staff was friendly, the rooms and public areas were very clean and the breakfast was good. We loved the area and do want to return in the future. This was our first trip here and, sadly, we only stayed one night. Will return again and most likely will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Shelley, thank you for your kind words about the AmericInn! I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel (and to our town). The staff takes pride of the hotel and it shows with the kind words you have said about the hotel. Next time you will have to spend a few days and really experience everything that our area has to offer! Thank you again for taking the time to tell everyone about the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the AmericInn Traverse City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We often stay at AmericInn. Have never had a bad experience. The price is right, the staff is courteous, the rooms and common areas are clean and well maintained. The beds are comfortable, and there are plenty of pillows. Whenever we travel, we look first to see if there is an AmericInn in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Peter, thank you so much for your kind words about the AmericInn and our comfortable atmosphere. We are proud of our hotel and the level of service and amenities we provide. After our recent remodel, the refreshed hotel is even better then before! Its great to hear you look for AmericInn’s when you travel and we are happy to welcome you to the end of the day on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a refurbished motel. Rooms were clean, up to date furnishings. Bathrooms were very nice. A work desk was in the room which is an upgrade from other AmericInn's we have stayed at. Only complaint is a couple of workers were smoking outside right next to the main entrance and in front of a no smoking sign. Somewhat annoying to pass by. Breakast is nothing special and area is small, therefore it was very crowded the morning we were there. Coffee quality could be improved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Richard, thank you for your comments about the AmericInn. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. I’m also sorry about the smoking. During your stay we did have a group staying that we had to ask multiple occasions to move away from the front door non-smoking signs. I am sorry this was a problem but know that our staff went out on multiple occasions to ask them to move away from the door. I hope that on your next visit, you will be able to continue to enjoy the upgraded rooms and amenities of our renovation this past spring. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Everything was well worth the price paid including the room and pool. Staff was very welcoming and gave great suggestions. The lady in charge of the breakfast area was wonderful.The only thing missing was a beach lol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank cruzqueen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review regarding the AmericInn Traverse City. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to give you some great suggestions on things to do while in Traverse City. I look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Traverse City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Property: AmericInn Traverse City
Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Traverse City, Michigan. We know there's no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings (renovated spring of 2013), room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The AmericInn Traverse City hotel is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. Welcome to the End of the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing