We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“11th consecutive year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AmericInn Traverse City
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“11th consecutive year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

As usual, Nick and his staff provided excellent service. Everything was as it always is, clean and inviting, except better due to recent upgrades. I look forward to returning every year and would return more often if I could. It is so nice to see many of the same staff during every visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the AmericInn Traverse City and taking the time to review out hotel. Also, thank you for returning year after year! We appreciate you choosing the AmericInn for your lodging needs when here. We look forward to seeing you and your group next fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    142
    48
    12
    13
See reviews for
148
209
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marion
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We very much enjoyed our one night stay at Americinn. The staff was friendly, the rooms and public areas were very clean and the breakfast was good. We loved the area and do want to return in the future. This was our first trip here and, sadly, we only stayed one night. Will return again and most likely will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Shelley, thank you for your kind words about the AmericInn! I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel (and to our town). The staff takes pride of the hotel and it shows with the kind words you have said about the hotel. Next time you will have to spend a few days and really experience everything that our area has to offer! Thank you again for taking the time to tell everyone about the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the AmericInn Traverse City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We often stay at AmericInn. Have never had a bad experience. The price is right, the staff is courteous, the rooms and common areas are clean and well maintained. The beds are comfortable, and there are plenty of pillows. Whenever we travel, we look first to see if there is an AmericInn in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Peter, thank you so much for your kind words about the AmericInn and our comfortable atmosphere. We are proud of our hotel and the level of service and amenities we provide. After our recent remodel, the refreshed hotel is even better then before! Its great to hear you look for AmericInn’s when you travel and we are happy to welcome you to the end of the day on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a refurbished motel. Rooms were clean, up to date furnishings. Bathrooms were very nice. A work desk was in the room which is an upgrade from other AmericInn's we have stayed at. Only complaint is a couple of workers were smoking outside right next to the main entrance and in front of a no smoking sign. Somewhat annoying to pass by. Breakast is nothing special and area is small, therefore it was very crowded the morning we were there. Coffee quality could be improved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Richard, thank you for your comments about the AmericInn. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. I’m also sorry about the smoking. During your stay we did have a group staying that we had to ask multiple occasions to move away from the front door non-smoking signs. I am sorry this was a problem but know that our staff went out on multiple occasions to ask them to move away from the door. I hope that on your next visit, you will be able to continue to enjoy the upgraded rooms and amenities of our renovation this past spring. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Everything was well worth the price paid including the room and pool. Staff was very welcoming and gave great suggestions. The lady in charge of the breakfast area was wonderful.The only thing missing was a beach lol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
Thank cruzqueen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review regarding the AmericInn Traverse City. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to give you some great suggestions on things to do while in Traverse City. I look forward to seeing you on your return visit to Traverse City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

When you ask for a non-smoking room because of medical reasons,be sure it had not previously been a smoking room as there was a lingering odor in the room. Always been very happy with our stay there before with no issues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Sharon I am very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations during this stay with us. I'm glad you have not had issues before but I’m sorry about this. As you know, the AmericInn is a smoke free hotel however on occasion we do have people who smoke and the staff does everything they can to correct this before the next guest and it looks like we dropped the ball and I apologize. We work hard to ensure that your stay is a positive one and I hope that on your return visit you will see we strive for clean, comfortable rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Before booking our hotel at Traverse City we checked the reviews on trip advisor. For the price range we wanted, the AmericInn had excellent reviews. It met the expectations! We booked a king suite that had a pullout sofa bed. The room was very clean. The hotel has been recently renovated so everything was in good shape. I liked that the sink and vanity was separate from the shower/toilet, this made it easier for getting ready to go out etc. We had the Bay Suite, room 200, which was right at the top of the stairs and it was very quiet. I slept on the sofabed, it was your typical sofabed mattress, even so, I slept pretty good. My sister said the king bed was very comfortable. If you have a suite, the three available rooms are at the top of the stairs with the hallway overlooking the lobby. I could hear the waffle maker dinging from where I slept on the sofabed. It wasn't too bad for me but if you need silence, I would avoid sleeping on the sofabed. The bedroom can be closed off from the livingroom, so that would block any of that noise. The pool area was very nice and the hot tub was nice as well. The hotel is very well kept and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was an above average continental breakfast, bagels, toast, muffins, danish, donuts, boiled eggs, oatmeal, waffles, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, juice, milk, with 24 hour coffee and tea available. They had a great assortment of teas to choose from that you don't usually see (I'm a tea drinker, not coffee). It is right across the street from the lake but you will take your life in your hands trying to cross in the daytime, It was a lot quieter at night and there was no traffic noise for sleeping. There is a crosswalk down both ways but it's a bit of a walk. If you are in good shape you could run across as there were breaks between but we had my 80 year old mom with us and we really had a hard time getting across, they are going pretty fast, I'm not sure of the speed limit there. It was next door to the Pirate Cove Adventure. It was closed when we were there. The sign said it was open on the weekend. Looked really fun for about 8 years old and up. The hotel is right next to that so if you were wanting to do this, it would be very handy.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 and 102 are near the elevator and ice machine, could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Anne, thank you so much for posting a review about the AmericInn. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to relax in one of our suites. Our coffee and tea bar is a very popular amenity – especially with the tea as many people enjoy tea! Thank you again for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you back to the AmericInn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,820 reviews
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Property: AmericInn Traverse City
Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Traverse City, Michigan. We know there's no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings (renovated spring of 2013), room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The AmericInn Traverse City hotel is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. Welcome to the End of the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing