We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family enjoyed our stay. The rooms were quiet and clean. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed having Pirate's Cove next door and saving money by buying our putt putt golf at the front desk. The front desk staff was always friendly. The pool area was nice. We really appreciated having breakfast in the lobby, but there always seemed to be an issue with seating. It was cramped and not a lot of places to sit. By our last morning we decided to go out to breakfast because there was no where to sit. We would definitely stay at here again if we are Traverse City.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenR2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the AmericInn! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable. I understand the frustration of the smaller breakfast area and apologize for your frustration of trying to find someplace to sit. I am happy that you would come back and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Traverse City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 488 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at 3 different Americinn's on our recent trip to Michigan (Munising/Wetmore, TC and Ironwood) and were please with all of them.

This property had recently received an updating of its guest rooms/bedding. We had a double queen room and had plenty of room for all 4 of us (2 kids/2 adults). Beds were comfortable and bedding was quality. Breakfast was nice although after 3 nights/mornings the choices got a bit stale. Would be nice to see a rotating hot option instead of biscuits and gravy every AM. Pool area was nice and front desk staff was pleasant and helpful when assistance was needed.

Location was convenient for our purposes and I would certainly recommend as a good family option. Reasonable rates too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeelyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy you were able to visit Michigan and use three AmericInn properties! We are very proud of our remodel and upgrades and have heard so many positive feedbacks on them over the past couple months since we remodeled! I know one of the most important parts of a stay is service and thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our front desk staff. They are experts on the area and dedicate themselves to each of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had just spent a few days on Mackinaw Island, and wanted to visit Traverse City as we headed back south. This hotel is located on a strip with what seems like hundreds of other hotels on both sides of the road. I picked it originally due to its great pricing and I wasn't disappointed at all. The hotel is clean, quiet, the rooms were well appointed and the beds, pillows, and all were great. We enjoyed having a microwave in our room, as one night we stayed in and just popped some popcorn (available in the lobby vending machines) and watched a movie. Being next to the Pirate's Cove was nice in that one day we just walked over for some Dairy Queen, and not having to get into the car to make the drive made it taste even better!

This hotel is a few miles from downtown Traverse City, and walking is really not an option (road has really heavy traffic). Although I did see a parking garage or two in the downtown area, keep in mind that you need to be really good at parallel parking and have lots of change as that is the primary form of parking. This hotel is just a short distance from several public beaches which are large and clean with good parking. Hotels on the other side of the street with their own beach access would have been better if you were there for the beach, but we were not so it didn't really matter. Traverse City is about 30 minutes from Sleeping Bear Dunes if that is an attraction you might want to visit.

Breakfast was nice - cold cereals, instant oatmeal, danish, toast, yogurt, make your own waffles, and sausage gravy with biscuits. Coffee station is nice, they offer flavored creamers and flavor shots to make it more than just plain coffee. Seating is really limited though so keep that in mind. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worleybird98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel during your visit. Its great having DQ and Pirates cove next to us along with all the other great activities. The hotel was actually remodeled this past spring and the addition of microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms has really been enjoyed by our guests! Im so happy that you enjoyed everything about the hotel and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the area during your next stay. Hopefully you are able to stay longer and enjoy even more that Traverse City has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and loved it! The whole hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the price is much more reasonable than other hotels in the area. We came for a concert at Interlochen but also wanted to take in some of the other area attractions. This location was great because, within a short distance from the hotel, we were able to access 3 Mile Rd. to take the alternate route and avoid the heavy traffic along US-31 when we went to Interlochen but we were still within a few miles from downtown Traverse City and Old Mission Peninsula. It would be a perfect location for families because of the wonderful Pirate's Cove complex next door with putt-putt golf, bumper boats, bumper cars, a rope walk and a zip line. There are package deals available that combine the complex and hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are good. Even though we had a first floor room on the parking lot side wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words about the hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the "short cut" to Interlochen. Its so nice to have such a great arts camp so close to us here in town that brings in amazing concerts! I hope that you enjoyed yourself there. Again, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay while at the AmericInn and are so happy that you were able to explore our area. I look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon so you can do even more exploring in the Traverse City area. Please let me know if I can be of any other help when planning your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Everything about this place is great. Location, staff, room, services, breakfast, parking. Very happy with our stay there. The room was great, liked our spa and we had plenty of towels in our room to go with it. Very clean, quiet and the staff is super knowledgeable about the area. There is an amusement park nearby and it wasn't bothersome at all. We played putt putt there. Laundry facilities available that are clean and not expensive at all. Breakfast is yummy with lots to offer. We had a fridge and microwave in our room. You can walk to the beach, or drive and there was plenty of parking both places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Barbara, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your stay to be “perfect.” We know there are a lot of options for lodging in the Traverse City area and are proud that you trust us with your vacation experience when you visit our area. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found the hotel to be very clean and up to date. All the rooms have been remodeled. Hotel is in a good location to restaurants and entertainment. Located next door to a amusement park. However, the rooms were extremely quiet. Pool and hot tub area were very clean and inviting. Located within walking distance to Traverse Bay and beach across street. Found dining area for the complimentary breakfast to be a bit small and cramped, with limited seating. However, the food was good and fresh. To me, this was only draw back to hotel. Staff was friendly and very helpful. One other draw back, there is no fitness center. My wife and I joined a club down the street for $75 for a 10 visit punch card. Very nice facility.

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garbo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay. I am so happy you found your stay to be relaxing and quiet. I agree our location is perfect for many activities either within walking distance or a short drive. Glad you were able to take advantage of everything Traverse City has to offer! Thank you again for such kind words about the hotel and I look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to Traverse City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Great value for price & excellent location. Traverse City has a lot of hotels but many are in the $200/day range in the summer which is just too much. This hotel hads been recently refurbished in a simple but tasteful way.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippingu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and staying with us during your recent visit. I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay and the refreshed hotel that we have. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Traverse City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City

Address: 1614 N US Highway 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686-3742 (Formerly AmericInn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $55 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City, MI. We know there's no place like home, but with our updated furnishings, room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the GrandStay Hotel & Suites of Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on GrandStay to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style Grand Start breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Traverse City
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing