We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay,,” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Traverse City
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay,,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed last week-end for a grandma ,,grandson trip... we had a 2 room suite with fireplace and hot tub...Was very surprised and pleased ,,,the staff ,,the room, the bed and pillows,the pool all was great,,,The wireless not great but that was fine...The breakfast had lots of choices,,I am gluten free,,so few choices,,but that's not the hotels fault...would stay here again,,,,,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for such kind words about our property. We are very proud of our product and are happy you enjoyed it so much. Also, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. I wanted to also apologize for the concerns regarding the wireless internet. This past week there were some network issues and due to this, we upgraded part of the network and increased bandwidth speed to correct it. As for breakfast, we understand special dietary concerns and I promise to look at options and see if we can have more gluten free options available. Thank you for such a great suggestion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    138
    46
    12
    13
See reviews for
143
204
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for a week long visit. It would not have been my choice of places to stay for that long of a period but that is what I was left with.
The place is one of the cheaper hotels in the area, but that did not necessarily equate to poor. Everything was clean enough, the view from the room certainly left something to be desired with the window facing a large fence that seemed to be blocking a trailer park or something along those lines.

The location was not all that bad. Directly next door is the infamous Pirates Cove, arguably one of the most fascinating and fun mini golf courses in Michigan. They also have go karts and a number of other attractions to soak your money.

Possibly the best thing was there was a bus stop right outside and the bay area transit system was truly marvelous. We only had one car for our trip so while my significant other was off at a horse show all day I traveled the entire bay region via the transit system. You can make your way up the penninsula, over to the dunes, casino's, pretty much anywhere.

If you are looking for a short cheap stay, I would give it a go. But if you are like me and want something a bit more spacious, luxurious and practical for extended stays..I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I was placed in what I believe was a handicap accessible room. Not sure of other options but get the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shine1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about the AmericInn Traverse City. We are proud of our hotel and are happy you felt the hotel was clean and affordable. I understand your wants to have an extended stay hotel and unfortunately, while we are not set-up for extended stays with the amenities like kitchens, etc, we work hard to provide our guests outstanding accommodations. I am happy you were able to explore the Grand Traverse region via the public transit. In fact, that stop was new last summer during your visit and we have heard many positive comments since it was placed on the route. Next time you are in town, may I suggest one of our two room suites that would give you more room for and amenities for your stay. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to being able to again Welcome you to the end of the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here a couple weekend ago, older but a very clean, safe hotel.
Staff was excellent, very helpful.
If you’re looking for a someplace in Traverse for a couple nights…… this is the place, prices are more than reasonable.
Very convenient to shopping and restaurants in the area too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of the AmericInn Traverse City. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Our staff is committed to a great stay for everyone. We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and where pleasently suprised. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and well stocked. All of the staff that we encountered where very nice and helpful. I would recommend staying here..I dont think you can bet the price and comfort..

Room Tip: These rooms do not have a view but we had a room with a jacuzzi, mini fridge, and microwave..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad you felt it was a great stay and was affordable. We are proud of our hotel and our staff works very hard to make sure everyone has a great stay. We know you have many choices in hotels when you travel and we are so happy that you have trusted us with your vacation memories. I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our whole experience here was great. From the bedding, awesome pillows, and very clean rooms. The breakfast was deluxe, hot waffles, breads, fruits, cereal, and much more. We were so happy we rebooked and gave it to our parents for a birthday gift, for a fall tour. Staff was very helpful also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsharmony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I'm happy to hear we had the most comfortable beds and pillows! I am honored that you also felt so happy about the hotel that you gave a gift of a fall color tour to your parents for their birthday. Referrals mean a lot to us and i'm glad that we were able to welcome your parents too! I look forward to seeing you next time you visit Traverse City and hope that you again stay with us! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice motel, good location on main road and within walking distances of good places to eat. Very clean new facility, with nice rooms. Everything was ready when we arrived and were checked in by very friendly staff. Made the visit quite pleasant. Use hot tub which was good, pool was popular with families, breakfast was normal complementary foods which were well layout and tasty. We were looking for inexpensive motel and got more than we expected. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_enjoying_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride on making you feel like we are your home away from home and each and every staff member works to ensure a great experience. I am so happy you felt that you received that and more! Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to being able to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at AmericInn because it was the official hotel for the Zombie Run last weekend. I'm so glad we stayed there. It was very nice. The lobby was clean and welcoming. The room was clean and comfy. Breakfast was good too. I would stay there again on my next trip to Traverse City.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank so you much for your review of our stay at the AmericInn. We are proud to be the official lodging sponsor of the Zombie run every year which benefits the non-profit TART trail system and is a fun event for people of all skills running. I'm so happy you felt we were a "Great place to stay" and I look forward to welcoming you back next year for the run and hopefully between for getaways to Traverse City. Thank you again for a great review of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Property: AmericInn Traverse City
Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Traverse City, Michigan. We know there's no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings (renovated spring of 2013), room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The AmericInn Traverse City hotel is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. Welcome to the End of the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing