We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Value that meets all your needs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AmericInn Traverse City
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value that meets all your needs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice motel, good location on main road and within walking distances of good places to eat. Very clean new facility, with nice rooms. Everything was ready when we arrived and were checked in by very friendly staff. Made the visit quite pleasant. Use hot tub which was good, pool was popular with families, breakfast was normal complementary foods which were well layout and tasty. We were looking for inexpensive motel and got more than we expected. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_enjoying_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride on making you feel like we are your home away from home and each and every staff member works to ensure a great experience. I am so happy you felt that you received that and more! Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to being able to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    138
    46
    12
    13
See reviews for
143
205
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at AmericInn because it was the official hotel for the Zombie Run last weekend. I'm so glad we stayed there. It was very nice. The lobby was clean and welcoming. The room was clean and comfy. Breakfast was good too. I would stay there again on my next trip to Traverse City.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank so you much for your review of our stay at the AmericInn. We are proud to be the official lodging sponsor of the Zombie run every year which benefits the non-profit TART trail system and is a fun event for people of all skills running. I'm so happy you felt we were a "Great place to stay" and I look forward to welcoming you back next year for the run and hopefully between for getaways to Traverse City. Thank you again for a great review of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We come to Traverse City every couple years or so, and I usually just shop around for the best rate at the given time. Had never been to this hotel before, but had a great experience at an AmericInn in the UP a few years ago. This looked a tad shabby from the outside, but was fine on the inside. Clean renovated rooms. As someone else said, the desk staff varied. young man extremely pleasant, young lady not so much. Overall a good experience, comfortable bed and good breakfast. Fridge in the room would have been nice.

Room Tip: We used the handicap assessable king to get a king bed at a lower price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel! We take pride in providing excellent accomodations for a great price! I hope that you were able to enjoy all the wonderful things there was to do in the area and that you were able to feel refreshed every morning after staying with us. Thank you again for such a nice review. I hope to see you back on your next visit to the Traverse City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms are updated and clean with comfortable beds..The breakfast included hot waffles and biscuits and gravy in addition to the continental staples.This was our first time staying in Traverse City and there is many things to do in the area. The hotel is in a beautiful setting adjacent to a State Park and close to Lake Michigan. It is also proximate to the TART bike and hiking trail which was a real plus, as there are many nature stops in the area. Bring your bicycle.There is also an amusement complex next door featuring Mini Golf and Go Cart Track which are open in the summer. The hotel provided great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our area and our hotel so much. Thank you for visiting the AmericInn onyour first (of many I hope) visits to our area. The Traverse City area is such a great hidden treasure for everyone to visit and do things. Again, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel so much and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawcatuck
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family recently stayed here, rooms clean,but noisy. Lobby nice. Breakfast not so hot. Some of the front desk help nice, others need personality training. Apparrently, when you book with hotels.com, they do not communicate with the hotel, unfortunately, we had a very bad experience with the manager after a 17 hour drive. so over all the stay was just okay. We would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 713marcoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Tara, I am so sorry you feel the way you do about the hotel. When you made your reservation through the online travel company they only placed a reservation for one night. Unfortunately, the company didn’t pass through the special requests that you had and because of being sold out and your late arrival, we were unable to accommodate the special requests. When making reservations through an online travel agency, there is no personal contact between the company and the hotel, everything is done electronically.

I am sorry you felt that our staff was unfriendly and that you had a problem with me. Our staff attempted to make contact with you multiple times but we were unable to due to not having contact information for you locally and two hours after the scheduled check-out we had to make decisions as we were sold out and had to accommodate other guests.

I thought we had a great conversation after about your son’s schooling at the local college and if I had known you had concerns regarding noise or anything else, I would have been happy to make it right with you. Our hotel strives on providing excellent service and I was very saddened when I saw you felt differently. That is not the way we want you to feel about our hotel.

Again, I am sorry you felt the way you did about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday-Monday night. The rooms were very nice but there were no micro/fridges in the room. Front desk clerk Emily was very helpful as we had a problem in the bathroom of the first room they gave us. Pool and hot tub could have used a little cleaning as there was a scum buildup on upper tiles. The breakfast bar was outstanding and had a very good selection.

Room Tip: Do not rent the King room with shower only(very slippery floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveO73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
The Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART Trail system) is a wonderful thing that Traverse City offers and am glad that you were able to take advantage of it as it passes right past the hotel! Thank you for such a nice review. I am so happy that Emily at our Front Desk was able to assist you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

On a tight budget, yet wanting to end the summer right...we happened upon AmericInn in Traverse City. What a great place to stay. The staff...super nice and friendly...and knoweledgeable of the area. Right across the street was the State Park...beautiful. And there was a Putt-Putt and go-cart establishment right next door! What a great time. Rooms where clean and comfortable. Breakfast was terrific.

Room Tip: The first couple rooms on the first floor would not be good, high traffice area. We stayed on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so happy that you have enjoyed your stay and recommended it to others. I hope that we can welcome you back very soon to the AmericInn Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.7 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#11 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Property: AmericInn Traverse City
Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Traverse City, Michigan. We know there's no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings (renovated spring of 2013), room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The AmericInn Traverse City hotel is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. Welcome to the End of the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing