We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"By the Bay" must mean the puddle in the parking lot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really thought we were upgrading from a hotel down the street, what a disappointment ! Very overpriced. Not only is it small, it hasn't been remodeled in years. The carpet was dirty, the bathroom sink and counter were tiny with little room to put any thing. There was a pole on a slant holding up the sink. The toilet seat was falling off to one side. We were on the ground floor by the outdoor stairway that thumped long into the night with people going up and down, and talking loudly. At one point someone tried the door, scaring the bejeebers out of me. Way, way overpriced. Never again ! Suggest you go down the street for a better deal.

Room Tip: Go down the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Than you for sharing your feed back regarding your recent stay.

First, we would like to extend our sincere apology that you had an unpleasant experience with us. Rest assured that the hotel contnues to go through updatesand renovations. We just completed updating every room with 32" Flat Screen Tv's, new beds and beddings. We are onhe tail end of renovating for a brand new, bigger and better breakfast area.

We apologize that you felt the conditions of your room was not to your expectation from the toilet seat, dirty carpet and the size of the bath room. Did you inform the front desk? We would have made evey effort to move you to a more suitable room. As far as someone trying to get into your room, did you get a chance to report that incident? Unfortunately there are some guest who makes mistakes and thinks they are trying to enter their room when they realize it's not thier room. Remember there is someone at the front desk 24hrs and our guest's safety is our #1 priority aside from comform and pricing. We are in a resort town and we feel confident to state that we have very competitive rates considering location and eminities the hotel has to offer.

We hope you will allow us another chance and we hope you will be able to take advantage of our new breakfast area and future updates to follow.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 218 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Room was clean. The bathroom was way too small. When I was is the shower, if someone flushed their toilet, the water would get way too hot. Staff was very pleasant. Would stay again if we had to. Breakfast was small, but ok.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and sharing your feedback. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay but thank you for bringing to our attention what we can improve on so that your next stay will be more enjoyable.

We are excited to share that we are getting a make over on our breakfast area to provide and bigger and better breakfast experience. We hope to see you soon again to share this long awaited update.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The room was very clean and small. The bed was lumpy and only a double. That's all they had left. This location was not what I expected for a Quality Inn. A little deceiving when it's titled "By The Bay". And you can almost see it from the parking lot around the buildings across the street. The room was way over priced. Staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: these rooms are worth $50.00. But the summer demand they can charge $140-150 per night? The AC did n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLKnapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are soory to know your experience was less than what you expected. There have many confusion regarding our lable "..By The Bay". Unfortunately we are not on the water and none of our rooms have view of the water or beach.

However, we are just a block walking distance away from beach access.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were very happy with our room at this hotel. We stayed in room 218, which was a king bed suite, with the bedroom separate from a good-size living area. The bathroom was extra large and included a jacuzzi tub, which we did not use. The living area included a queen-size sofa bed, comfortable chair, desk, decent size frig with freezer, microwave, and flat-screen TV. The bedroom also included a flat-screen TV. The a/c worked well but was only in the bedroom, not the living area, so we had to keep the door between the rooms open. We had difficulty with the key cards at this hotel, which worked intermittently, and noticed that other guests were having a similar problem. We did have the cards recoded at the desk, but that didn't help. Just get several cards, and one is bound to work.
This hotel is not fancy but is fine for a place to sleep. All of the staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful, especially Pam, who took the time to map out a day trip for us. As the other reviews have noted, the breakfast area is small and the food is barely average. At the very least, another waffle maker could be added to speed things up. We also used a rollaway bed, which was substandard, even for a child, but the king bed was very comfortable. So, if you know what to expect, you will be fine if you are not picky and just looking for a good location to tour the area.

Room Tip: This is a very long hotel, so if being close to the lobby is important, be sure to ask to be towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feed back on your recent stay. We do agree the two room suite is our premium rooms available. We are pleased to know you and your family enjoyed the emenities the room and the hotel had to offer.

We can agree the breakfast area is small but we are excited to announce that we are in the midst of rennovation to provide and bigger and better breakfast area. More space will allow us to possible set up two waffle stations as you previously mentioned.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay. We hope to see you again.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was hesitant to stay here after seeing some of the not so favorable reviews, but I booked 2 nights here on August 11th, 2013. I was glad I did, the hotel was very clean, the staff was very accommodating and although the breakfast area was small, they had a lot to choose from. I feel for the money we paid for the room at this time of the year in Traverse City was a bargain. I would stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and taking a chance in staying with us. We appreciate your business and we are happy to announce we just broke ground in new renovations to make a bigger and better breakfast area.

We hope to see you again so we can share this new and exciting change and update.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Room was clean but could not cool it down ac just didnot want to work right.For what they charged was not worth the money Breakfast was not great seen and had better at cheaper hotels would not stay again unless only place with room

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are sorry you had a disappointing experience during your stay. I wonder if you had a chance to let the front desk know about the A/C not working properly in your room.

We are sorry you felt the the price of lodging was not worth your stay. We are confident to say that our rates are very competitive which includes a full hot deluxe breakfast with make your own waffles, an indoor heated pool & hot tub, free wi-fi and free HBO.

We thank you for staying with us and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in hopes it will be a better experience.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arrived on July 30, 2013 for a 2 night stay. We were satisfied with the check in. The room we were sold, 136 I believe, is right next to an access door to the interior, which slammed night and day. There was a lot of rust on the bathroom fixtures and the metal nightstand supports. This room needs a lot of work. Peeling wallpaper, that sort. The bedroom and the bath were quite large with lots of floor space, like a handicap room. The shower was good. I will attempt to attach a few photos to this memo.

Sleep quality was not good. Besides the constant slamming of door number "3", there must have been a herd of elephants (or soldiers) lodging in the room just overhead, constantly marching around until wee hours.

The location was very good, but as previously mentioned by other Tripadvisor reports, "by the Bay" is only sort of true. "Across the street from the Bay" would be more accurate. You can't even see the Bay from anywhere on the property. The Quality Inn is on the "Miracle Mile" which is the preferred location in the Traverse City east bay area. Nearby are the Bay Market, where I shopped for smoked whitefish from Charlevoix, and a restaurant called 'G's Pizzeria which is also very good. There is no refrigerator in this room, but I travel with a large ice chest in the truck for keeping food and drinks cold. A large park for camping is just next door, and there is a nice hiking and biking trail just behind the Inn which I used, very handy, and it goes on forever.

A lobby breakfast is served from 6:00 AM, and I am always up at the crack of sparrows anyway, so the timing was perfect for me and just a few other early risers. I must say that I really liked the coffee. I also made an egg and sausage sandwich in a toasted "English" muffin, yogurt, milk and apple juice both mornings. They have a waffle maker, cold cereals, toast, hard -boiled eggs, donut holes, cream cheese but oddly no bagels; a decent selection all in all. But one time I cruised thru the lobby while checking out (9:00 ish), and there were people sitting in the stairs, and outside, and taking food back to rooms on trays. So get there early for breakfast if you can.

On check out I saw on my bill the almost famous now charge for "Safe and insurance" at $1.50 plus tax per day, referring to the in- room safe which we didn't use, and the lady gladly deleted those charges for me, at my request, no questions asked.

Traverse City seemed to be having some sort of festivities the week we stayed here. Over on the west bay there were tents and food booths set up near the shore like for a carnival, and that may be the reason that the prices we paid for this stay were so high. For the over -all condition of this property, I would only give them 2 stars considering the price, but they get an extra half a point for personnel.

Next time in the Traverse City area we will probably try some other motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritomann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us. We are sorry you had to deal with the unsatisfactory location of your room next to a main entry way to the hotel. I'm not sure if you had the chance to bring this matter to our attention during your stay, but if we had another room would have been more than happy to offer you a more suitable room.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed the location of the hotel in regards to the restaurants but there is always a confusion regarding the title "Quality Inn By The Bay". Unfortunately we are not on the bay and the way the hotel is situated, there are no good views of the bay or beach, however, we are a block walking distance from beach access.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#23 of 40 in Traverse City
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
236 reviews
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: $63 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing