We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd Find a Different Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed June 19, 2013

As others have observed, it's not "By the Bay," but that's not the issue.
There are better places to stay at comparable prices.
Please check my other reviews - I'm NOT all that picky.

If you DO stay here, ask the management to remove the charge for the safe from your bill. You probably thought that scam went away years ago, but it lives on here at $1.50. Ok, a small charge, but who actually USES an in-room safe?

The shower felt like pin pricks with no adjustment to fix that.

The slide lock channel (replacing a "chain" lock) to the inside hall door was barely hanging on by one screw. Not real secure. The steel door to the parking lot was peeled up on the corner. It looked like it had been opened with a can opener.

There are six tables in the breakfast area for about 80 hotel rooms. Most of those tables are for two people. The cute sign says that they call it "cozy," but you can be the judge. There ARE trays so you could take food out of that area. Hint: Trays are hidden below the counter, you wouldn't normally see them.

Room was clean, but smelled a bit musty.
Bed was OK.
Bath was redone and huge, but strange in that the inside hall entrance is through the bath.
WiFi worked fine.

Room Tip: This is a long, skinny old motel. Higher numbers are further from the road noise, but also further...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay.

The in-room safe service have always been provided and available to all of our guests. The fee for the in-room safe charge is clearly printed on every registration cards our guest sign and there is a big sign posted at the front desk that states the safe charge can be removed upon request if it was not used. We are not in the business on "scamming' people. Never have and never will. Believe it of not, people do use the safes for personal valuables such as lap tops and the minimal $1.50 fee provides coverage up to $10,000 of loss personal properties placed in the safe.

We are sorry that you ran into some issues regarding the water pressure in the shower and the door latch. . We hope you had a chance to bring this to our attention while you were here. We can agree that the breakfast area can get crowded but we are working on making major renovations to expand and provide a bigger and more comfortable breakfast facility.

Thank you for your time and we hope you will allow us another opportunity in providing a more comfortable accommodations you you and yours.

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn By the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stopped here mostly because searching on my cellphone proved too cumbersome and we needed a place to stay after long day of driving, plus it was the first weekend of summer season.

Motel room was basic for the price, no refrig or microwave, somewhat hard bed. Clean, though, and great breakfast bar.

Convenient location near the bay, and right along main highway, in a popular summer vacation spot, which explains the price. And it did take pets, which was important since we had our dog with us.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtodrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your business and your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know you were able to take advantage of our "Pet Friendly" service.

At this time, we only have a couple of rooms that comes standard with a microwave and fridge and that would be our two room suites with a king bed.

Our hotel is conveniently located near beach access, restaurants and shopping, as well as activites such as Pirates Cove (mini golf, go carts and zip line).

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This property is not "by the bay" in that it is across the road and you can barely see the bay from the end of the corridor, but not from my room. It fronts a noisy, congested road. The curtain in my room had holes in it. The halls were dingy. The bathroom is small and old, and the fan keeps getting louder as it runs. It was priced ridiculously high. I will say that the bed was comfortable and the front desk man was helpful. The little tiny lobby was way too small to accommodate the breakfast crowd. Overall, I was disappointed.

Room Tip: The higher the room number, the farther you will be from the busy, noisy road. So, for instance, 13...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyLou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us on your recent stay. Our name does state "Quailty Inn By The Bay" and unfortunately people are misled that we are located on the water. As you found out upon arrival we are accross the street from beautiful East Bay and we are just a block away from beach access.

I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with the condition of your room. I wished you had a chance to let us know so that we may have had the chance to remedy your concern and possibly offered you a more suitable room.

We are well aware of the many lodging choices made available to everyone who comes and visits beautiful Traverse City and we connot convey how much we appreciate your choice in our hotel. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to service and and provide a more enjoyable experience.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We got the hotel cheaply on Priceline, and some hotels definitely give you the less-desirable rooms and less helpful service when you book that way, but not here. All front desk staff were extremely nice, and the room was spacious and clean. All doors are secured with key card access. You can walk to several restaurants (including Red Mesa) and also to the crosswalk over 31 that gets you to the beach. The free breakfast had quite a big selection (even though it's in a cozy little space)--I love the make-your-own waffle station. My only complaint would be that some of the other guests were not very considerate or sanitary when using the breakfast room, but that's not the hotel's fault!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank without_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay starting with the rates you were able to get, to our level of customer service, to our room conditions. We are happy to know you also enjoyed the hot delux breakfast that was offered although it does get quite "cozy" when the hotel busy. The smell of the "make your own" hot waffles can help start your day in the right direction.

We hope to see you guys again soon.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my wife celebrated our 16 year anniversary. The front desk attendant made us feel right at home. She was courteous and proffessional. Our room was very clean. Nice new T.V. Hot Tub worked very nicely. I was delighted at how nice everything was. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Thank you for allowing us to be part of your special occasion. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY to you and your wife. I'm delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and the amenities our Hot Tub Rooms had to offer. My staff strives to provide the best service our area can offer. Please continue to share your experience with your friends and family. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was Ray, the gentlemen at the front desk. He was kind and considerate. The hotel was outdated and the setup was uncomfortable: the doors had gaps and one was to the parking lot and the other was off fom the bathroom to the hallway. The hotel was clean and functional as a less expensive pace to stay. We will probably choose to stay in another place for $30 more the next time we visit Traverse City, though again, Ray was great.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My name is Ray and I had the pleasure of making your aquaintance and checking you guys in. Thank you so much for your kind words and acknowledgement but I'm sorry to have read that you didn't quite enjoy your entire stay. We are deiligent in making sure the hotel is frequently updated and rennovated to bring it to our guest's standards and expectation.

I wished you had the opportunity to notify us during your stay in regards to your concern about the gaps in the doors. We would have made every effort to remedy the sitaution or offered you a more suitable room. My maintenance department performs regular preventative maintenance to catch issue like the one you encoutered but I'm sorry we missed your room.

We hope this experience will not leave a bad taste and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide better service for your.

Thank You.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Front desk was nice when I checked in and gave us adjoining rooms. The rooms had old TVs, no Q beds, no fridge, no microwave, tiny bathroom, old laminated sink area, OLD heat/ ac units, tub had water in it, older furniture. Breakfast was one of the worst i've even seen. I expect better from Quality Inn. I could have stayed just down the road at Super 8fast for less and had a better experience. The place feels safe. Traverse City has many hotels that are cheap in the winter, i suggest checking around before picking one.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry we fell short on your expectations on the Quality Inn Brand. Please rest assured since the Hotel was taken over by new Managers in 2007, we have been working deligently to make sure the hotel is updated and rennovated on a regular basis to bring the "Quality" of our hotel up to ur guest's standards and expectations. Thank you for bringing to our attention what we missed and what we can do better,

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to service you and we hope you will be more satisfied next time.

Thank You.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
380 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range: $87 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing