We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I couldn't disagree more with cctravelercc, I think the location is excellent. It is very close to town, but not in it. Being right next to the State Park and the public trail I thought was a big plus, but then I enjoy walking and jogging. It is an older hotel, but very clean and the staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. For the price, I got what I expected. Parking and access to the rooms was great. They had apples and cookies at registration for those who needed something. There is a small market right next door if you need more. There are several restaurants very near by. The noise was about what I get at most hotels (if someone yelled right outside my door, I could hear it). If I was looking to save money at an affordable hotel, I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom was small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Russ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. Traverse City and beautiful and we are centrally located from downtown, shopping, wineries and beaches.

We have many guest who likes the fact we are right next door to the Traverse City State Park. We have had family who had family members camping next door and found it convenient. The hotel is located next to the TART Trail (Traverse Area Recreational Trail) where many people use it to walk, jog, run, ride bikes, roller blade, walk their pets, and in the winter time cross country skiing and snow shoeing.

Providing complimentary cookies and fruits are just a few personal touches we like to give to our guests.

Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    56
    52
    40
    24
See reviews for
56
70
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

This hotel is directly next to a campground on the edge of town. There are lots of people hanging around on the back of the property and it didn't feel safe when we were there. The room was ok, nothing specail.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, February 1, 2008
Our Hotel is located next to the Traverse City State Park Campground. There is also the Traverse Are Recreational Trail (T.A.R.T. Trail) located at the back end of the Hotel that our Hotel guests, people at the campground, and the locals use daily. This may explain why there were people hanging around the Hotel.

The trail is used by people who may want to take a leisure walk, jog, bike ride or rollerblade. We have had Guests use the trail to walk their pets as well. Safety to our Guests and Staff is our main priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Temperance,MI
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2007

This is a very nice,clean hotel. Had read some less than favorable reviews on this hotel and have to say that I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Everything was extremely clean and well taken care of. This is an older hotel on the bay but I have no complaints whatsoever. I truly enjoyed my stay here and would book here again!

  • Liked — close to lots of interesting activities
  • Disliked — nothing bad to say
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rkeller555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your generous and kind words. Our entire staff works hard to ensure all of our guests have a great experience and continues to choose our hotel each time.

We have ongoing updates and renovations to bring our hotel up to a higher level and meet all of our guest's expectations.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Upon entering the hotel the smell in the corridor was extremely unpleasant, a mixture of smoke, dampness and stale air.
The first room we were offered also smelled and there were cigarrette buts in the toilett. The shift manager was very friendly and accomodating, and offered us a suite for the same rate. Unfortunately, the room was very dark and uninviting. To their credit, we were offered a full refund, even though it was late in the evening, and we found a more pleasant hotel in the area.

  • Disliked — Smell
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank alsofrqttrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, February 1, 2008
Traverse City Quality Inn By The Bay strives and takes pride in providing "Genuine Northern Hospitality". Our Guests and their statisfaction is top priority. The Hotel offers smoking rooms in hopes to accommodate all of our smoking patrons. Although the majority of our 96 room facility is non-smoking, there is a slim chance that the Hotel is able to prevent Guests from smoking in a non-smoking room. Non-smoking rooms are clearly posted.

The Hotel is confident the our housekeeping team is very meticulous in cleaning each room and ensuring everything in the room is sanitized and deoderized. As far as for the cigarette butss in the toilet, that is unacceptable and the Hotel will do its very best to prevent any future occurrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, mI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2007

As far as places to stay in Traverse City, this property is a good value. However, the Ritz Carleton it is not.

Basically, this is an older Quality Inn located on the opposite side of the road from the bay. Hence, it has no beach access, and no impressive views. The place itself is relatively well maintained, and staffed by friendly, hard working people, but it is showing it's age. For instance, all of the fixtures in our room (a king bed room with a jacuzzi) were rusted / worn. The built in light in the jazuzzi didn't work because the button that operated it was broken.

The tiny breakfast room = the front lobby and it serves a very basic continental breakfast. One morning the hotel was out of orange juice and the staff informed us "sorry, but we won't get any more 'till evening". The pool / hot tub room is clean and well maintained but very small (however, in fairness, at no point did we find it crowded).

The main strength of this hotel is definitely the price. We paid $80.95 / night during prime tourist season for a jacuzzi equipped room. Places with beach access were asking close to $100 more / night for basic 2 double bed / queen rooms WITHOUT bay views (and over $200 a night for bay views, jacuzzi rooms, suites etc.)

If you're going to spend most of your Traverse city vacation touring the area, I'd definitely recommend this place as a good hotel to sleep and enjoy the occasional evening. If you want a "resort" experience where you primarily stay in your hotel and enjoy the beach / water, this isn't it.

  • Liked — Price and Value
  • Disliked — Small Breakfast Room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CrimDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We cannot thank you enough for choosing our hotel for your lodging needs.

I can agree that we try to make sound decisions when dealing with rates. I feel we do have competitive rates all year around.

Please know that the hotel goes through ongoing updates and renovations. There are new beds, televisions and a new breakfast area being upgraded.

I hope we will see you again the next time you have a chance to visit beautiful Traverse City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

While the hotel/motel was on the older side it was updated and very clean on the inside. We even got a nice gift pack upon checking in. 10 Minutes after checking in the manager called us to see if we got settled in and if there was anything more we needed. The room was quite large (Room 121) and exceptionally quiet. You could enter from the outside as well as the hall inside. This was convenient to get to our car and as well as walking inside to the continental breakfast in the morning. The continental breakfast was well stocked with cereals, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, rolls, muffins, bagels, hard boiled eggs one morning and fruit cocktail the next morning. Cookies, fruit, and coffee were also available every afternoon. The staff was courteous and helpful with directions. My husband and I normally spend in one night what we spent on two nights here. We would definitely return. The pool is on the smaller side, and although our room was the first one past the pool, we never heard a sound. There was a family enjoying the pool when we left and if we had not walked past them we would have not known they were there. The room had a king sized bed, huge bathroom and an iron and ironing board. So there was not much I could have asked for when comparing this smaller, older hotel with a brand new one.

Complaints? Only one. The shower head, which worked great, was more for those 5'6" and under! A minor inconvenience however for an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Liked — Quiet!!
  • Disliked — Shower head placed too low.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank Margaret_Ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay from start to finish with the exception of the height of the shower head.

Many of our guest do find the ground floor rooms more convenient due to the features of having an enterior and exterior entrance to the rooms. The breakfast is a favorite by many and we continue to find ways make sure our guests have many options to choose from.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank You.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

Our room was clean except there were some dead bugs on the window sill. We had a drive-up room that had access to the interior corridor also. I thought it was strange that the access door led right into the bathroom. The inside bathroom door wouldn't latch shut. We kept getting locked out of our room using the drive-up door. The first time, we went down to the front desk to get someone to let us in. The second time my husband was locked out, I was able to get my key to work. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel property itself was clean but our room needed some maintenance and updating. In the evening, board game players filled the small lobby and I noticed there was a computer being used by a guest. I just looked in at the pool area which was being used by families. It was a lot smaller than what it appeared in the hotel photos. There is a paved nature trail behind the property with a sitting bench nearby. The continental breakfast was fresh, although limited, but enough for a light breakfast. Since I was up so early, I walked down to the lobby and got some coffee and sat on the bench till the others got up. It was a balmy, quiet morning and watched a few early bikers and walkers go by. The hotel does allow pets since there were guests and dogs there for the dog show but I never heard any dogs barking or any late night noisy guests. I thought the air conditioners were noisy but a heavy sleeper may not. The request for extra pillows at reservation time were there waiting on the bed when we checked in. Mainly we were looking for a place to sleep one night without costing a fortune as we were just up for the weekend for a family event.

Helpful?
1 Thank tim2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you had trouble operating your keys to gain access to your room. The hotel does become cozy when it is at full capacity which was probably the reason why the entire lobby was occupied. I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy the breakfast.

The hotel continues to go through ongoing updates and renovations. We hope you will notice them the next time you visit us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank You.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
5.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Traverse Bay Inn
Traverse Bay Inn
#22 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Property: Quality Inn By the Bay
Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing