We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Happy Days by the Bay1” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn By the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn By the Bay
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Wymondham, Norfolk
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Happy Days by the Bay1”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is in a good location as it is near to the beach at State Park. The TART trail is directly behind the hotel. This is a good tarmac track which follows the rail line into Traverse City downtown and then on to Suttons Bay (a very pretty little town - good for quality shopping). Great for walking and biking so you can work off some of the great food on offer in this area. Our room at the hotel was spacious and the bed very comfortable. The downside was the breakfast room - 5 tables for some 250+ rooms?? They called it cosy. We called it chaotic. Any way it was still good value and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were visiting my daughter and we thought the hotel was ideally located not too far from her apartment. Traverse City is a lovely place for a holiday - it's just a lot of flying to get there!

Room Tip: The groung floor rooms seem to be used by overnighters, so opt for a room on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norfolkseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Than you for staying with us recently. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay.

I can agree that our location is very convenient and close to alot of attractiions and activities. May of our guests enjoys the TART trail that is located right behind our hotel. We are a block away from beach access. We are within an hour from several attractions such as wineries, Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park to name a few.

We are happy you found our room spacious and beds comfortable. We are working on a major renovation project to make our breakfast area bigger so that all our guests can enjoy our full hot deluxe breakfast with make your own waffles.

Thank you again for taying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    52
    49
    39
    25
See reviews for
54
65
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here when it was the wentworth inn while some things have changed. The idea of good value and good service have not. really good location and fine lodging. It is not the place it was when we stayed last but time takes a toll on us all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hello Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. Yes, this hotel used to be the old Wentworth Inn.

As a manager, we took over this hotel under the Choice Hotels brand back in 2007 and we have been working diligenty to making sure updates and renovations take place regurlarly. We strive for providng top "Quality" service with "Genuine Northern Hospitality"!

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as a last resort. We had not planned ahead, arrived into town late in the evening, it was during the Film Festival and it was pretty much all that was available. Room was clean but very dated. Staff was friendly. Best part of the stay was that we had the indoor pool and hot tub to ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endlessbeachdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are lucky to have you stumble onto our hotel as a last resort. The Traverse City FIlm Festival is one the areas busiest time. We are glad we had a room available for you.

You stated that the room was clean but dated. We are happy to announce that there are going to be major renovations and updates starting in the next couple of months that will allows us to have a bigger breakfast area and rooms being updated floor to ceiling.

We hope, the next time you get an opportunity to visit Traverse City, that we can have you stay with us again and share the new changes.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This "hotel" costs $153.00. With AAA discount. What a poor value. Here are a few of the reasons :by the bay? Can not see the bay. Rooms straight out of 1970 decor, plus worn and tired. Free snacks! Under the bed we found, chocolate, pretzels, and wrappers. Mold on ceiling of bathroom shower and very thick on vents of air-conditioner. Breakfast room had four small tables so we took our food outside, picnic table is in ditch in dog walk and smoking area. Use your imagination for how enjoyable that was. Vacuuming was obviously just from front door to bathroom. I was so embarrassed that I had made this reservation for my whole family group of nine. I never plan to stay at a "Quality" Inn again and neither will any of my family. I feel cheated.

Room Tip: There isn't one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apology that you and your family were not satisfied with your stay. Being that Traverse City is a resort destination, the months of June, July, August, September and most of October are the peak months for the area. With that said, we try to be competitive with our rates. I am confident to state that we do have one of the best rates in town considering the amentities we offer and where the hotel is located.

As far as location, we are Quality Inn By the Bay, not on the bay. We are sorry that you thought otherwise. We are walking distance from public beach access as well is a 3 miles from down town shopping and restaurants. We are about 40 minutes from Sleeping Bear Dune National Park as well as minutes from wineries.

I am sorry we fell short in the cleanliness department. My staff takes pride in ensuring that our Guests can enjoy a clean comfortable place to stay. The breakfast area does get cozy when the hotel is at full capcity, but I am happy to announce that we will be making major rennovations to our breakfast facility in November. The hotel will also undergo major changes to update everything from bedding to television to name a few.

We can't thank you enought for staying with us and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to share with you the new changes that will be coming and restore you faith in our hotel and CHOICE HOTELS Brand.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Traverse City hotels

Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here in early August 2012 for 2 nights b/c we were travelling spur-of-the-moment. Booked through AAA just down the street from the hotel, $170/night for a double room on a weekend night--which for us is pricey. Due to a booking snafu we were given first floor room (see previous postings by others). Funny smells, stuffy, stained towels, mildewed shower curtain and ceiling, cobwebs on floor of #114 by door opening to outside. If I'd had confidence in finding an alternative, I'd have grabbed it, but it was during the Film Festival and didn't know better. Room was large enough, manager as accommodating as she could be, but be prepared for very tight quarters at breakfast, to boot.Quality Inn, please double up on your efforts at this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

The month of August can be very busy for our hotel as well as for the area. With The National Cherry Festival in July and The Film Festival in August, Traverse City is bustling with many locals and vacationers alike. We try to be rate conscious during this time of year because with today's economy, we understand everyone is on a budget. We are sorry you felt our hotel was over priced.

As I mentioned before, our housekeeping team strive to provide a clean and comfortable place to stay. I am sorry that we missed a few things and my hopes is that you had a chance to let my staff know while you were at the hotel.

We are going to go through major changes and rennovations to make sure your next stay with us will be more enjoyable. We hope you will allow us another opportunity.

Thank You for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed here for one (friday) night during our vacation in July 2012. To find an affordable room in Traverse City on a weekend day in the summer is impossible. We payed around USD 170 for a standard king room. The room on itself was what you would expect from a mediocre hotel. The room was clean, pretty large and clean, but definitely not modern or new.

We had a good night, but in the morning around 7 am we woke up from the people in the room above us. They were just walking around, but we could hear every footstep pounding through the floor. Not their fault, but the hotel building is just old and "noisy". So ask for a room on the upper floor if you would like to sleep a little longer.

Being one of the cheaper hotels available on that day the stay was ok, but nothing special. I guess better options are available if you book further in advance than 1/2 weeks.

Room Tip: The floors are thin, so ask for a room on the upper floor if you don't want to hear the people i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hooboox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are not certain if you have visited Traverse City before your stay with us. As you discovered, the area is very busy during the month of July since it is the when The National Cherry Festival takes place. Believe it or not, most of the hotels if not all of the hotels are sold out 7 days a week in the month of July. We try to allign our rates accordingly to customer's demands and budget. I've stated before and I'll state again, we have one of the best rates in the area during peak months.

I am sorry to find out that your stay was disrupted by noise coming from the room above you. First, I hope you had a chance to notify my hotel staff. Second, noise levels does become a challenge when the hotel is full. We try to spread our guests out accordingly but when the hotel is full this endeavor becomes impossible.

We hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our travel team coordinator booked this hotel for us. We decided not to look around for another hotel because we wanted our son to be close to his teammates. However, the room was incredibly small for all four of us, no refrigerator or microwave (essential when traveling with kids, I think), the walls were paper-thin (a party took place next door), and the rooms were barely clean enough to live in. We wore shoes due to the dirty floors, and I am not one who is afraid of dirt, I have two boys, but we found a lot of disgusting hair and old sand from past guests. Overall, the only positive was the boys were together as a team, and the desk staff was friendly. But NEVER NEVER again will I stay at Quality Inn By the Bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Please accept my sincere apology for the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay. We are grateful when teams comes to our area and we can accommodate a large group. I'm sorry you felt that the rooms were small. I hope you had a chance to notify my staff regarding the noise that was coming from the room next to yours. We strive to making sure our guests are comfortable and have a pleasant experience. I'm sorry that your room wasn't as clean as it should have been.

We can't thank you enough for staying with us and hope you will allow us another opportunity.

Thank you for sharing what we can do better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traverse City
0.2 mi away
AmericInn Traverse City
AmericInn Traverse City
#7 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse City, MI
Boarders Inn and Suites Traverse...
#35 of 40 in Traverse City
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme – Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 320 reviews
2.0 mi away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#27 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Traverse City
Howard Johnson Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
3.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Property: Quality Inn By the Bay
Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing