We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable stay at a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“enjoyable stay at a nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel staff was friendly and courteous, going out of the way to be helpful. We really appreciated that they enforced the no kids after 10 pm policy in the pool area/ hot tub, especially as we were kidless for our stay. The room was clean and breakfast in the morning was nice. A little tricky getting out onto the road due to traffic and the location. We would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ely0273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaveVetteWillTravel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had a nice stay other than the traffic! We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you the next time your travels bring you to Traverse City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    99
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
73
89
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Fairfield Inn & Suites in Traverse City exemplifies excellent customer service. During a recent trip we were blown away by the friendly staff and excellent amenities. Despite checking in late, we were promptly greeted by the night manager who took time to explain all of the services offered and asked us to call with any questions regardless of the time. Our room was spotless, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the WiFi was fast enough to stream Netflix in HD. In the morning, we chose a busy time to eat breakfast (~9am) but the breakfast staff kept everything stocked and the food and selection were excellent. All in all, I haven't had a better hotel experience in Traverse City.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRWolverineFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is decent and the staff is friendly. It is what you would expect from a mid-level Marriott property. The hotel is located on a busy highway about 10 minutes from downtown TC. The room was comfortable and had a microwave and small fridge. I was a bit put off when I woke up the first day and decided to make coffee with the in room coffee maker, only to find that housekeeping had failed to clean the appliance after being used by the previous guest (Yuk! It contained the leftover coffee grounds and liquid). The coffee maker was never cleaned during our 3 day stay. Coffee maker aside, the hotel is very nice. My main complaint is with the entry and exit from the hotel. The entry is hidden and hard to find (make a right turn immediately after passing Sams Club). Exiting the hotel property onto the busy highway during peak traffic hours is difficult if you are heading towards downtown Traverse City or the bay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotDogChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel does not live up to the high Marriott standard. I have stayed at the hotel three times while traveling for business and will not be returning. The first two times I asked about rates for future stays and was told by the front desk staff they would leave a message for a Manager to contact me. Both time I did not receive a response. I emailed Marriott and only then did the manager respond with an email stating they couldn't find my messages anywhere on their desk but if I need something, to call.

My most recent stay sealed the deal for never using this hotel again. I do a lot of traveling for business and use Marriott esclusivley because normally they have been accomodating to last mintue changes. This hotel, however, is not accomodating.

If you are looking for good customer service, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARW4785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaveVetteWillTravel, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am sorry that you did not receive the guest service that we pride ourselves on. We will speak about clear customer communication in our daily meetings. It is our hopes that you will give our Marriott award winning staff another chance to provide you with great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia SC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The high point of this hotel is the staff. Every single front desk employee I spoke to was friendly and responsive. Upon check out, I asked to have a package shipped via FedEx and I received A+ care from the employee who helped me. She even taped up my box and made sure it was good to go before I left. I was very grateful for her help, as I was trying to make an early flight at TVC. Overall, I felt they had one of the stronger staff teams I have observed on recent my business travels.

The rooms are clean and in line with what one expects from Fairfield Inn properties. The bathroom mirror lighting could be better. Walls are a little thin. I did have a lot of noise from the man next door the first night, but, thankfully, he checked out and wasn't there the next two nights. I liked having my own refrigerator and made a run to Target to stock it. I'm not a huge fan of the AC window units, because they click on and off so loudly and disrupt my sleep, but they are pretty standard at places like Fairfield, Courtyard and Hampton Inn these days.

I had to travel to TC for work during the end of the Cherry Festival and caught the tail end of some surprisingly high rates at this hotel ($274 plus tax!!!!). That seemed to be the case at a lot of the properties in the area during the Festival, as has been pointed out in other reviews. Hard to believe that these rooms were costing as much as I have paid at the Ritz! At that price, it's hard to argue the Fairfield is a good deal. But it's a good value at around $150 a night, in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GamecockGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here because it was a Marriott property and the city was busy with Cherry Festival, but we were blown away with it's $250 per night rate.due to the festival. The place was clean and the staff was very cordial, a big plus, but I can't get away from the negative price gouging feeling. The other huge negative was access to the property. It was hidden, and trying to get out was dangerous due the the heavy traffic and no stop light to slow the cross traffic down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJCjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnota-AGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Although, we are a bit difficult to find, most of our guests enjoy our quiet location. Traverse City is a very popular summer vacation spot. We are confident that our rate is competitive in this market. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rooms might be dated but hotel is clean and nice.
Good location, and you must try the strawberry water they have at the check in counter.
Pool is also nice and the breakfast is a big plus.
Sam's club is near by for cheap gas.and things you may need on your vacation.

Room Tip: Get the top floor so you don't hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buyer2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
BEST WESTERN PLUS Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.8 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
Address: 3701 N Country Ln, Traverse City, MI 49684-4577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Favorite Traverse City Hotel to experience Pure Michigan! The Completely modern Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located in the epicenter of destination Corporate, Government, andLeisure Travelers coming to Traverse City. For Corporate Guest we are minutes to Munson Medical Center, Interlochen Center for Fine Arts, RJG, Sara Lee, Grand Traverse Mall, NMC University Center, and a host of our regions premier businesses. The Leisure Traveler will find us just down the road from Grand Traverse Bays, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Old Mission/Leelanau Peninsula Wineries. Perfectly located around the finest golf, boating, snowmobiling, fishing, hiking, & nature site seeing in Pure Michigan. Large rooms, indoor pool/spa, free high-speed, complimentary breakfast,legendary guest service that makes you want to return. National Cherry Festival First Week of July 2010. Book now and experience the best hotel for the money in Pure Traverse City, located in Pure Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi Hotel Traverse City
Fairfield Inn Traverse City
Fairfield Traverse City
Traverse City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing