We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable, up-to-date, very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 N Country Ln, Traverse City, MI 49684-4577   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, up-to-date, very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn on my most recent trip to Traverse City, after having stayed at the Marriott Courtyard many times. The Fairfield Inn is just a half-step down in quality while costing substantially less. Plus breakfast is included -- not great but enough to get the day started. Rooms are quite comfortable and nicely decorated with a crisp bright green floral style. The staff were friendly and welcoming without exception.

I did run over to the Courtyard hotel (right around the corner) to buy coffee from the breakfast place in the lobby there, where they serve Starbucks. The only coffee available at the Fairfield is standard watery lobby coffee. Always available, but no better than you'd expect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PC1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    91
    23
    6
    6
See reviews for
62
78
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cass City, Michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have been looking for a hotel In Traverse City that is a quiet place to stay. So we tried this property this weekend. The front desk staff were incredibly professional and very helpful and so nice. Our room was very clean. And very spacious. We booked a handicapped room, that was very easy to get to. For the average traveler the room had it all. TV, small refridge, microwave,even a ironing board and iron. Our room lokked out to grass and trees. The hotel can be a bit challenging to find. It is just behind the Cracker Barrell restaurant on M 31 South.
Very close and convenient to The Buffalo Mall area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The staff was super helpful with the local area attractions. Not only that, they provided some of the best customer service I have received in the Traverse City area, and my wife and I have stayed at some of the resorts there! I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Northern Michigan. Even the continental breakfast was great. Saturday morning was a huge rush when the wife and I went for breakfast, but between the two people working they kept everything clean and stocked. I thought it was quite an accomplishment seeing as how we had to wait for a seat and there were about 8 kids running around. Kudos to a great weekend!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor, and aside from a Hockey team coming in late last night, everything was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardaw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

While doing some business in the area I recently completed a three night stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Traverse City.

And I can see that most of the reviews here already cover things pretty well: this may be the most basic chain hotel in the tourist-friendly Traverse City area. I'm not sure which rooms are considered "suites" because my room certainly wasn't. It was a nice sized room with almost completely unadorned walls, except a framed print over the bed and a decorative mirror over the fridge that sits on top of the squat dresser.

When I sleep, I'm one of those weirdos who likes to have a fan or vent always running which generates both white noise and circulates air. My room didn't have a "fan" option on the in-room heater & A/C unit so when the temperature reached the level it was set for, the heater turned off and I could hear people trudging around outside in the hotel corridor and the glub-glub-glub of the water being processed by the ice machine. Not the most comfortable sleep for me at all, but some of the rooms apparently do have older heater units that do have "fan only" options.

Bathroom sink was separate from the W.C. & shower room, so one person can be doing make up and/or grooming while the other person is doing business behind a door. Hotel provides a facial and bath size bar of soap, shampoo and conditioner and two makeup remover pads in shrink-wrap. In the small closet area you'll find a luggage rack, an ironing board and iron, in addition to the clothing hangers.

Internet is free and can be accessed via WiFi or a sometimes temperamental (takes a bit of time to figure out your computer wants to connect) broadband Ethernet converter box sitting on the work table.

The exercise room is at the end of the top (3rd floor) corridor and isn't much wider than a closet space, but it's as long as a room so there's a surprisingly useful number of pieces of equipment in there, including an elliptical machine, a treadmill, a stationary bike and some freeweights. There's also a water dispenser and exercise towels in there. In one picture you'll see the water dispenser and two garbage cans (the staff should probably make it clear that one of the cans is presumably meant for used towels).

On the first floor you'll find the indoor pool which also has a hot tub on the far end. It's not big enough to do any meaningful laps, but at the same time the pool looks pretty comfortable on a cold winter's day. While I never saw a soul in the pool area during the mornings or evenings when I was coming and going to the office, I'm guessing the pool is completely swamped during high season with kids.

The breakfast area is also found on the first floor. The goodies on offer include yogurt and fresh fruit (apples and bananas), different kinds of bagels, muffins and cereals. In the small cooler next to the microwave oven you'll also find breakfast sandwiches and it looks like some kind of pancake-wrapped sausage, both of which you can nuke in the oven for a few seconds. Also hard boiled eggs and a waffle maker as well (I liked the cherry toppings for the waffles, but there's also a strawberry topping and whipped cream as well). Breakfast starts at 6:30 a.m. so if you're leaving earlier than that the next day, grab a sandwich and/or a yogurt and store it in your room's fridge, since all this stuff is padlocked up until 6:30 a.m. the next morning. There's also a small pantry across from the front desk and you'll find coolers with soda pop and other snack (soft drinks are $1.50 per can, which I thought was a wee bit excessive but oh well).

The hotel is about a 7 - 10 minute drive from downtown Traverse City and the waterfront, but very close (a minute or so, depending on traffic) from the Grand Traverse Mall (and movie theater) literally across the street. There's a Sam's Club next door and a Cracker Barrel restaurant a short distance in front.

Would I stay here again? Despite the incredibly friendly staff, my sleep wasn't really very sound because of the non-functional fan vent thing, so I'd probably say "no". The cost of my stay was less than $65 per night, since I did a bit of shopping around and found a cheaper rate than marriott.com on expedia (and if you do find a cheaper rate anywhere other than marriott.com, there's a "best rate guarantee" on marriott.com you can take advantage of). I wouldn't pay more than $80 per night in the winter (low) season and $150 per night in the touristy (high) summer season. There are plenty of area hotels to choose from, if you start your hotel hunt early enough.

Hopefully this information helps you out. And if you did find useful information in my review, please let me know by clicking the "Helpful" link down below. Have a great stay!

Room Tip: if you need a constant running fan or circulating air to sleep, find out before unpacking if your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here with husband and a friend for a snowboarding weekend. We arrived late, front desk lady was still pleasant. Clean room and shower. Looks like a convenient location - just down the street from a mall, not a far drive from downtown TC. Breakfast was fine, nothing great but anyplace that has eggs (even hard boiled) is good enough in my book. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Michigan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The weather was frightful, but my stay here was delightful. Very friendly staff, comfortable, clean, quiet room. In spite of the continued snow the sidewalks were being cleared continuously and were slip free. I have stayed here before and will stay here again. Great location for my needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saltedradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.8 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
4.4 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
Address: 3701 N Country Ln, Traverse City, MI 49684-4577
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Favorite Traverse City Hotel to experience Pure Michigan! The Completely modern Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located in the epicenter of destination Corporate, Government, andLeisure Travelers coming to Traverse City. For Corporate Guest we are minutes to Munson Medical Center, Interlochen Center for Fine Arts, RJG, Sara Lee, Grand Traverse Mall, NMC University Center, and a host of our regions premier businesses. The Leisure Traveler will find us just down the road from Grand Traverse Bays, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Old Mission/Leelanau Peninsula Wineries. Perfectly located around the finest golf, boating, snowmobiling, fishing, hiking, & nature site seeing in Pure Michigan. Large rooms, indoor pool/spa, free high-speed, complimentary breakfast,legendary guest service that makes you want to return. National Cherry Festival First Week of July 2010. Book now and experience the best hotel for the money in Pure Traverse City, located in Pure Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi Hotel Traverse City
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi
Fairfield Inn Traverse City
Fairfield Traverse City
Traverse City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing