We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glad to get it, but just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Very very friendly place. staff tried very hard. nevertheless time for redo. It seemed so antiquated to other marriott properties we've stayed at. and we stay at a lot. Strange 1960s drapes sequestering the pool, tired carpet. Had to have AC unit replaced. thank goodness they could do that right away. by staying 7 days we brought the rate way down. otherwise i would have felt totally ripped off. but other hotels in TC are also way over priced. The worst coffee. Talking with other guests we joked about pooring the coffee back thru the grounds. No coffee pots in room--just those little one cuppers where you have to use the prepackaged coffee or we would have made our own. Enjoyed breakfast and good coffee at Bubbas and Grand Traverse Pie company so survived.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 277 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hotel was your normal Fairfield. One of the beds in the room was way past its expiration date- very soft. The room had a smell that I identified as spilled beer. The hotel was full or I would have asked to be moved. Housekeeping "attacked" our floor at about AM, so expect someone to try and enter your room early if you do not put out the do not disturb sign. Breakfast was better than most other Fairfields ( I actually like those Jimmy Dean microwave breakfast sandwiches). Location is South of Town, about a 5 minute drive to Front Street and the Water.

Room Tip: If you tip, housekeeping trips over itself to bring you extra towels etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jegyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

The wi-fi in my room didn't work and front desk staff told me I had to take care of the problem by calling a toll-free number. Still didn't work so I had no wi-fi in the room. There was a visible sandy grit in the bottom of the bathtub when I went to shower on the morning of departure. Breakfast was mostly carbs with hard boiled eggs as the only protein. There are better options in economy chains and this Fairfield isn't meeting the standards I have come to expect from the brand. The checkout clerk did take $15 off my bill but I would rather have a clean tub and wi-fi that works than a refund.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davooda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was a great Fairfield Inn and is one of the better Fairfields of the Marriott chain.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel was clean, quiet, and a very nice place to stay. Would definately stay there again. The breakfast was the usual Fairfield Inn fare, which we always find satisfactory. Enjoyed the pool and the spa was one of the best we've used in a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsaloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I visited the Traverse City area just after the buzz of the Cherry Fest weekend died in July. This property was a pleasant surprise, and the staff was amazing and accommodating! The breakfast was enough, but if you're looking for options there's a Cracker Barrel right across the parking lot. A short drive from town makes this hotel a great option for my return trip! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beavis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The staff was wwonderful and the hotel is very well maintained. The main issue was that it was located a good deal from downtown. If you don't mind this then this is a great stay. Also, not all rooms have a fridge. This suprised me with the cost of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stones2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
5.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Traverse City
Courtyard Traverse City
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
204 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Hampton Inn Traverse City
#10 of 40 in Traverse City
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City

Address: 3701 N Country Ln, Traverse City, MI 49684-4577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $96 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Favorite Traverse City Hotel to experience Pure Michigan! The Completely modern Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located in the epicenter of destination Corporate, Government, andLeisure Travelers coming to Traverse City. For Corporate Guest we are minutes to Munson Medical Center, Interlochen Center for Fine Arts, RJG, Sara Lee, Grand Traverse Mall, NMC University Center, and a host of our regions premier businesses. The Leisure Traveler will find us just down the road from Grand Traverse Bays, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Old Mission/Leelanau Peninsula Wineries. Perfectly located around the finest golf, boating, snowmobiling, fishing, hiking, & nature site seeing in Pure Michigan. Large rooms, indoor pool/spa, free high-speed, complimentary breakfast,legendary guest service that makes you want to return. National Cherry Festival First Week of July 2010. Book now and experience the best hotel for the money in Pure Traverse City, located in Pure Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi Hotel Traverse City
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi
Fairfield Inn Traverse City
Fairfield Traverse City
Traverse City Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing