We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We were very impressed with a young man at the Starbucks this morning. Greeted everyone wished them a good day and helped with valuable information. He was awesome. His name is Eric. On the down side. We were served martinis in plastic cups and our power tripped twice and had to call for service. The staff was very pleasent.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Hi Marcella J-

Thank you for the review on tripadvisor.com! Eric can make a mean cup of coffee and we are thankful he is on our team.

Hope to see you in the future,

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 921 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

Eric went above and beyond with customer service. Very great employee. Wish he worked at our Starbucks at our hometown. Would hire him in a minute. He deserves a great bonus for being so accommodating .

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Girls249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Hello Girls249-

Thank you for mentioning Erik in your review on tripadvisor.com. He is an asset to our team and we are lucky to have him.

Thanks again,

Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the resort in early August the weekend of our wedding. From our arrival it was clear all of the staff had been well trained. We were given the option of one of the nicest views in the hotel, but were warned about the noise from the night club on Friday and Saturday nights. We were too tired at night to be bothered by it, but if you are a light sleeper and turn in early I would avoid rooms near the club. Kids get a free breakfast and lunch and the food was pretty good. The beach/water was also nice. My only gripes with the rooms was that the bathroom space was too small and the soundproofing between the rooms was poor. Overall we had a great stay and would come back.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Hi Scott T-

Congratulations on getting married and thank you so much for the lovely review on tripadvisor.com!

Cheers to a long, happy life together!

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

wonderful pet friendly hotel, accommadations first rate. friendliness and service of the staff, (Devin) at the Day Club, from the food and drinks to overlooking the beach were great. walking distance to downtown. Parks for the dog to enjoy.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms very clean and updated, Rooms facing west,view of Grand Traverse Bay,(beautiful)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Myra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Hi Myra N-

Thanks for the nice review! So good to hear you and your pet had a great time. See you again sometime!

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Walking distance to downtown, beautiful beach, great hotel. Older hotel but totally updated/renovated. Day club restaurant overlooks the bay great place to eat and live music at night. water sport rentals on site. only down fall - the carpet in the halls and stair ways were dirty and it is a little pricey but still very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Hi Amy L-

Thank you for the great review on tripadvisor.com! Dayclub is one of my favorite places in town, the atmosphere is great and food is even better.

See you in the future!

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got married just this past weekend at the West Bay Holiday Inn Resort and we cannot say enough about it. Every detail from the beach ceremony to the reception was handled with no issues by Rachelle, Kim, and Zack. Rachelle really went above and beyond and eliminated any stress to make sure we had a perfect day! We couldn't have pictured it any better. Also, a special thank you to Erik, who opened up the snack bar just for us after it was closed so that we could get a quick bite to eat. Also - thank you to Jennifer who gave us a wonderful breakfast experience the morning after the wedding. We also got a room that overlooked the beach and came back to our room after the wedding to a wonderful surprise. Thank you West Bay for giving us a wedding day that we will NEVER forget! ❤️

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Heather0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2014

Hello Heather 0809-

First of all, Congrats on getting married!! Thank you for choosing us on your special day! Your wedding day is one of the biggest moments in your life and we are thrilled to have provided such lovely memories for you.

Rachelle, Erik, Zach & Kim are valued members of our team, thank you so much for mentioning them.

Congrats again, maybe we will see you for the one year anniversary? :)

Krystal F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The place is constantly dirty. I'm not sure if this is because the customers are excessively rude and dirty, or if their staff is incompetent, or if they just need more trash cans conveniently placed throughout the complex, but trash was every where - food dropped on floors/beach/by pool not picked up, cigarette butts all over the beach, glasses/cups left wherever; even in the early morning, when you would have expected night staff to have been around cleaning, there would be garbage every where.
Bathroom was small but biggest complaint is that the cleaning service did not replenish toiletry items each day, including toilet paper. For $400 a night, I expect another bar of soap, bottle of shampoo and spare roll of paper each day!
Breakfast service at restaurant was slow and wrong, although they were pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finnmichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Finnmichigan -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

We certainly handle a large volume of guests and visitors to our property, and we need to do a better job of "reacting" to that, and ensuring that we keep our areas tidy and well kept. We let you (and others) down on this, and we need to prevent that in the future.

I understand it is frustrating to come back to a room that isn't just right. Our team needs to be more careful when servicing our guest rooms. I discussed this with the team and we will work hard to ensure this doesn't happen to other guests.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to host you while in Traverse City.

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#13 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $97 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing