We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“restaurant”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Enjoyed a breakfast buffet on Saturday 3/29/14. The whole experience was nice. The waitress Jennifer attended our table and we wanted for nothing. A gentleman handling the buffet named Bradley, greeted us and informed us of what was offered. He made great scrambled eggs for my wife, even though the buffet had scrambled eggs but she did not want cheese on hers, with no hesitation and a smile, said he understood and made the eggs with no cheese. I asked for 2 eggs over very very easy and a couple minutes I had perfect over very very easy eggs(this does not happen very often, usually they are over cooked!). I put the eggs on top of sausage gravy, which by the way was the best sausage gravy I have had for a long time. I also had a bowl of oatmeal, well, to be honest I had 2 bowls, it was delicious. I commented to Bradley how good it was and his response was "you can thank Mr. Quaker for that", my response was I take my oatmeal serious and make it for myself and it is all in how it is mixed!
I also observed the other waitress Sara and she looked like she was doing her job well also, same with Keith. It is very seldom I can say my total experience at any restaurant was great and this happened to me today. Thank you management for hiring good people who want to see their customers happy.

Room Tip: Sorry, I live here and only went for a Saturday buffet! I can say this, the hotel has the best locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lon1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Lon1279 -

Welcome, local! So glad you chose to enjoy breakfast in our restaurant!

See you again soon!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    231
    83
    40
    22
See reviews for
195
268
21
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great time in tc. Incredible views and rooms have been recently remodeled. Great staff who actually cares about you. Had dinner at shimmers on the bay..restaurant inside and our waitress Allie was amazing. Great food and better service. Wish i never went to town to eat. Thank you holiday inn, shimmers and especially allie!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kempenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
kempenberg -

Wow! Thank you for the five star review here on TripAdvisor.com! We appreciate you mentioning Allie!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I am a frequent business guest at this property and receive a warm friendly welcome from Kym Cole at the front desk. She recognizes me by name, makes every effort to reserve my preferred accommodation and treats me not as a customer but like returning family.
Service and responsiveness to a guests make this my preferred property in Traverse City.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view in the west tower .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Larry S -

Thank you for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.com! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with others - and especially mentioning Kym!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I'd always passed this hotel by... but will not pass it by again. OK, it was winter... but the accommodations were great. The renovation did the trick. A perfect accommodation for family or just friends: pools, restaurant and lounge on site, on the water perfect views from the room. The room was spotless and the beds were so very comfortable. The hotel is near downtown and between both sets of peninsula wineries. (and don't forget the distillery...). The restaurant breakfast menu offered many unique delicious selections. Staff were almost over friendly. The entry to the parking lot is a bit tricky, as is exiting left. But if that's all I can find to critique, this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Bay view - beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Debbie B -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com! We are grateful for the opportunity to earn your business while in Traverse City!

See you next time!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting Traverse City for years and staying at the Holiday Inn many times and their renovation has been done. The staff has always been very nice and accommodating. Beds are nice and comfy and the pillows are nice as well. A good place to stay close to downtown.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank luvzvaca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
luvzvaca2 -

Thank you for your review and loyalty to our resort!

See you again soon,

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I put together a good-bye party for a colleague of mine. We had lunch and appetizers in the Leelanau Rooms 3&$. My entire experience was excellent. I would especially like to thank Suki, Maegan and Tove. They did a superior job serving us. Very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Doug N -

Thank you for mentioning Suki, Tove, and Meagan from our banquets department! We appreciate your business!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I went to traverse city in December to plan our wedding. We stayed the weekend at this resort and had appointments with west bay along with a few other reception venues. Long story short we booked our wedding with West Bay - not only because we loved the venue - but every one of the staff members went over and beyond the whole weekend! I would like especially thank Rachelle (wedding coordinator) and Jennifer & Brad who always gave us an amazing breakfast experience!! I had to call the resort back once we got home because I realized I forgot a bag in the room. Housekeeping was extremely friendly on the phone and went out of their way to ship it to me at no charge.

We cannot wait to have all of our guests have the same experience we did when we get married in August!!! :-)

Thank you, West Bay!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Heather0809 -

We are SO excited that you have chosen to share your special day with us in August! See you then!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
4.2 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
337 reviews
3.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#17 of 40 in Traverse City
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Property: West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing