We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have been visiting Traverse City for years and staying at the Holiday Inn many times and their renovation has been done. The staff has always been very nice and accommodating. Beds are nice and comfy and the pillows are nice as well. A good place to stay close to downtown.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank luvzvaca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

luvzvaca2 -

Thank you for your review and loyalty to our resort!

See you again soon,

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 922 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

I put together a good-bye party for a colleague of mine. We had lunch and appetizers in the Leelanau Rooms 3&$. My entire experience was excellent. I would especially like to thank Suki, Maegan and Tove. They did a superior job serving us. Very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Doug N -

Thank you for mentioning Suki, Tove, and Meagan from our banquets department! We appreciate your business!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I went to traverse city in December to plan our wedding. We stayed the weekend at this resort and had appointments with west bay along with a few other reception venues. Long story short we booked our wedding with West Bay - not only because we loved the venue - but every one of the staff members went over and beyond the whole weekend! I would like especially thank Rachelle (wedding coordinator) and Jennifer & Brad who always gave us an amazing breakfast experience!! I had to call the resort back once we got home because I realized I forgot a bag in the room. Housekeeping was extremely friendly on the phone and went out of their way to ship it to me at no charge.

We cannot wait to have all of our guests have the same experience we did when we get married in August!!! :-)

Thank you, West Bay!!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Heather0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Heather0809 -

We are SO excited that you have chosen to share your special day with us in August! See you then!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Best overall hotel experience I have experienced in several months. The way the staff attends to your needs and addresses you throughout the building is evident that management really cares. I stayed at this prior to the extensive renovation by the new owners and can say what a great (much needed) improvement. Good job!!!

Room Tip: Great view, spacious, extremely clean, but most of all, a comfortable bed. The breakfast was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

R P -

Thank you for your review!

See you again soon, we hope!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Jennifer works in the morning's at the West Bay Beach Hotel Resturant.
Her excellent service and assistance to all her customers is commendable.
She always goes beyond standard service procedure to be helpful and
kind to her customers. Thank you for your great service and kindness.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnX8357RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

JohnX8357RQ -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com! We appreciate you sharing your experience with others. Also, it's great to see Jennifer mentioned in yet another review! She's a superstar member of our team!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I dined at Shimmers this past weekend and everything was FANTASTIC! The atmosphere was a wonderful mix of elegance for dining and then later turned into a hip bar scene. Our server, Keene, was top notch and beyond helpful and informative in helping us make our dinner selections (I recommend the quesidilla to anyone!) All of the staff was truly accommodating to all of our needs. Shimmers truly does SHINE!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Richard H -

Thank you for your review of our restaurant, Shimmers on the Bay! We appreciate you sharing your feedback with others - and for mentioning Keene!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Being from the Traverse City area, my future husband and I had a tremendous number of quality choices for our wedding and reception venue. Yet a winter wedding created all kinds of challenges for out of town guests and the possibility of bad weather was a huge concern. We thought that a central location to town made sense. Early in our planning we stopped by West Bay Beach on a lark. We were astounded by the friendly staff, gorgeous updated facility and quality menus offered. So, we made a commitment to West Bay Beach and couldn't be happier!! The food at the reception was fabulous (and reasonably priced), the staff was very accommodating, cordial and gracious. Our room was lovely and had a gorgeous view of the Bay! Kudos to the West Bay team - they are top notch and believe me, I am well aware of all the incredible choices around our beautiful area!

Room Tip: Get a bay side view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Kathy D -

Congratulations on your wedding! We were honored to be your hosts.

See you soon!

Colin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.2 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
3.5 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
431 reviews
3.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#19 of 40 in Traverse City
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686-2617 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $94 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort! Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you are in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating with boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing