We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

You really can't beat a Hampton Inn so we decided to stay here on our recent trip to TC. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly at check in. They offered suggestions for dinner and were very knowledgeable and helpful.

The kids enjoyed the pool and we all enjoyed the complementary breakfast.

I will definitely be back whether it's for business or pleasure.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    219
    110
    37
    19
See reviews for
173
230
22
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

As a couple we were returning to Traverse City after being away for many years. The staff at the hotel were all very pleasant and always helpful. The complementary breakfast offered a large variety and everywhere from the lobby to the rooms were extremely clean and inviting.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The check in process was fast, rooms are attractive, breakfast is good, staff are nice, view of the bay is nice. The rooms are quiet even if the hotel is full. I have stayed at the hotel for business and pleasure and always had good experiences

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Fraont Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

But service went right down the toilet with a poor room choice availability on the first floor for a rewards member. Phone did not work and mattress was saggy. This was a handicapable room and simply rotating the mattress would likely resolve the situation. Phone did not work and getting a wakeup knock was like asking for an act of congress. I have stayed here before and was quite happy. Don't know if I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Patrickwilliam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed here for 3 night with family of 4. Used it purely for sleep/breakfast. Room is smaller than normal and no where to unpack, so always walking around suitcases. No fridge is a major annoyance. Beds were comfortable, HVAC wasnt too loud. Breakfast gets overwhelmed when busy. Minimal seating but they did seem to keep up with the food quantity. Part of the seating issue is people spending an extra 30 mins talking without eating anything, just taking up space. It has 2 side entrances that are very convenient. We would definitely compare to other local hotels in the future given the competitive nature of Traverse City.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpartanGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hamptons are known for being solid, and this one enforces that. Staff was all very kind, and the view of the water is gorgeous. It's East, so it's a little quieter. You can't beat being able to walk to the water from the front door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ashlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Fromt Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We usually always enjoy Hampton Inns, but this one did not live up to their usual standards. The room was quite small, but that was not a problem. Right away my husband noticed that the 'easy' chair was broken. I called down to the front desk and was told that they could not replace it. Then the next day in the morning we noticed a stain on the comforter. We left a note for the maid, requesting that she change the comforter and the sheets and she did so. Then the 3rd day, the toilet was not working well. I called down to the desk and shortly a woman arrived with the plunger, which she attempted to hand to me, when I didn't take it, she came in and plunged the toilet. But she didn't fix it. She left the plunger and then my husband later fixed the toilet. We reiterated all this upon check out, but they didn't seem too concerned about any of it. Not sure if it is because Traverse City is a resort town, maybe they feel they'll always have customers, whatever the service was like, but we were disappointed. (On the positive, the complimentary breakfast was good as usual, and the staff in that area were friendly.)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bee8864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,395 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing