We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do NOT recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Terrible staff and WAY over-priced. Jacuzzi was not working. Had very loud people next door, both late and very early. Staff did nothing to address. Staff never asked how our stay was at any point. Would NEVER recommend this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bbtullberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 788 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I recently stayed at this Hampton Inn. The location is on the main road through town but outside of the downtown area by about 3 miles.

We found the hotel itself was nice and consistent with the Hilton (Hampton Inn) brand.

The pool was also nice which we found also had a hot tub next to it.

Our check in was not the greatest experience. When we met with the desk staff we were told we booked a "Standard King" which does not have a fold out bed / couch. As there was four of us I requested a room that could accomodate us and we were promply put into a double queen room. After getting to our room I was curious as to where I could have made such a dumb mistake booking a room not big enough for my family. After reviewing our reservation confirmation I found that I had booked a King Study which does have a fold out bed / couch so I called back to the front desk and were able. Without explanation we were put into a toom type that we had originally reserved. Not sure what the confusion was but we felt like more of a bother to them. This was frustrating as it was clearly not an issue that we had created.

Later in the evening we of course discover that we had left some items behind in the first room we we were assigned. I called the front desk and the though the employee agreed to check it, we were again met with a tone that we were being more of a bother. However I will say that the employee that assisted us was very quick in retrieving our items and was very pleasant when he brought them to us.

During breakfast the next morning we found the eating area greatly undersized and saw several people eating while standing up, holding plates of food standing around waiting for a table and several more taking food back to their rooms as there was nowhere to sit. It appeared that there were two employees tending to the breakfast area and at one point several people were waiting for the large waffle batter container to be refilled. I observed one employee ask a young boy if he had been waiting long (for the waffle mix). When he answered "yes, about ten minutes", I watched in surprise as the employee began to argue with the boy and what I think was his mother, about the actual time they / he was waiting.

It appeared that the two workers were very busy in the breakfast area, but honestly the waffle mix should be something that is checked regularly throughout the morning to ensure it does not get too low, or, what for it.....become empty. The area is not large at all and it would be very easy to simply lift the lid the check the level, or even watch how many guests are using it the waffle station. Not only was this employee's response inappropriate, it made me and my family who witnessed this, uncomfortable, because the boy was actually correct in the amount of time several of us were waiting. Besides some frusterated looks, I saw no one in the packed breakfast area treating anyone of the staff rudely.

During our short stay here we also encountered and observed several of the staff (not all) that seemed less than motivated and far from pleasant with whatever job they were doing.

I also point out the good as well. The breakfast, minus the employees, was actually very good with sausage, egg omelet with cheese, juices, cereal, make-your-own oatmeal and make-your-own waffles (when there is batter). The staff did change our room and correct the error and the employee did retrieve our items that we accidently left behind quickly for us. Again, the pool was very nice and the hotel, inside and out, appeared very clean.

Unfortunately, as Hilton Honors members this is the only Hilton hotel in Traverse City. When we travel overnight again to Traverse City we most likely will not be staying here and we base this completely on our experience with the staff.

Room Tip: If the hotel is moderately busy, be prepared to wait for food and / or a place to sit if you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dilligaf462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family and I make an annual trip to Traverse City primarily for the National Cherry Festival. Each year we visit, we try and stay at a different hotel. This year, we chose the Hampton Inn. Upon our arrival, we were greeted very promptly and graciously by the front desk. Within minutes, we had our room keys and checked into our room. The room was very clean and the amenities were adequate. During our entire stay, the staff at Hampton Inn was very kind, courteous, and attentive to our needs. This hotel is a great bargain for anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Atul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I love Hampton Inns, but I don't love this one. I don't like what they have done with the breakfast room. There are mostly sofas that are way too low for the tables. They keep the TV turned very loud. The staff are pleasant people but a little slow to help and a little rough around the edges considering the price of this location in the summer. I will say the location is nice, right across the street from a park on Traverse Bay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I see that we did not earn your 9's or 10's and I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This Inn is close to the Traverse City,f MI airport (5 minutes drive) and the staff are pleasant, courteous and professional. The condition of the hotel from entering to departing and the staff interactions were outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Hampton Inn is a very good value for the money. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is quite good. The staff is helpful. It's a little further out than some but it's right across the street from the bay and is right on the main drag.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Able to walk to the beach however you have to cross the highway with a 45mph speed limit, or walk a quarter mile either way to get to a safe crossing. The rooms ewe clean and you might be lucky to get a room with a view! I wasn't. I look at the camping ground next door. My only complaint, is the complimentary breakfast.... Make you own waffles, stale French toast sticks, soggy eggs, sugary cereals. Basically nothing even remotely heathy. I'd rather pay for my breakfast. Oh and it's not near down town, not a bad drive, but not close.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 584AndreaG584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the issues you had with breakfast during your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $78 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing