We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in the middle of winter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed February 9, 2014

last minute reservations, and the employees we very helpful for meeting my needs. the weather was freezing outside and I was able to park close to a door and my room was toast warm. I wish I had time to hit the indoor pool and hot tub but I checked in late and there was no time for fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We try to provide our guest with the best possible service and it was great to hear it shows. . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 803 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

Right on the main drag across from the East Bay, this is a great local and a wonderful, clean and well equipped hotel. Unless you must stay in a resort, this is one of the best chain hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ross Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

We try to provide our guest with the best possible service and a great place to stay during your time in Traverse City. Your comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

When I checked in exhausted from being up all night at the hospital awaiting the birth of my grandchild, all I wanted was sleep! I told the front desk clerk all of this and he placed me in a room at the end of the hall away from other guests and said he would let housekeeping know I needed quiet. I never heard a sound. The room was beautiful and breakfast was great! Thank you for listening to your guests and always making me feel welcome!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank km27952u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The staff is very pleasant and helpful and worked to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was good and the room clean and neat. The hotel is located on a busy street near the State Park in Traverse City, making access to activities around the area easy. We were never in the car for more than 20 minute when traveling to various destinations around the area. The bed in the hotel was not as comfortable as we expected (king bed) and appeared not to have had the upgrades we experienced at other Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize that the beds were not up to your standards.Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed from Monday through Friday in Traverse City over the New Year week. Paid $99 bucks a night. Turns out I should've booked on the water or down the street for 1/3 to 1/2 that and gotten the same or better room. But, it was warm and quiet. The value compared to the other hotels in the same area, put this one in the over-priced for what you get category. Again, Hilton help is not so friendly and you're in their way, not the other way around, as I tried to get some breakfast down stairs. I won't be back. Try the other places on the strip and you'll discover wonderful little places with fireplaces and whirlpools and other delights.

Room Tip: Try another place unless you just want hilton honor points - -spend $99 bucks somewhere you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackhawkjxx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The room was filthy with cookie crumbs near the end table between the bed, pills on the floor and wrappers between the bed and the armoire. The comforter appeared to have fresh stains on it. A very gross experience. Hard to believe that anyone tended to this room before we arrived and if they did they should not be working in house keeping. Check-in took about 10 minutes as the employees who were supposed to be tending to the front desk were in the back room chatting and unaware that I was at the desk. The in room heater made a continuous ticking noise to the point of continually waking me up. This will be my last stay at Hampton Inn. Disappointing experience and one of the worst that I've had in the area. I would recommend Cambria Suites.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were pleased with our stay. From the outside it looks like an older hotel but the rooms were very nice. On the small side but very nice styling and clean. In the summer the location near the state park would be ideal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Traverse City, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $78 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing