We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable clean beds, small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Comfortable clean beds, small room”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Were visiting our son who lives in Traverse City and got the reservation for us through his Hilton rewards membership. This hotel is convenient to most of the TC attractions and has easy access. The hotel was completely booked for the weekend because of so many events. There was an overlooked 'step' by the front desk when we checked in which kept us from having access to WiFi until we reported it as not working. They were able to fix the problem without much incident. The breakfast was OK, lots to choose from...typical 'hotel breakfast' food. Would probably stay again, but just an average place. Because of the WiFi incident we were refunded one of the three nights' charge. A nice gesture.

Room Tip: Try to get a king bed if possible. We prefer king, but because the hotel was fully booked, we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    258
    136
    54
    27
See reviews for
225
279
27
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our great fall / wine weekend was complimented with an excellent stay at the Traverse City Hampton. All facilities were great and the staff support our requests. It was a great weekend and good value for our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

An enjoyable stay. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Property is in very good condition - room was very clean and in modern condition - plenty of plugs and even had USB ports. Typical Hampton Inn breakfast. My only negative would be the highway noise - we had a room near the front so I would suggest a room near the back. Workout room was fine as was the internet.

Room Tip: Highway noise near the front of the hotel so take a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This Hampton Inn is a typical hampton inn. Decent breakfast, decent rooms, and comfy beds. I can't really ask for much more than that and received it.

The property is a bit far from downtown TC but closer to the roads up old mission point. The staff seemed a bit quirky but the property is nice and well cared for (except the seemingly bombed out out-of-business putt putt golf next door)...not that it has anything to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice hotel very right across from Lake Michigan, Our room did not have a fridge or microwave in it, but overall it was still very nice. Very centrally located within 10 to 20 minutes from many Wineries and orchards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've visited this property a number of times over the years. The hotel staff is always friendly and helpful. The property is in a good central location. Our room this time was reasonably clean. We are not fans of the new hard side shower doors which make the shower much smaller. Water was very soft on this visit. Bed reasonably comfortable.
The room had CFL bulbs which cast yellow light and do not do a good job lighting the room, but that's a minor niggle.
Free coffee and breakfast.
Overall just a nice solid room a a fair price with good service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsknotinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here Wednesday night through Sunday morning while attending a conference nearby. The room was clean and has been cleaned well during my stay and the bed is comfortable. My complaints would be along the lines of hearing slamming doors frequently (partly because they slam unless you close it carefully and partly because you can't run the fan on the heating/AC unit constantly). Also, the lack of fan continues into the bathroom and the smoke alarm in my room went off every time I took a shower. When I approached the desk staff regarding the "steam" alarm, I was informed I "must have gotten the lucky room." Pretty disappointed but overall, I guess okay if you like lukewarm showers and an insomniac.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the trouble you had during your stay with the doors closing loudly and the smoke detector being set off from the steam of the shower. I would also like to extend an apology that our Front Desk Agents were not more sympathetic to these problems and that we did not meet or exceed your expectations or the standards that you have come to expect with Hampton Inn's. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
Grand Beach Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Traverse City
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing