We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

An enjoyable stay. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Property is in very good condition - room was very clean and in modern condition - plenty of plugs and even had USB ports. Typical Hampton Inn breakfast. My only negative would be the highway noise - we had a room near the front so I would suggest a room near the back. Workout room was fine as was the internet.

Room Tip: Highway noise near the front of the hotel so take a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    209
    103
    33
    16
See reviews for
156
214
22
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
216 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This Hampton Inn is a typical hampton inn. Decent breakfast, decent rooms, and comfy beds. I can't really ask for much more than that and received it.

The property is a bit far from downtown TC but closer to the roads up old mission point. The staff seemed a bit quirky but the property is nice and well cared for (except the seemingly bombed out out-of-business putt putt golf next door)...not that it has anything to do with the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice hotel very right across from Lake Michigan, Our room did not have a fridge or microwave in it, but overall it was still very nice. Very centrally located within 10 to 20 minutes from many Wineries and orchards.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We've visited this property a number of times over the years. The hotel staff is always friendly and helpful. The property is in a good central location. Our room this time was reasonably clean. We are not fans of the new hard side shower doors which make the shower much smaller. Water was very soft on this visit. Bed reasonably comfortable.
The room had CFL bulbs which cast yellow light and do not do a good job lighting the room, but that's a minor niggle.
Free coffee and breakfast.
Overall just a nice solid room a a fair price with good service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsknotinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here Wednesday night through Sunday morning while attending a conference nearby. The room was clean and has been cleaned well during my stay and the bed is comfortable. My complaints would be along the lines of hearing slamming doors frequently (partly because they slam unless you close it carefully and partly because you can't run the fan on the heating/AC unit constantly). Also, the lack of fan continues into the bathroom and the smoke alarm in my room went off every time I took a shower. When I approached the desk staff regarding the "steam" alarm, I was informed I "must have gotten the lucky room." Pretty disappointed but overall, I guess okay if you like lukewarm showers and an insomniac.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize for the trouble you had during your stay with the doors closing loudly and the smoke detector being set off from the steam of the shower. I would also like to extend an apology that our Front Desk Agents were not more sympathetic to these problems and that we did not meet or exceed your expectations or the standards that you have come to expect with Hampton Inn's. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
805 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hampton Inn Traverse City is just what we expected based on our frequent stays with the Hampton Inn hotel chain -- attractive furnishings, very comfortable bed, good breakfast with plenty of variety, and large flat panel TV with good picture quality. Hotel staff at this location is very friendly, efficient, and accomodating, especially the evening staff.

Most of the Hamptons have refrigerator and microwave in the rooms, but this one does not. On our first evening, one of the desk clerks noticed that I went into the breakfast area to find a microwave (one there may be used anytime). When she asked what I needed and I expressed surprise at no refrigerator and microwave in the guest room, she quickly offered to have a small refrigerator sent to our room the next day. I accepted her offer and was glad of its use. It seems that you must request a refrigerator, and it is supplied free of charge. If you request one at the time of reservation, it should be in your room when you arrive -- wish we'd known that, but maybe this will help another traveler.

Our room was a king study -- lots of woodwork in the decor which makes for a dark room, but it was attractive. I wish it had been a little larger and lighter, but it was fine for our 4-night stay. The desk area was handy for using our laptop in the evening. When housekeeping brought the refrigerator, it was just set on the floor -- kind of low to use, but it was appreciated.

Breakfast each morning was very good for a couple on the go. At our convenience, we helped ourselves to coffee, juice, eggs, meat, make-your-own waffles, and fruit. Cold cereals, oatmeal, bread, and pastries were also available. During our stay, most of the fresh fruit was local fruit from the Mission Point Peninsula (be sure to drive up the peninsula and enjoy the view of the many orchards and vineyards). The breakfast area is very busy and can be crowded in the mornings, but we enjoyed eating and talking with other guests.

One practice that is not common to all Hampton Inn hotels is that a pending charge is placed on the credit card the day of check in for the entire estimated bill plus $50. At check out, I made sure to notice that the final charge to my bill was correct, and the credit card statement reflected the correct amount. I was initially concerned about the extra $50 of pending charge, but it was not charged to our account -- I suppose this is the hotel's practice for making sure that the guest has enough credit to cover final charges.

The hotel staff is genuinely interested in their guests and wants to ensure a good stay in the area. They are quick to offer help, information, and directions. When you return in the evening, they ask about your day and your plans for the next -- much more friendly than some places where we've stayed.

The purpose of our stay was to visit Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore and the surrounding area. The weekday price that we paid for four nights at Hampton Inn Traverse City, was a good price for the accomodations, but the drive back and forth each day did cost us in time and gasoline. This hotel is actually on the end of Traverse City furtherest from SBD. Things that we enjoyed close to the hotel: the cute state park just across the street with a beach along the bay, a late afternoon drive up Mission Peninsula with a visit at Mission Point Lighthouse, a late afternoon meal and stroll in nearby Sutton's Bay. Late day/early evening strolls along the bay in the park were very relaxing, but be careful crossing the very busy highway.

One thing about the busy highway and the location of the hotel -- the building is built perpendicular to the road. Our room was halfway down the hall on an upper floor, and we heard no road noise at all. With regard to noise, the hotel was very quiet over all. The cooling system is quiet and efficient.

Something unexpected was a gift of local wine and card in our room. I had noted on the reservation request that we would be celebrating a birthday on our trip. The gift from the hotel management was certainly a nice surprise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.

Jamie Holmes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Sadly, the weather was awful when I stayed. Plus I was miles from my place of work while here...
The government shutdown meant parks were closed, so I ended up spending my day off in the hotel...
There is no food on the premises - you can walk a little way, or live the American dream and have pizza delivered to your room!
Rooms were ok, breakfast was a shambles, cooking your own waffle stuff, a few pastries and not enough seating. I don't want to sit with a stranger at breakfast, so I grabbed a coffee and a pastry and retreated back to my room...
Staff were great though - helpful and offered suggestions.
It's just not the sort of hotel I am used to - it's like a motel on steroids...and yes, you can smell the chlorine from the pool...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize that the breakfast area was so busy and that there was not enough seating for you. I am glad that our Front Desk Agents were able to assist you and offer suggestions . Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,202 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#9 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing