We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Nearby Hotels
Cambria Hotel Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$170
CambriaHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayshore Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkshore Resort(Traverse City)
$130
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$120
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$149
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$100
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites(Traverse City)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveler rating
301
275
149
58
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
275
149
58
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskstate park beachbusiness centerhotel is locatedclean hoteloatmealshort drivebusiness tripcomfortable bedscomplimentary breakfastwould stay here againlake michigandowntown areagreat place to staypool and hot tubnice staystaff was very friendly
Filter
Updating list...
617 - 622 of 813 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room doors were VERY heavy and tended to slam. You had to make sure to grab the inside handle as entering to not slam the door (which many guests didn't bother doing).

It is located across the street from the beach.

The room and bathroom were all very small. There wasn't much counterspace to share for two people.

We also got a suite and were disappointed to find that it did not come with a fridge/microwave. I haven't had a suite that didn't before. I think this should be noted on their webpage.

The fitness room was really hot, but the equipment was really nice. Each piece of equipment had it's own TV set, and they provided headsets to use. This was a really nice feature.

Sam at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. We arrived at dinner time and he gave us a dining guide and asked if we were looking for anything in particular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheresaD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I always stay here when I go to Traverse City. The hotel is always clean, usually pretty quiet, and the hotel staff are friendly and accommodating. Good breakfast choices, the food is always hot and fresh, and excellent coffee. Good central location to get to area attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights while vacationing in the Traverse City/Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park area. We booked late, so we had to "make do" with a 2-queen room, but the beds were very comfortable & the room was sized just right.

Breakfast selection & quantities were top-notch, which we've come to expect from Hampton Inns. The hotel is right across the beach for Traverse City State Park, but you're within easy driving distance of any of the Traverse City beaches, not to mention the beaches along Sleeping Bear's shoreline.

The only complaint is regarding the location. It's apparently right on the main drive for Traverse City, and you're not on a corner with a light. So, be prepared to a) wait a long time to turn left in the morning out of the lot, and b) wait a long time to turn right out of the lot at night.

All in all, though, a great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Traverse City, MI is your typical Hampton which comes with a courteous staff and nice rooms without any surprises. We were there at the beginning of August, which is heavily traveled area during that time of year. We were staying on business and dealing with all the traffic/people can become frustrating. You can't ask for a nicer place to be in the summer though and I sure do miss the temperatures I experienced there! The Hampton was booked solid and you could tell from the parking lot. One of the front desk personnel told me that they did have a room or two left and walk up rate was around $600.....yikes! We didn't pay that, I think our rate was around $150. Breakfast area packed, no place to sit. You have to be a very early bird to get a table right away. Nothing personal against Hampton, but to all the hotels out there that offer free breakfast, why don't you make a hotel with a breakfast area that can accommodate a lot more of your guests? Or if you know you will be full, have a breakfast seating time issued to your guests? Not sure what would work to solve the problem, but It sure is irritating not to be able to sit at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wstpacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We didn't start off very happy with check-in (waiting for room that was ready clerk wouldn't check to see) but rest of stay was OK. Very pleased with breakfast selection. Room was clean, good location near airport and across the street is lake with beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews