We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a great family trip to TC. Stayed at Hampton in TC for the fist time. Good location, right across from the beach, but you do have to cross 31 to get to the beach. You have to be patient as it is a busy street, but we didn't really have a problem with it, with 2 young children. The drive to downtown is not bad and we always found parking easily. The staff was very friendly and even went above and beyound to find our daughter's missing swim suit. The breakfast was good and even tho hotel was full no real lines to get food and we always managed to find a place to sit. Nice pool and hot tube, never crowded we were often the only ones in there. Now, the room was small!! Tight for 2 adults and 2 young kids ( 7 and 9). No complaints but will likely look for a larger room next time, if only 2 people would have been fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 772 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hotel was rather noisy. Bed linens felt old and to small for bed. You get what you pay for! We will not stay at this facility again. Clock time was off and not able to be reset. TV time was off and never did get reset to proper time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location is good if you plan on going across the BUSY street to the beach, but is pretty far from the downtown and the street is not walkable as there are not sidewalks back towards the town. Downtown was very cute with plenty of restaurant and shopping options with a nice park along the lake front and marina. Take the time to drive and explore the Lelenau Penninsula as well as the Sleeping Bear dunes. The room itself was nice, though a bit small if there are more than 2 people staying. They served a nice breakfast in the morning which started the day off well. The hallway carpet was pretty dingy and the lighting could have been more inviting, but overall the property was fine for an older hotel.

Room Tip: None of the rooms appeared to look at anything but the parking lot,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnArborTravelMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family has stayed in Traverse City for over 20 years. We have stayed at many locations. We were booked for two days at the Hampton Inn but cancelled our 2nd night's stay. They were very good about allowing us to cancel the 2nd night. The room was VERY small. There were 4 of us staying in the same room, hubby and 2 daughters. Once we all brought in our suitcases there was not room to move. I realize the room isnt the reason to go to Traverse City, it's all about the beautiful area but the room was smaller than any room we have ever been in. It was uncomfortably small. Parents traveling with children might want to choose a different location. The room would be fine for two. Staff was not very friendly but the hotel was clean and the price was one of the more affordable along the strip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCarrasco531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a great stay using the beach and playground across the street, the pool was great and breakfast was fine. Little things I liked were the wood shutters on the windows and the night lights they had added to the bathrooms so you could see at night. This location is not within walking distance to downtown but I think that keeps down the noise and the price. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

the hotel is right on US31 across from the bay. perfect beach is right across the street w a playground for kids. rooms and service were great, but beds were kind of uncomfortable. kids loved the pool, breakfast, and beach. but for the price in TC, it's tough to beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A little problem at check in with their systems but was resolved later in the day. Nice convenient location to downtown Traverse City and the Leland area. Rooms were clean and fresh, nice bedding. Price was fair for time of year and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
#12 of 40 in Traverse City
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $79 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing