We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a great place to stay. I enjoyed almost everything. The staff really made the difference, both at the front desk at check-in and during my stay. One weird thing I noticed is that the housekeepers were English-speaking Americans. How often do you see that anywhere? The breakfast was fine, though the only "hot" parts are oatmeal and waffles you can make yourself. The lobby and breakfast area are well-appointed and clean. I stayed here because I could use my Hilton rewards points, but otherwise I probably would stay somewhere else for the same price for the subtle things in the next paragraph. The only negatives, and why I marked value as "average", is because the price is on par with the other places in the area but I could get better amenities, such as waterfront and an in-room refrigerator standard. Also, the room was a tad on the small side, though very nicely furnished and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 789 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel is across the highway to a beach. Nice beach, but the water was pretty dirty. It's a short drive to down town and to the mall. No wine glasses available. Decor is a bit dated, but ok. Carpets in hallways needs to be cleaned/replaced.

Room Tip: No spa or restaurant here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start?? Room was clean and well furnished, bathroom was clean and well stocked, swimming pool and spa very clean, gym room well equipped, service was great, breakfast had a great variety! 10/10!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeematic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This Hampton facility far exceeded our expectations. The check in/check out process was easy and quick. The staff were polite, friendly, and incredibly helpful without being obnoxious. Their complimentary breakfast buffet was substantial and incredibly appreciated. Rooms (we had 3) were all very clean, linens were fresh..and the pillows/blankets were adequate and of high quality. The indoor pool water was cloudy so we chose not to go in but this may be due to the youth athletic team that spent hours in there that day. Location of the hotel is beautiful. Short walk across the road and you're at a beautiful public beach as well as a well-maintained playground area. We would be hard-pressed to find any complaints about our one night stay in this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank LesasView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel does not live up to the Hilton standards and its below the normal Hampton Inn standards. The room was in bad need of repair, with a bed that I had to hang onto to keep from falling off the side. The walls must be very thin as you could hear the people in the next rooms clearly. The so called breakfast was inedible. Stayed here because of my Hilton Honors, but would rethink that next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlew76205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Traveled to this hotel for two nights in February 2013. The heater of the room I originally reserved was not working right, and after two attempts to fix it, the desk staff moved me to another room. When I asked about local restaurants, I was given take-out menus and some very good recommendations. Everything was just as expected with Hampton, and if I travel to Traverse City again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cy1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Most everything was good at this hotel. But when I asked for extra pillows I was told to come down to the front desk and get them - rather than having someone deliver them to my room. The rooms were clean and the bathroom and shower facilities were very clean. The scrambled eggs were a mish mash of grossness but the fruit and breads were good. Just don't ask for extra pillows because they don't like that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range: $78 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing