We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not prepared for the crowd” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Traverse City
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not prepared for the crowd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the weekend for the state OM competition. The hotel was full with tons of kids. The reservations were made a month in advance but the hotel was not prepared for such a crowd. They ran out of towels at the pool and their excuse was that the laundry person didn't show up for work that day. Doesn't anyone else know how to start a washing machine?

That being said the hotel was very nice. They had a very nice breakfast, everything was very clean, the staff very friendly. I would stay here again but if it were a busy weekend I would prepare for some things to not be perfect.

The rooms are very small. Very nice and clean but you could never get a roll away in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J4nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    226
    113
    40
    21
See reviews for
180
244
23
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Traverse City , Michigan is a great place to have a weekend with your wife. Lots to see and do in the area. Be sure to spend some time to drive along the lake its a great drive. In the area there are lots of little shops to stop at look. We liked driving along the shore line. In fall it would be a great drive. Also you can stop at Jay's to get out door stuff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Clean lobby and rooms. Comfy bed. Folks were nice enough. Complementary cab to and from the airport. That's a nice touch. Breakfast looked yummy though I just opted for the oatmeal (hey, how can you not have some dried cherries when you're in the cherry capitol?). But no Sunday paper? When I asked about one the desk clerk looked at me like I was from Ohio (or something like that). What hotel does not have papers for their guests on a Sunday morning? Even if I gotta pay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graffiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsboro, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Not a happy camper. Shower water temp mediocre, at best, and the bathroom fan is constantly on (no switch or adjustment), and is above the bathtub, making for an extremely cold shower experience :(. Because the fan is constantly on, and not all that quiet, the bathroom door must be kept closed when in the room.

Check-in staff was more interested in the computer that even acknowledging my presence, and then was more concerned that I understand that long distance calls were not authorized from the room (who uses hotel phones these days anyway??) than he was getting me checked-in

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Really clean rooms, great attentive staff, and centrally located. I will totally stay here again.

Side note, Tripadvisor, if you're going to require people to use a minimum number of characters when filling out a survey, maybe do them the favor of counting down the characters...jeez...what a pain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicoolchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Last minute reservation, happy they had availability. Hampton Inns consistantly provide great rooms, wonderful breakfast, clean environment -- and so does the Traverse City Hampton Inn. They are located on the east side of town, right across from the bay. Can't wait to come back in the summer; I bet the view of the bay is awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrightbythesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I have had our strings of disappointing surprises when it comes to checking in to hotels and getting less than what is expected. With limited experience with Hampton Inns we were not sure what it would be like. The staff (Dee) was incredible and helped us check in early, our room was clean, up to date and the beds were among the most comfortable we have ever slept in. Breakfast was awesome and had plenty of options. The coffee that was available in the front lobby was great. All around a great stay! Well worth the extra few $ compared to the other options around.

Room Tip: Two queen beds are the same price as a single queen most often but have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
2.9 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
1.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Traverse City
Comfort Inn Traverse City
#8 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
BEST WESTERN Plus Four Seasons
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Property: Hampton Inn Traverse City
Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing